We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything excellent, other than breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Silvio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Silvio to your Saves list
Hotel Silvio
Via Carcano 12, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Everything excellent, other than breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is a lovely hotel just out of Bellagio. We had a lake view room with two terraces with stunning lake views. The room was large and nicely furnished. We had no issues with the 10 - 15 min walk into Bellagio as other reviewers did - we bought a two day pass to use the garden path, coordinated our plans with the free hotel shuttle service and only used the road walkway once (which wasn't as bad as some other reviewers had suggested). The hotel was set in a lovely and quiet area and there is a great restaurant a 5 minute walk down the hill (Alle Darsene). The only things letting this place down were (1) the cleaning staff waking you up early each morning vacuuming; and (2) the breakfast, which was of average quality (instant coffee etc). In addition, we were never actually spoken to by any of the breakfast staff over the three breakfasts we had here - even when there were no tables available for us to sit at. Overall, it was a good hotel and the room and views would mean that we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    127
    49
    18
    13
See reviews for
53
262
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Silvio’s for two nights. The positive things about this hotel are its views, views and only views.
The hotel has small rooms but we are to blame for it as we could have gotten a bigger room, but due to non-availability of superior rooms, we were stuck with the regular one. The service was a big disappointment in every aspect compared to all hotels we have stayed at. After reading some good reviews we were probably expecting a bit more.
We were let down by the incompetent reception staff. We met with four different staff during our stay. Three were rather over cooked and one young pleasant staff.
Sabrina was a touch better of the lot except for the fact that she talks too much and sometimes has no clue as to what she is talking about.
The young staff was pretty but confused, dazed and low on confidence when we asked her for some information. She gives you the impression that this is her first job.
We were also shocked to see one of the staff undressing and dressing at the front desk showing off her tattooed body. We later learnt that she was the front desk manager Monica. If the manager is setting this standard, what can you expect of the others? We encountered this rather disgusting experience on both days of our stay. Professional etiquettes do not exist and to top it off she is rather rude and arrogant. She made us feel that we are staying there for free and she is doing a favor on us.
The second a blonde, Valerie lost in her own world with her iPhone hiding behind the desk without a care in the world about the guest was waiting to speak to her. We had to address her more than twice to get her attention and she wasn’t too happy that we disturbed her chatting. When she did speak to us, it took a great effort to make her understand what we wanted and we found her to be pretty loud, irritated and rude. Apparently, no one gets off the chair to speak to the guest. The front desk staff were not dressed like hotel staff at all more like sales girls in a grocery store. We are sure the hotel can afford to provide decent uniforms. We have even stayed at two star hotels, but they too are dressed professionally.
We had sleepless nights, as the restaurant was open late and you could hear pots and plates tossing around with the restaurant staff yelling at the top of their voice.
The house keeping was pathetic with no toilet paper and we had to ask for it. The dirty cups were still lying in the room, which we put outside and were never provided with washed cups or plastic glasses.
The front desk never told us about the restaurant Silvio, so we did not bother to dine down there. Instead we enjoyed a lovely dinner at Darsena di Lopia, which is a very nice restaurant just below Silvio’s and at Bilacus, which is located in the middle of the town. We highly recommend these two restaurants.
We hope that the management understands the value of customer service and how it can affect the business in today’s world. The staff here manifests the height of unprofessionalism ever seen.
I will not recommend this hotel to anyone! There are plenty of other good, reasonable hotels around in Bellagio.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio96, Front Desk at Hotel Silvio, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review on this website.

We were really surprised to read your comments because it is more directed towards our front desk staff. We have a very motivated team with years of experience gained through working in five star hotels. To make a personal comment about their age is truly unethical.

We feel that talking to the guest is important, so as to advise correct and precise information, especially, about things to do, see and enjoy. We understand that sometimes the guest may be in a hurry and would like to spend as less time at the desk as possible.

We like to build a team with a mix of experience and youth. Our newest member is a young ambitious girl who is highly motivated and in years to come will become a corner stone of our front desk.

The usage of IPhone at the front desk is prohibited and we do not in anyways encourage it’s usage.

The staff is provided with three different uniforms, which changes according to the climate since we open in Spring and close down in late Autumn. The weather too changes over this period, so we have to adapt accordingly.

If you read the tripadvisor reviews, you will notice that our front desk staff is showered with countless compliments that is a testimony to their professionalism.
We strongly feel that our staff has been criticized unreasonably.

Once again, we thank you for your review and hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sufffolk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of May this year. It was our first Hotels out of 10. We toured Italy for just over 6 weeks.

Very Clean.
Lovely Views.
Staff great, helpful and polite.

We did eat in the restaurant as the reviews were so good. We did book the night before and we were given a table with lake views. We were disappointed with the menu it was quite restricted. We had seen a sample at at the Lido the day before when we visited however it was nothing like the menu offered. The food was ok, but nothing special. The service was not good, not awful but not good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We are staying at Albergo Silvio's La Terrazza apartment in Bellagio, and it has been great. Our location cant be bettered - right on the central waterfront with a beautiful sunny view, lots of space and simple but adequate facilities. And free wifi! The team at Silvio is good - also sunny and very helpful. We prefer some independence when travelling and this 2 bed/2 bath apartment has been perfect. Will be back. It has been glorious to rest on the very large terrace in the sun with Lake Como stretching before us. And the ristorante Silvio also very good - you are collected by hotel shuttle car to and from as required but the walk isnt too far.

Room Tip: Both bedrooms are good at the apartment, with shutters closed to exclude street lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hotel has wonderful views of Lake Como and is just a short walk from Bellaigio and having a car park was beneficial as we just left the car there for our stay. The staff were all helpful and went out of their way to assist. Rooms whilst small were comfortable. Shuttle bus service was good and a couple of occasions did special runs into town for us. Breakfast was good, with a view of the lake from the breakfast room but black coffee in the urn?? Perhaps Americano not to order would be my only complaint.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

If you want a hotel with wonderful views this is the one for you.
Downside is the slight inconvenience of being out of central Bellagio but is a
nice retreat from a busy day sightseeing. Only a short car ride and your in town right by all ferries.
The shuttle service is free if you use it on schedule times they specify but are
equally willing to pick you up at short notice for small fee. Road not safe as comments before.
Room 5 has Great Lake view only criticism was lack of comforts additional pillows
and milk for the tea and coffee provided. Thought staff resolved pillow situation
immediately we had to request milk everyday.
Alberto on front desk was the most helpful and pleasant as were most of the reception
staff. Though room for improvement for one person who appeared indifferent to guests.
Gave the hotel 4 stars but only for location and evening meal and room and Alberto making
us feel welcome.
Breakfast basic and could be improved and upgraded by offering a wider selection.
Cappuccino should be offered as standard.
Evening meal was faultless.
The beach lido should be promoted more along with the late boat service which runs to
Caddenabia the resort opposite the Lido, as this we only found out about on 3rd day.
Overall a unique little find and would recommend if you are looking for a retreat with
great views.

Room Tip: Room 5 great but make sure you get a lake full view as it's worth the money Probably wouldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was our 2nd stay at Hotel Silvio in ten months and once again did not disappoint.

The hotel is a ten minute walk (not 4 miles!!!!) into downtown Bellagio. Being away from the main touristy area of Bellagio was nice and offers the opportunity to see the real italian lake life as opposed to the manufactured one near the ferry docks.

Food in the restaurant is magnificent, rooms are clean with wonderful views in the front facing rooms and it should be noted that the Hotel Silvio is listed as a 3 star hotel, therefore anyone expecting luxury marble flooring and Egyptian cotton sheets has picked the wrong hotel!!! This is a family run hotel in the italian lakes, not the Bellagio in Vegas. What it lacks in room size, it more than makes up for in atmosphere, friendly staff and beauty. Supermarket five minutes walk, wonderful restaurant 5 minutes away in Loppia and also has a bus and local train stop right outside the hotel.

Will return next year without hesitation!!

Room Tip: Room 12 , great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Silvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silvio

Address: Via Carcano 12, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bellagio
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 21 comfortably equipped rooms offers an en suite bathroom with shower; private telephone; satellite TV set; hair dryer; safe; air fan and heater. "Mansarda" level rooms are also air conditioned. At the disposal of each Guest, there is also Sun Terrace; open air, free Parking; Garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Silvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvio Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Silvio Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Silvio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.