We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Silvio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Silvio to your Saves list
Hotel Silvio
Via Carcano 12, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A little disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My new husband and I arrived in bellagio for the first night of our honeymoon. We were picked up from the ferry dock by the hotel staff which was a great touch. We had no additional treats with it being our honeymoon not even a glass o persecco!
We had booked the suite which was a beautiful room with a great view, however the 2 rooms next door would have offered the same view as the balcony was pretty much shared and no doubt those rooms were cheaper!
Hadn't quite realised the walk in and out of town! Yes the gardens were beautiful to walk through as described but came at a cost! The lido was closed for the 6 days of our stay despite the weather being beautiful still. We didn't find the hotel staff had great knowledge on local activities or places to go, information they gave us was often wrong.
We ate in the restaurant on a few nights, mostly to save the walk into town! Food was good, staff were miserable. Also think the hotels manager sacked someone in the garden one night....viewed from the restaurant! Although entertaining more than the restaurant staff not that professional!
Bellagio defiantly the best place to stay in como, but consider your hill walking skills and length of stay prior to booking up! 3 days more than adequate!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio96, Responsabile reception at Hotel Silvio, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
If you are certainly right to state our suites share the same view with superior rooms, as well as that superior rooms next door are cheaper that suites, it is just because they offer a number of additional amenities in comparison: much bigger size for both the rooms itself and the bathroom, ultramodern furnishing, king size poster bed, minibar etc.

Regarding information services provided by the reception staff, we rely on our local tourist office for most of what our Guest may be interested in during their stay. For specific or very detailed information on some matters we usually suggest to visit the local tourist office which may provide more or more detailed information.
We always try to do our best so that our Guests get the most out of their time in Bellagio in terms of activities and quality of their holiday. We are sorry something may resulted imprecise.

The Lido beach was closed as the temperature dropped during the second half of September, and although being still sunny the beach remained empty for several days before being closed for the end of the summer season.
We also remind that we offer a free shuttle service to/from the centre as an alternative to walking along the main road or through the Villa Melzi Gardens, we are sorry you didn't consider this opportunity during your stay.

To conclude, as far as we know nobody has been sacked for the last 3 years...! You may have misunderstood... :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    136
    53
    20
    15
See reviews for
60
286
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Don't get me wrong, the rooms are clean and tidy so is the whole hotel. But we were told there is wifi which you have to pay for, we were told there is air con in the rooms (which will not work unless the temp outside is 25 degrees!) and believe me it gets humid and very stuffy inside your room. The wifi constantly cut out which is not what you would expect when you have to pay for it!!!! Had to leave the hotel room at 6am just to head into the town centre to sit at a restaurant to be able to watch the AFL grand final!!!! Our room was a loft style... My wife hit her head that many times on the beams and Shes only 5 foot 2!!!! Not tall by any means!!! The only way to get to the town centre is through a beautiful garden which costs you 6.50 euro for a one day pass or 8 euro for a 2 day pass, this is each person! Or you can walk on the winding road which cars speed by so close as there is no path! Not what you want to be doing at night as the gardens close by 6:30pm so you have no choice really! All in all Bellagio is just breathtaking and we will be back but this time we will stay in the town centre.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvio96, Responsabile reception at Hotel Silvio, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
operating an environment preserving policy and with an outside temperature not higher than 22°C (72° F) during the hottest hours of the day, we don't operate air-conditioning on purpose as we are sure that air coming from outside by opening your window would certainly be healthier and fresher; September is autumn already and at this purpose it is funny to note that for those same dates you visited us we have had other Guests asking for heating...!

We are sorry regarding the wi-fi problems you had, but if you were cut out it was beacause most of our guests were connecting at the same time and in addition you wanted to watch the AFL live football match through wi-fi, well free-of-charge or paying it is always difficult for hotels to guarantee a stable connection for downloading films and live tv due to the very high amount of kb traffic you need for these kind of things, considering many users are connected at the same time (the hotel was full during your stay).
We are sorry you HAD to go to downtown early in the morning to watch a football match.... We are anyway sure Bellagio & Lake Como have offered beautiful "compensations" in terms of different amenities...

Regarding reaching the centre, it is not correct that the only way to reach the centre is through the Villa Melzi gardens, as our reception staff is on Guests' disposal from 7,30 am to 10 pm for free-of-charge shuttle to/from the main centre. We are proud to offer our Guests a number of services, which free parking and free use of our Lido beach, yet maintaining our rates lower than other hotels in the town center ( the cheapest 3 * in Bellagio with no lake views rooms, no restaurant, no parking, no additional services but breakfast, offers rooms for that same rate you paid for a brand-new loft room with views of the lake and its related services).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was a bit small, but still very nice. But the view from our balcony and the setting were both simply spectacular. Our one regret is that we allowed for only one night here. We want to return to Bellagio, and we want to return to the Hotel Silvio.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake have a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed 2 nights. Our check in was easy and the staff was very attentive. Our room was clean but small with a tiny shower and plenty of hot water. Beds were comfortable but it seemed the a/c was off for the season and we left the windows open. There was some road noise and barking dogs through the night. Breakfast was very good and plentiful with fresh oranges, machine squeezed into juice. Delicious. Wifi is not free but parking is free. We did eat one night in the restaurant. It started well with a superb fish combination appetizer for two. But the meal went downhill with two pasta dishes that were not very flavorful and the ravioli were tough. We didn't expect this in a restaurant of this caliber. I can recommend the hotel but have some reservations about the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Wonderful, tranquil setting just out of town and overlooking the lake. Beautiful, modern rooms with great views. Every staff member we dealt with was super-friendly and helpful. We absolutely loved our stay here and would feel totally confident recommending!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Bellagio is the place to stay at if you are going to the area.
It is a cute village (even if very touristy) and between the Bellagio water taxi from Lucas, the visit of the amazing Villa Balbienno and the dinner experience in town it makes for a great week end.
The hotel is clean, the staff helpful and within a 10/15 min walk from the center. Going through the gardens of the Villa Melzi is an amazing experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a great stay in this newly renovated hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was modern and clean.

The restaurant had wonderful food serviced by a team that made the experience rather impersonal. We checked in late and reserved a table. The view from the back was nice. We asked for a nicer view on the stunning sunset balcony we were told that the tables were reserved for clients who never arrived. We found more intimate dinners available at other locations at a better value.

The hotel is a 15 minute walk from town which is nice during the day through the garden (8 euro pp/ 2 days) but walking back at night on the dark road can feel a little hairy.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
#1 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#7 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#8 of 17 in Bellagio
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
0.7 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
#3 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silvio

Address: Via Carcano 12, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bellagio
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 21 comfortably equipped rooms offers an en suite bathroom with shower; private telephone; satellite TV set; hair dryer; safe; air fan and heater. "Mansarda" level rooms are also air conditioned. At the disposal of each Guest, there is also Sun Terrace; open air, free Parking; Garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Silvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silvio Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Silvio Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Silvio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.