We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Sylvio is hard to beat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Silvio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Silvio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Hotel Silvio
Via Carcano 12, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Bellagio
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Sylvio is hard to beat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I visited Hotel Sylvio and was blown away by the lovely rooms, gorgeous views and setting, incredible restaurant, helpful and friendly staff, and overall experience. The rooms are very clean, modern, and newly refurbished - if you have a room with a balcony, you'll be tempted to never leave. The restaurant, specializing in the fresh catch of the day from the Lake, is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. There is a hotel shuttle available for the short trip from the hotel to the town's center. I would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    95
    37
    16
    10
See reviews for
46
200
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The staff were amazing! One gave us a lift to the center of Bellagio (10min walk) when it was raining and lent us an umbrella. One called and booked our travel to the airport. Because we had to check out very early, they left us a bag of fruits, bread, & yogurt to take with us for breakfast! They were just very helpful all around, even though they were very busy with 2 weddings that weekend! We requested and paid extra for a Superior Room with Lake View and it was worth it!!!! The view was absolutely perfect (a table, two chairs, and a lounger)! The room was cleaned every morning, tea/coffee/water replaced. The room is typical European size, pretty small, but that doesn't bother us. The location was great, very quiet near the hotel. It's a 7-10 min walk to the center of Bellagio. We walked through the Villa Mezii Gardens to get to town & back, a very enjoyable walk. The only problem is the gardens close at 6:30. The breakfast is good, nothing fancy. Croissants, bread, cake (delicious cake!!), eggs to boil, jams, honey, nutella!, deli-style meats & cheeses, tea/coffee, and the kicker: a bowl of oranges to make fresh orange juice in their juicer!

The restaurant, WOW. I need a separate review for this place! It was perfection. The service is 100% on point. The food is simple yet refined. The chef takes care in his cooking, it is evident. It has a fine dining style menu and atmosphere but the prices are reasonable. Ex: Filet mignon with potatoes & zucchini (about 7 oz steak) is 18€. They could totally charge more for the quality! We ate there on 4 times in 3 days, every time it was perfect. Overall, the hotel was GREAT!

The only bad thing I can say is not the fault of the hotel. There was a group of Americans staying on the same floor as us for a wedding. They were absolutely beyond obnoxious! LOUD during the day with no regard to their surroundings. Then, the night of the wedding a group of them came to the hotel at 4 AM yelling and cursing at each other. Two of them had gotten in a fight and they were all totally drunk, yelling back and forth in the hallway. It was unbelievable, it went on for about 30 mins. We could hear everything, loud and clear. As Americans, my husband and I were embarrassed. We felt sorry for the owners/staff because all of their other guests had to endure this and complained to them about it. They were, of course, very apologetic. It was their first experience with a group like this. (Leave it to the Americans!)

Room Tip: Room 14. It's extra because of the lake view but totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The hotel was our first stop on a trip to Lake Como and what a good choice it was. It is located 10mins walk outside of the heart of the lovely town Bellagio. The hotel is very smart, rooms clean and lake view rooms have a lovely balcony with chairs and a sun lounger and amazing view of the lake. The hotel offer a free shuttle into the town or you can walk but the walk back is all uphill. There is a 'Lido' 5mins from the hotel where you can swim, sunbath, eat and drink.

The restaurant in the hotel is lovely, hugely recommend eating there, I would book as it gets very busy.

Every member of staff was extremely friendly and helpfull, would 100% return.

Room Tip: If you haven't booked a lake view ask if you can pay for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The most positive thing in "silvio" hotel is the staff.
Incredibly helpfull reception, always smiling, very good english, i was amazed about all of them.
The same about the breakfast's staff, they were all quite helpfull.
Shuttle service to Belaggio center

the rooms were new, nice bathrooms, plenty of towels and very clean, the have toothpaste, shaving equipment, nice soaps. 10/10

i didnt like the fact you couldnt open a window, as they were locked

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed here for one night on a tour of Italy, and I wish I could have stayed longer! Incredibly kind and helpful staff, a really excellent restaurant, and lovely rooms. We paid a little extra to have a lake view and it was so worth it. The staff is so friendly and there is a shuttle service that goes to downtown Bellagio. Amazing views of the lake, and close to some nice gardens and a public beach. I wish I could go back! My only warning is that if you eat outside at the restaurant, you will have to deal with lots of little gnats, but that is the only problem we had.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony! Lovely view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I have just come back from a short stay at Lake Como and I cant stop smiling! It was our first trip away without the children in 17 years and we couldn't have chosen better.Firstly, we got cheap flights into Bergamo and spent a fabulous 24 hours soaking up everything Italian in the Old City and then we used the very efficient public transport up to Bellagio and to the lovely Albergo Silvio... the guy who said it had no wow factor cant have stayed in a room on the front with a lake view as that was the best wow factor I've ever seen! The staff were fab especially the lovely ladies on reception and were happy to make phone calls or run us into town when we were too weary to walk or carry cases.The hotel is 3 star but feels really special owing to its fantastic location, lovely fish restaraurant and such friendly and efficient staff.... can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Side rooms are very pleasant but you must spend a little more and get that fantastic lake view at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our 4th visit here in June 2012 was as pleasant as ever. The location is stunning with great views across the lake, helped by our room with balcony on the front. The restaurant is very good with plenty of fish on offer. All staff members were warm and friendly and in particular Sabrina and Silvia on reception could not have been more helpful. The whole atmosphere is very relaxed. We shall keep coming back.
James & Marie-Claire Delaney - London UK

Room Tip: Ask for front room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Silvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silvio

Also Known As:
Silvio Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Silvio Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como
Address: Via Carcano 12, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of the 21 comfortably equipped rooms offers an en suite bathroom with shower; private telephone; satellite TV set; hair dryer; safe; air fan and heater. "Mansarda" level rooms are also air conditioned. At the disposal of each Guest, there is also Sun Terrace; open air, free Parking; Garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Silvio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Silvio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.