We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Apartment Beautiful Views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere Bellagio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Belvedere Bellagio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Venere.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Valassina, 31, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Bellagio
Dunfermline, Fife
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Amazing Apartment Beautiful Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Belvedere Hotel for one night while on a tour around Italy. We had not booked and came across the Hotel while driving around Bellagio. Impressive front to the hotel was welcoming and oozed class, so we decided to enquire to the price. As it was very busy and we had not booked (we never do) we took the last room, which was an apartment located in a old building next to the hotel. The hotel recpetion staff were very helpful and showed us to the apartment. We had a shared entrance door and was welcomed by a sweeping staircase to the door to our apartment.
We really were not expecting the room we were presented with! It was amazing. We had a sittingroom with sofas, tv and window overlooking the lake. This lead into a hige master bedroom with french door and small balcony overlooking the lake, there was another tv, dressing table, and wardrobe and it was all modern, yet done to look authentically italian. There was a brand new bathroom and then a kitchen with dining area and balcony to the rear. It was amazing accomodation and one of the biggest apartments we stayed in on our 18 day tour of Italy, just to mention that is also was the most expensive (and we stayed in Venice and Amalfi coast - which arent cheap!)
The lake view was worth it though!
The hotel is located to the rear of the main town of bellagio, but has the added benefit of being 5 minutes walk away from all the bars and quaint streets and buildings of Bellagio. We also walked directly down from the hotel to a small port area and had a drink in a small hotel overlooking the lake. It was very romantic and ideal for couples to visit!
We spent the evening in Bellagio watching the small car ferries come in and out and generally watching the world go by while we sipped on amazin local wine!
We returned to the hotel after they had finished serving dinner and asked for some food (bread, cheese and tomatoes) we got a couple of plates of tomatoes for which we were charged 24EURO the next day! My one gripe!
Breakfast was fantastic and the best in our entire trip, as it had absolulty everythin on offer, cooked breakfast, cereal, continental, fruit etc... and all served overlooking the beauty of Lake Como. Lovely hotel in an even lovlier location, infact we fell in love with Lake Como so much we came back for a 2nd visit on the way back from our tour of Italy and stayed another night, but this time in the Metropole in Bellagio town (please see my review).
Would totally recommend the apartment and the hotel. The spa and pool looked gorgeous and maybe if we'd had a couple of days we would have been able to enjoy that too!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    450
    183
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
122
382
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, CA
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

The staff was very kind, but we were disappointed in what we received for the price. It is a clean hotel and decent location away from the noise of town, but the room was very small and not of the same quality as you would find in the U.S., certainly not at that price. Unfortunately I think for Bellagio that is as good as it gets for the price so given the circumstances I would have to recommend it. Next time I'll try to find a B &B.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy/Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

I almost changed my reservation due to some of Tripadvisor's reviews, so the hotel surprised me because I cannot think of any complaint about it. It is not a 5 star hotel, mainly because of the lack of space in the reception/common areas) but the rooms are recently refurbished, very clean and very spacious (and we had luggage to spend a month out of home with a baby)
Very nice staff, very helpful with us (we were travelling with a 10 months old baby and they helped by processing the soups for her)
Great pool with a spectacular view.
Spa is small but pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

The Hotel Belvedere is excellent. The service was great, the staff smiled and laughed (especially at my Italian). The food was lovely. Buffet breakfast with large choice. Evening meal was tremendous with a table on the balcony overlooking the lake. Choice of dishes and desserts were brilliant. The view from the jacuzzi is amazing. I enjoyed the walk up/down the hill as it meant I could walk off the dinner and return to a quiet location. Our room overlooked the road (on purpose, too stingy too pay for a lake view) and still the view was pleasant as it looked over to a grand house. Great size room and bathroom with good decor.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed here for 7 nights and received excellent service throughout our holiday. We arrived late at night but were offered refreshments even before being shown our rooms.
The staff were all friendly,efficient and very helpful. When a member of our group needed a doctor everyone helped and showed genuine concern. They could not have done more to ease the situation. The food was of an excellent standard and worthy of gastronomic recognition. Our wine waiter was both knowledgeable and helpful to us as we knew very little about Italian wines. Our "superior" rooms were very comfortable, well maintained and we had beautiful views from our corner rooms with balconies. We enjoyed the swimming pool and sitting in the jacuzzi overlooking the lake and mountains was something else. We would recommend this hotel to anyone .

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

We agree with most of the comments made by other reviewers about this splendid hotel and ask the same question, how can it have a three star rating with as least a four star level of service and accommodation? The Belvedere is actually a complex which has spread out over the hill side of Lake Como with the original hotel building complemented by 'villas' which are either neighbouring homes subsumed into the complex or purpose built chalets, the majority of which offer fantastic views over the lake The young all female reception staff all speak excellent English and are friendly and helpful. The breakfast is up to speed in terms of choice - and yes, the coffee does have that enamel peeling punch familiar to Italian hotels. The evening meal was always well balanced and promptly served (but not hurried, we had the feeling that the waiter staff were there to serve you not get it over as quickly as possble to prepare the tables for breakfast which has been our experience elsewhere in Italy). The hub of the complex is the swimming pool area which is very clean and modern. The pool water was a nice temperature and the outside jacuzzi which runs the length of the pool provides wonderful views over the lake. Under the pool is the spa with free access to very swish turkish baths and sauna facilities and a relaxation room complete with soothing music and more lake views. The massage is not free, and the partial 30 minute session costs 50 euros. The fitness and wellbeing centre opened during our stay so I was able to run off some of the meals. We had a chalet room in the grounds which was large - although the wall between us and our neighbours appeared paper thin. The bathroom was large and well stocked with soaps and shampoos and our own hotel slippers although we had to make do with a shower even after we had stated a preference for a bath (we were offered the chance to go and see a room with a bath but decided to stay put). The room safe was in the fridge which was a bit bizarre (what's to stop the fridge being stolen?!) The hotel over looks a fishing village and after seeing other four star hotels right on the lake we felt that the view afforded by being higher up was an advantage. It is about a five minute stroll gently down hill to the actually town of Bellagio and again, we felt we had picked the best place on the lake (not least because it isn't shadowed by surrounding mountains which lose the sun earlier in the day or get any passing rain). The town is buzzing with visitors and there are plenty of shops and restaurants. Overall an thoroughly enjoyable week. We would recommend both hotel and town to anybody.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2009

Our 4th trip to this hotel, and each time it seems to get better. We are avid Formula 1 fans and from experience prefer to stay on the lake and travel in to Monza by train, therefore giving us the best of both worlds.

We were upgraded to a suite this year, which was a treat in itself. The location of this hotel couldn't be better. Away from the madness of Bellagio itself, this is a peaceful haven, only 5 minutes walk into Bellagio, and overlooking the peaceful side of the lake. The staff are extremely friendly and attentive, nothing seems to be too much trouble. The qualify of the food, although the choice may be a little limited, is excellent (if you aren't used to the Italian way of eating may take some getting used to for some people.) I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting somewhere special to stay. Still baffled as to why it is only a 3* hotel - the standards and quality should in my opinion warrant a 4* rating, although they are constantly improving the facilities - the fitness centre is nearing completion.

Looking forward to our trip next year and seeing what further changes they have made.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Belvedere Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Bellagio

Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio Italy - Lake Como
Address: Via Valassina, 31, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere Bellagio 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for relaxing vacations, the Hotel Belvedere offers all you need to rejuvenate body and soul. Nothing better than a peaceful holiday by Lake Como at Hotel Belvedere in Bellagio to get away from it all.Also known as the pearl of Lake Como, Bellagio is located at the tip of a peninsula which divides the lake in two arms and faces the Alps across the lake. Such a unique position has been making Bellagio a famous holiday destination since the Roman times.The panoramic restaurant and terrace of Hotel Belvedere offer stunning views of Lake Como. Additionally, the hotel features a luxuriant garden and a wellness treatment center, including an outdoor heated swimming pool, a large spa tub, a fully equipped fitness room, a Turkish bath, a sauna and much more to provide guests with a relaxing holiday in Bellagio. The hotel also offers manicures and pedicures, body scrubs, body treatments, aromatherapy treatments, massages and facial treatments. Reservations are required for massages and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere Bellagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.