We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Bellagio!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere Bellagio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Belvedere Bellagio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Valassina, 31, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Bellagio
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Bellagio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Bellagio has many many hotels, but this is for sure one of the best hotel if not The best! Rooms have beautiful view to the lake, fairly spacious and nicely renewed. There is also a great swimming pool, with an infiniy jacuzzi with view to the lake.
But the most important advantage of this hotel is its fantastic staff. They are super friendly, very caring and really make you feel at home and well taken care of. We arrived in Bellagio late night, with our three months old baby. We didn't have any reservation because our hotel cancelled on us last minute, when they found out we have a baby with us!! We were exhausted and frustrarted when we arrived but the staff at Belveder were so welcoming and helpful, that it literary felt like we're home. Particularly the barman was so nice and friendly and helped us so much with providing boiling water, washing and sterilizing our baby's bottles etc.
The hotel was a bit over our budget and we initially planned to only spend the first night there. But the combination of a good hotel and great staff is a rare find these days, so we decided to stay for another two nights
Bellagio is a beautifu town, so we very much like to go back and stay in Belvedere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    497
    198
    36
    14
    9
See reviews for
132
430
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed for one week for our 5th wedding anniversary and prior to our visit I emailed the hotel and asked for a bouquet of flowers to be in our room on arrival. I received a couple of charming emails confirming my request and advising the very modest price to be included in our bill.

We had a room at the front of the hotel, not with a lake view as this was an expensive option, but our room had a long balcony with doors out from the bedroom and from the bathroom!
The bouquet of flowers was magnificent and greatly pleased my wife and we were also given a complimentary bottle of Prosecco.

During our stay the weather was sunny every day and we had dinner on the terrace every night overlooking the most romantic view of the quieter branch of the lake. The three course evening meal was waiter served and was most definitely five star in quantity, presentation and choice. Every course throughout the week was superb and each meal made the evening. It is just hard to describe the beauty of the unobstructed view of the lake and the hills on the other side.

The grounds of the hotel, set as terraces, were large and had plenty of seating and sunbeds.
The pool although small was warm and inviting.

There is a separate newish building in the grounds housing a library and large screen tv with a balcony overlooking the lake .

The walk into the centre of Bellagio was either down a series of steps or an easier more level route through the park. We are both in our sixties and had no problems with the rather pleasant walk.

Not to be missed is a visit to the Villa Carlotta a beautiful palace and magnificent grounds ,so take a camera !

On departure the two lady owners of the hotel insisted in carrying our luggage to the coach and kissed us goodbye.

In conclusion a great hotel in the most lovely location.

Room Tip: The buildings are old and the rooms vary in size, but i would avoid the ground floor lake facing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've just returned from our Honeymoon to Bellagio. We stayed at the Belvedere, having preferred it to other Lake Como hotels because of its facilities and the reviews, which seemed to suggest excellent quality and a peaceful location.

We were not wrong. It's a lovely, very well run hotel with well appointed rooms, a good restaurant and pleasant staff.

The rooms are fairly spacious, nicely finished and have large bathrooms / shower rooms. Our room had a balcony and a side view of the lake. The beds are comfortable and the linen and towels are of a good quality.

We stayed half board and the meals were invariably excellent and substantial (3 courses). It's not clear in the brochures but the hotel will allow you to swap a dinner for a lunch, allowing you to take in the evening delights of Bellagio without losing out on your half-board allowance. Breakfast is plentiful and the waiting staff are excellent.

The sun terraces, pool and infinity jacuzzi are more than adequate and the gym and spa are compact but a real treat - the kind of facilities you'd expect in a business hotel, not a holiday destination. We didn't have any treatments, but we suspect they too would be good value. There is even a reasonably well stocked library if you run out of other things to do!

I've read some gripes on TripAdvisor about inflexibility at reception, but we didn't experience anything like that. It's true that they don't provide free WiFi (it's actually quite expensive) but this is the same throughout the local area, as far as we could establish - the Internet Cafe in Bellagio was actually more expensive.

With regard to the suggestions it's a steep and difficult walk up to the hotel (and that you need to carry your own bags from the ferry port...!), again, we didn't find this. We were dropped at the hotel door by our coach on arrival and collected on departure. There is a steep-ish walk from the port, but there is also a route which has a moderate and gentle incline - one couple we met whilst there were over 80 and made the walk every day.

Overall, Belvedere is a beautiful hotel, well suited to couples looking for a break in an area of spectacular natural beauty but with all mod cons.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was my 3rd visit to the Hotel and it has improved every time. The latest ground floor improvements give it a modern edge, but it is the staff that make this hotel for me. They are lovely people, always so welcoming and friendly. The Hotel is situated a short walk from the centre of Bellagio on a hill that affords it sensational views across the lake, none better than from the Terrace restaurant, where I would recommend the lake fish with rice. It is a local speciality and is also worth trying at Trattoria San Giacomo, where chef Aurelio excels. Another notable trip that the hotel recommended was to Isola di Comacina (http://www.comacina.it/isola.html) that is an island restaurant steeped in history and a 45 minute boat journey worth making.

Room Tip: We use room 202 which is along the length of the property and sleeps a family of 4 and has 4 balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

You had our second visit to this hotel for one week last month and this place doesn't dissapoint. Cheerful and friendly service, good food/breakfat and nice rooms overlooking the lake. Only problem was mosquitos but one can hardly blame the hotel for that! We'll be back.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

It is a short walk into village. The hotel has a beautiful vista. Loved being there

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Just returned from 7days of sunshine in Bellagio. The Belvedere hotel is about 10 mins stroll from the lakeside and as such the hotel and pool are more secluded than the hotels next to the lake. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room, a standard, was comfortable. The bathroom was a little small but adequate for our needs. The room was cleaned well every day. Food at the restaurant was very good. We were there on a half-board basis and were very happy with all the meals that we had. The choice was good and the food was well cooked and presented. The service was prompt. Facilities were good, plenty of sun beds, towels, etc. The pool was lovely and the views from the pool and gardens were stunning. This is the first holiday that we have had where we would both go back to the same resort and hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room 508 as it is next to the laundry. East facing rooms have the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Belvedere Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Bellagio

Address: Via Valassina, 31, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#1 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere Bellagio 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for relaxing vacations, the Hotel Belvedere offers all you need to rejuvenate body and soul. Nothing better than a peaceful holiday by Lake Como at Hotel Belvedere in Bellagio to get away from it all.Also known as the pearl of Lake Como, Bellagio is located at the tip of a peninsula which divides the lake in two arms and faces the Alps across the lake. Such a unique position has been making Bellagio a famous holiday destination since the Roman times.The panoramic restaurant and terrace of Hotel Belvedere offer stunning views of Lake Como. Additionally, the hotel features a luxuriant garden and a wellness treatment center, including an outdoor heated swimming pool, a large spa tub, a fully equipped fitness room, a Turkish bath, a sauna and much more to provide guests with a relaxing holiday in Bellagio. The hotel also offers manicures and pedicures, body scrubs, body treatments, aromatherapy treatments, massages and facial treatments. Reservations are required for massages and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Escapio, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere Bellagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.