We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel but oddly lacking in minor amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Belvedere Bellagio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Belvedere Bellagio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Valassina, 31, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great hotel but oddly lacking in minor amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

The views from the main building are exceptional, but be sure to ask for a room there--otherwise they may put you in the 'garden' where you mostly see other guests in lawn chairs. Note that there is a free shuttle from the boat dock--ask at the information desk there where the boats come in and they will call the hotel for you. This is good--when we arrived, and when we left, there was nary a taxi in sight! The hotel restaurant is good and the terrace delightful, but food is even more expensive here than in the restaurants in Bellagio proper. Breakfasts are great. Nice people. Note that many rooms at the lower (relatively!) rate are small. Little things, but odd: no bath robes, no wi-fi in the rooms--and this is a very expensive hotel! All in all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: ask very, very specifically for a lake view, with balcony, IN THE MAIN BUILDING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    207
    40
    15
    9
See reviews for
146
454
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Have just returned from our fourth visit in six years to this delightful hotel, and have already booked again for next year. What more can one say? The hotel seems to get better each year, with a new reading room and (small) gym. The staff are amazing, and if you stay for more than a couple of days you quickly feel you are part of the Belvedere family over which presides the omnipresent Tiziana, whose family have owned and run the hotel for four generations.

We stayed in a terrace room where the views of the lake are sensational, and if the rooms themselves are a little on the small side, who cares with the lovely terrace? The food is great, and I say this having tried most of the other restaurants in Bellagio over the years, and always coming back to the view from the Belvedere terrace, the fabulous homemade pasta and the attentions of the excellent Alberto.

The location is perfect, far enough from the town to be quiet, close enough to stroll for the evening gelato. We feel sorry for those who simply stay a night and move on. Bring a stack of books and enjoy the pool.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retired of Sussex
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

If you want a lovely family run hotel with friendly staff then Hotel Belverdere is for you. We were joined by our family on the first week and they were very impressed with the standard of the hotel.Waiting staff,pool staff ,reception staff all work so very hard. Our rooms were spotless and the views of the lake excellent as was the food in the restaurant. The owner and manager are always on site and happy to help with any queries you have.

Room Tip: Ask for a Superior Lake View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We paid over 1300 euros for 3 nights in a suite and thought it was overpriced. The room was pleasant but nothing special with lovely views and an easy walk into town. Staff were helpful but the hotel wasn't busy. Breakfast was pretty average and the so called "orange juice" had never been near an orange and it was the same everyday. To charge for wifi in this day and age is outrageous on top of the room rate. We booked many hotels based on TA reviews and have been very happy except for this one.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We recently stayed for 5 nights and I would highly recommend the Belvedere hotel. The rooms and the public areas of the hotel were immaculate and the Belvedere feels as if it is well cared for by the friendly and helpful staff. Its a 5 minute walk into Bellagio central but no big deal so don't be put off by this as the views and ambience more than compensate. Although its rated 3 star its a lot better than this and I would recommend highly to anyone wanting a relaxing few days without the pretensions of a 5 star choice. We also had perfect weather which always helps.

Room Tip: request a high floor lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Having to spend three nights in Bellagio for my best friend's wedding, I decided to go for the best - at least according to Trip Advisor - and I am extremely grateful to my fellow reviewers for having pointed me out towards the Belvedere hotel. My (regrettably) short stay has in fact been completely satisfactory and as I write this review I struggle to name the hotel's best feature because everything has been truly excellent: allow me to point out:
- Its position: the Belvedere overlooks the quieter south-eastern branch of Lake Como, not the busiest south-western one (the one with the ferry harbour, to be precise). Moverover, the structure is a few hundred meters away from pubs/bars/restaurants for an extremely relaxing experience;
- Its amazing staff: although I have had many more positive than negative experiences with hotel staffs, this was even better than I thought. Mind you, Bellagio is a city that lives out of tourism and no-one in the wedding party (spread all over the city) complained about this feature, but I believe that the Belvedere was truly fantastic. Although this is a big structure, reception waited for my arrival (at 0030) well beyond their normal operating times and made me feel very welcomed from the first moment. The cleaning staff was literally hovering outside my door after I woke up and had the room properly cleaned by the time I came back from breakfast. It is apparent to me that the Belvedere staff is properly trained to do its job and performs it with professionalism and enthusiasm;
- Its rooms, which are big and clean and - at least in my case - have a commanding view of the lake. Given a choice, I'd go for a third or fourth floor: the higher you go the better the view;
- Its other features, like the excellent restaurant, the swimming pool, the Spa (best sport massage of my life!), the Jacuzzi and the (albeit small) gym;
- Its price: in my opinion paying €170 or less a day for this hotel (including breakfast) is well worth the price: although most of the other structures in Bellagio are cheaper, they do not offer as much.
Was the hotel perfect according to my own personal standards? Well, almost, although there were a couple of things that I find worth mentioning:
- The strange lack of a face towel rack in the bathroom (the towel was neatly folded on a stool, but I do prefer a rack);
- The lack of Wi-Fi on the floors above the first one and the fact that Internet connection was not free - something I personally do not find acceptable in this time and age (but I can live with for a limited time).
What more can I say? After learning that around Lake Como there are wonderful hiking opportunities, I decided that I will be back - for a longer period - not just to enjoy the beauty of the place but also the hospitality of the Belvedere.

Room Tip: Obviously with a lake view - possibly on the fourth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Just Having returned from a week's holiday to the hotel Belvedere we had a fantastic time the staff were excellent and catered to our every need.
The hotel was spotless and very relaxing.

Our bedroom was big and very bright with two balconys in our room could not of asked for anything else.On our last night the owner of the hotel came to talk to us with her daughter which i thought was a lovely touch so friendly.

I would also like to make special mention to Roberto, Marco and Valentina who do a fantastic job and customer service was excellant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Belvedere Bellagio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Bellagio

Address: Via Valassina, 31, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Belvedere Bellagio 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for relaxing vacations, the Hotel Belvedere offers all you need to rejuvenate body and soul. Nothing better than a peaceful holiday by Lake Como at Hotel Belvedere in Bellagio to get away from it all.Also known as the pearl of Lake Como, Bellagio is located at the tip of a peninsula which divides the lake in two arms and faces the Alps across the lake. Such a unique position has been making Bellagio a famous holiday destination since the Roman times.The panoramic restaurant and terrace of Hotel Belvedere offer stunning views of Lake Como. Additionally, the hotel features a luxuriant garden and a wellness treatment center, including an outdoor heated swimming pool, a large spa tub, a fully equipped fitness room, a Turkish bath, a sauna and much more to provide guests with a relaxing holiday in Bellagio. The hotel also offers manicures and pedicures, body scrubs, body treatments, aromatherapy treatments, massages and facial treatments. Reservations are required for massages and spa treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Bellagio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Belvedere Bellagio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.