We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Value, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Florence

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bellagio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Florence
Save Saved
You added Hotel Florence to your Saves list
Piazza Mazzini, 46, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Value, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Bellagio, one of the most beautiful places. What made our 3 day stay most enjoy was the Hotel Florence and its staff, in particular Georgia who was an angel. Paola was also extremely helpful.
The view from our room number 45 was stunning!!!!

Once you get to the rooms, you will find pristine conditions , --- and this was 3 days before the closing for the end the season.

We will be back next fall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    126
    34
    11
    8
See reviews for
43
249
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

You can't beat the location of this hotel, right on the main drag in Bellagio, one of the prettiest places on earth. Our room (54) was on the top floor and had two window looking out onto the lake.

I wouldn't say that this hotel was strong on amenities, but the bed was comfy and you really couldn't beat the view. The bathroom was serviceable.

The desk staff and the wonderful Giorgia who served us breakfast every morning made you feel more than welcome. Then next door is the Bar Florence, for a drink before or after dinner. Also very good service there.

I would stay here again, and hopefully in my lifetime I will be able to do just thAt.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Ok, so we checked out every review on this site for Bellagio hotels before making the best
decision with the Hotel Florence. It is by far the best option going if you want great value,location and excellent customer service. The hotel is the last in the row of boardwalk
places at lake front elevation. The location is perfect as it is close enough to walk from ferry landing, yet far enough away not to hear noise from water taxis or town crowds. The hotel has an elevator lift, which is such a treat when you have heavy luggage. The lovely breakfast room provides great options, plus good service. The bar is fun and inviting, with great lake view from the lake front patio (weather permitting). Guest rooms are good size with big beds, although hard mattresses with firm pillows, which seems to be a common thing in Italy. Bathrooms are good size (but be warned that as with most of Italy you will have a bathtub only with shower handle spout, so you must sit in bath to wash your hair). This is a small compromise given the quaint accommodations and rate value. There was a small flat screen tv in room but we never turned it on. Internet connection is very good, a small room safe is provided, plus nice bathroom products. The staff is very kind and will help in any way. We had room 6, which was on second floor in center of building overlooking Lake Como through a darling window with shutters. It was quiet in the evening and we never heard outside noise or neighboring rooms. Please be advised, this hotel does shut down by October 15th for the season. We just squeaked in before the closure. Their popular restaurant with indoor seating or lakeside patio dining closes at the end of September. We were not aware of this until we stayed on property. We found that many restaurants do shut down in fall and are not open during colder weather months. I am not sure how you can book for next season with the closure, but I would plan a stay before middle of September for the best weather and dining choices. It was very quiet in town while we were there, as it is the end of tourist season with colder temperatures. We took note of other hotels that were good options but they were located up very steep cobblestone walkways that would be very hard to access with luggage, or water side hotels at very steep prices with possible noise challenges. It did rain while we were there so we were thankful to be at Hotel Florence on flat ground with no steep walkways with slippery rock paths. Water taxi service does reduce the schedule for fall starting on October 1st, although you can take both passenger ferry or auto ferry so transport options were still plenty. The hotel is so very charming, quiet, clean, friendly and a wonderful treat after a day of shopping, exploring or hopping from one village to the next via boat taxi. We were very happy with our choice and would return here again and again. We arrived through Milan airport, took the train to central station, then transferred to Vareena train for a one hour, then off there for a 5 minute downhill walk to ferry landing. Boat to Bellagio is a short 10 minute ride.

Room Tip: Room 6 on 2nd floor, close to lift, only one neighboring room on left, so very quiet spot and great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Recently spent four nights here. Room was a good size and beautifully furnished. Shuttered windows opened to a glorious view of the lake and mountains.Close to ferry and other sights in Bellagio.Breakfast was good but we were a little disappointed that it was not served outside with a view. The outdoor dining terrace was great for drinks while watching the sun set.Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on fourth floor, great views from the balcony in both directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights this month. It is located right on the lakeside close to the ferry station. The rooms are large and beautifully, though quirkily, furnished. We had a lake-view room with fabulous views. Breakfast was both cooked and continental. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The bar is well stocked and the food in the restaurant was very good. The one drawback was that the bathroom didn't have a proper shower.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend having a lake-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed five days at Hotel Florence and I was very happy with our visit. I was consistently impressed with the helpfulness and friendliness of their staff; from the owner to the concierge and waiters. My wife and I were constantly at the concierge desk asking questions and looking for suggestions and they answered every time with genuine happiness and expert advice. The food at their restaurant is exceptional and in a wonderful location, my wife's favorite for the whole trip was their fish tartare. I could not have thought of a better place to spend our last five days in Italy than Lake Como, and Hotel Florence served as a perfect home base for our relaxation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Hotel Florence is in the heart of Bellagio, surrounded by shops, restaurants and of course Lake Como. It is a vintage and historic place that dates to the 1920s. The rooms are well kept and also very clean and neat.
But the views from the room's balcony are breathtaking. How could one not fall in love with such a place. A single word sums up the feeling and ambiance of this place: Idyllic.
As you look out over the lake you see the mountains that are the border with Switzerland. In the evening they are usually capped with clouds, and in the morning the fog can be seen lifting slowly from their tops.
Many fine restaurants in Bellagio. A favorite that we went to two of the three nights we stayed was Ristorante Bilacus. We strongly recommend the veal scallopine con funghi. It actually tasted better the second time!
The ferry service is great for visiting the various towns nearby. Some are not touristy like Bellagio, but have their own unique character. And being there in October was great because there were not many tourists as during the summer months.
We loved our stay and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florence

Address: Piazza Mazzini, 46, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#8 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Florence Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.