We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Florence

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bellagio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Florence
Save Saved
You added Hotel Florence to your Saves list
Piazza Mazzini, 46, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 hotels in Bellagio
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hotel Florence has one of the premium locations on the foreshore of Bellagio, it doesn't get better. The service was great, the owners go out of their way to help. They were particularly good in helping with useful instructions, recommendations, bookings and tips about parking.
The rooms were a reasonable size.
My only negative comment about our room was that the bathroom had a bath, no shower. There was a shower head on a hose connected to the bath tap, but no where to hang the shower head, and no shower curtain. I am not usually a fan of baths (I feel as if I am soaking in my own dirt and perhaps other peoples dirt).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    123
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
43
247
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tampa, fl
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and can't say enlightened great things about Hotel Florence. The rooms are large and comfortable. The staff is fantastic and can't do enough for their guests. Their restaurant is across the street shaded by trees on the bank of the river. The food was delicious as was the service. The view of the lake and the Italian Alps is breathtaking . Convenient , quiet, relaxing hotel. A definite must to stay in.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We really enjoyed our night here. The staff were friendly and helped us with some travel questions. Very personable. Remembered our names and inquired how their suggestions worked out. The restaurant is lovely on a beautiful part of the lake. I enjoyed my dinner so much I made a special request to the chef to repeat it at lunch. Rooms were clean Breakfast was also delicious and elegantly served. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you want charming , creaky stairs , decent sized corner room on the lake front with a good breakfast, then this is for you. The only downside was some street noise and ferry horns. A lovely lake to explore with pizza to die for in most if the restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We arrived in the early afternoon and were hoping our room was ready and to our delight it was. We were shown to our room, #8 which much to our surprise had a large patio with a bistro table and chairs where we enjoyed daily cheese and wine. Room was clean, a nice size and quiet. Breakfast was included but our first morning we overslept so missed it. The front desk was so kind to send breakfast to our room since we missed it. Service was spectacular! Great location and good value. Highly recommend! Can't go wrong.

Room Tip: #8 has a large patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

When we arrived at Hotel Florence in the early evening, we were very tired from a long journey by car from Cortina d"Ampezzo. However, the tiredness left us as soon as we walked through the front door and were greeted enthusiastically by the owner, Timothy. Following a big hello, he grabbed our bags with both hands and took us to our rooms, refusing any sort of tip, telling us that "carrying our bags was all part of the service". From there, it just kept getting better.

Our room was 1, and our friends' room was 3, with both rooms sharing a spacious terrace looking out at Lake Como, with a table and chairs for each couple. Inside, the bedrooms were colourful and stylish, as were the bathrooms. Yes, we knew we had made the right choice in booking in at the Hotel Florence. Excellent buffet breakfasts provided us, with drinks being served by the delightful Giorgia, was a great start to every day. Inside the hotel, there are numerous lounge areas, both large and small, and all furnished with great flair. Service from Timothy, Christian and other members of staff was always friendly and helpful - a great team. The hotel also has a lakeside restaurant across from main hotel. As we came to expect, the food and service was excellent.

What more can I say? Perhaps a few words about Bellagio itself. A handsome town bordered by the lake on one side and the hilltops behind - beautiful and atmospheric, with some high quality shops and restaurants. From Bellagio, you can hop on and off ferries that take you to other lovely towns and villages on Lake Como. All very easy and most enjoyable. My sense is that it is better not to have a car, as parking is at a premium and driving a bit difficult for we tourists who don't know the area well enough to drive with ease.

Room Tip: One & three with a large and shared terrace are good for couples travelling together, but I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Victoria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The only thing I can say about Hotel Florence is fantastic. Paola the young girl on the front counter was amazing so helpful. We had just finished an eight bus tour of Sicily so was looking for a more leisurely pace and we got this in Bellagio. We had room No 3 which was really two rooms with a shared balcony. The view was amazing the room was amazing. Breakfast was great. Paola recommended a lovely boat trip with Bellagio water taxis where we were taken around lake Como. The boat only takes a small amount of people so a nice easy trip. On another day we had the best lunch at the famous Locanda dell"Isola Comacina. We had booked this from Australia. What an experience highly recommend this lunch. We also used Cars on Time to collect us from Milan airport and take us back they were reasonable and very good drivers. Highly recommend them. We absolutely loved Bellagio and hope we can get back there some day. Thank you to Paola for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Choose either room three, one or five they have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florence

Address: Piazza Mazzini, 46, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
#8 Family Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Florence Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Florence Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Florence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.