We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, respectful staff, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Pergola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Pergola to your Saves list
La Pergola
Piazza del Porto, 4, Pescallo, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, respectful staff, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a great stay here, the rooms are quite big and comfortable and the staff is respectful and English speaking. The views are stunning and the food are mainly homemade Italian dishes. Although not very diverse.
All in all, we had the perfect honeymoon here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    33
    19
    18
    24
See reviews for
15
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed three nights at La Pergola, and noticed on reviews prior to arriving, that staff were reviewed as unfriendly. In actual fact, they are a lovely group of three generations of family members, where the business has been in their family for decades. At first impressions, they are not smiley at all, but we found they were very generous and would do anything for you. We noticed that those guests who mirror the family's demeanour did not enjoy their meals nor stay.

We tried something different and smiled at them and greeted them warmly, and what seems like brusqueness evaporated. For whatever reason, they don't smile as much as other restaurant/hotel owners as they are a gentle and somewhat shy family, but don't ruin your visit thinking they are unfriendly, as they have a heart of gold.

All that aside, the building is amazing, approximately 500-600 years old, and they are positioned right on the lake itself. Views to die for.

We both had trout and vegetables the first night. Delicious and well priced at €14. If you like gooey chocolate cake with moist hot sauce flowing from the centre, try the chocolate pie for €9. Yum.

Breakfasts overlooking the lake were delicious also. Rooms clean and very comfortable.

Please understand that this hotel is located in a stunning little hamlet called Pescallo within Bellagio, but you must walk over the hill (about 10 minutes of steps) to get there.

I would definitely stay/eat there again.

Room Tip: The most stunning suite is on the lakefront with grape vines covering your large balcony, but any la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

A family run hotel. It felt like an old family villa. Very comfortable rooms and firm beds. The small bathroom did not detract at all from the beautiful old world feeling of the decor.
All staff friendly and helpful. We had a first floor room with a hug balcony overlooking Lake Como.
We ate at the restaurant one evening and enjoyed a fine meal. The wine list is a bit sparse.
Pescallo is on the other side of the lake to Bellagio and is a 10-15 min picturesque walk to the main town. You do have to ascend a cobblestone hill which helps burn the calories of all the pasta and gelato consumed.
I would highly recommend this hotel. It is economical and well located for a leisurely visit to Bellagio.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a balcony room. There are no elevators so be prepared for stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We felt very fortunate to be shown to our lovely room with a balcony overlooking beautiful lake Como. Marta who checked us in was welcoming and efficient and the hotel is in an idyllic spot. Breakfast every morning was very good, particularly with the inclusion of muesli! The room was clean and well-equipped, even containing a small fridge, but the mattress was hard and cheap. We have a couple of reservations though. The first is that one of the best things about the hotel is its lake views. Unfortunately the restaurant terrace has the same position so that noise and cigarette smoke can be an issue. The French doors are very well sound-proofed, but then you sacrifice the views you're paying for. Secondly the hotel is not in the most convenient position for those who spend a lot of time in the town centre or catching many ferries. The walk to the town and ferries is steep and up many steps, those with mobility problems would have a tough time. Lastly parking is not ideal. We were lucky to bag a spot right outside the hotel which we then just left the car in, but otherwise parking is quite a distance away.

Room Tip: If noise from restaurant might bother you, ask for a room without a lake view, the lane has very lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woombye, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stunning views, beautiful location, great price... However, there's nothing quite like arriving at a hotel to be met by scowls and sour expressions, especially when you've travelled literally half way around the world. No lift, that's fine, I'll carry my wife and baby's stuff upstairs, I'm used to that. I'm not used to trying to get a baby through a spring loaded door in a pushchair while the proprieter observes me from his seat 2 metres away... I was doubly impressed when a couple of Italian nationals rocked up and he carried their bags upstairs for them.
Breakfast was dreadful that's all there is to say about that.
In short a beautiful hotel in a beautiful spot wholly spoiled by people who clearly didn't enjoy running it, or interacting with visitors. I would be the first person back following a change of management.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel on the shores of Lake Como. The rooms themselves were beautiful and had an authentic old italian feel with beautiful large armoires and dressers. Marta was warm and accommodating when we discovered our rooms were not exactly what we had expected from booking.com website as only one room had a full view of the lake while the other was a partial view.The restaurant on site had a gorgeous view of the lake however and the food was delicious. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful with lots of choices and again with the stunning views of Lake Como. It was a very short pleasant walk to the center of Bellagio and the value of the hotel being just a short walk away was so worth it. The decor was lovely, the beds comfortable and the view out our window was priceless. Thank you Marta for your excellent service!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We've stayed several times at La Pergola. Our tastes include: the Beauty of Nature, Authenticity, Simplicity, Serenity & Wellness. La pergola is a 15' hike from the village and well worth it. We enjoy to eat well and the short walk is a pleasure after dinner or any time of day. It's stunning actually with those ancient steps. And the possibility to swim directly from the hotel (away from ferry boats) is a plus. The rooms are simple and the VIEWS spectacular.

Hope this review is helpful. And we would love to hear from you when you find simple jems! We love it because our Chalet in Wengen, Switzerland is such a place. Wengen is similar to Bellagio in that it dates back to the Belle Époque, also very well preserved. Let us know if you'd like info on Wengen or our chalet (available on occassion for rent. We screen our renters carefully) dating back to 1885, with unobstructed views, sunny southern exposure, private gardens, balcony, winter gardens & spectacular views. If you like La pergola, be sure to plan a skiing or hiking vacation in Wengen. We also loved Cinque Terra, especially staying in Monterosso al Mare.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pergola

Address: Piazza del Porto, 4, Pescallo, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como
La Pergola Hotel Bellagio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pergola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.