We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Pergola

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added La Pergola to your Saves list
La Pergola
Piazza del Porto, 4, Pescallo, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I have stayed on menaggio a few times in the past but not bellagio. I wasn't expecting much from this place (I was being realistic as it was cheap by its bellagio counter parts and after all only 2 stars). It is tucked away over the back of bellagio, up and over lots of cobbled steps!!

However, I am very glad to say my expectations where so completely wrong!

Upon entering the lobby, we were very enthusiastically met by a man who took us to our room and proudly opened the doors in the middle of the room to show us our balcony. It looked directly out onto the lake. It was absolutely heavenly.

The room had everything you could ask for, but not at the expense of the villas Authentic charm.
It was cleaned every day and the breakfast was yummy.

I was in two minds not to tell the world about this little romantic hidden gem, keep it shhh!! But that wouldn't be fair.

Really hope if you read this you don't hesitate to book....enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Room 2 had a big bed and a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    33
    19
    18
    24
See reviews for
15
54
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim Hills, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights in early May 2013. We found this hotel delightful. The staff were all friendly; Marta speaks the best (excellent) English and was very helpful. One thing they can't help with is parking. There are 11 PUBLIC spaces in the lot, none reserved for hotel guests. We arrived on a sunny Saturday and had to park illegally (along with 5 others) for 4 hours before a space opened up. A car is useless here, so we strongly recommend coming by train to Varenna, then a 10-minute ferry ride to Bellagio, and a short cab ride to get your luggage over the hill. After that, it's a 10-minute walk on a cobbled path (170' vertical rise) to busy Bellagio with its restaurants and shops. La Pergola's restaurant serves a very good buffet (cold) breakfast, taken on the waterside jetty under the eponymous grape pergola in good weather. We had dinner here twice and both meals were excellent.

Room Tip: We had room 4, a charming, large, sunny place with a stunning lakefront view and a wide private terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshires
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We've stayed at Hotel La Pergola many times, including our most recent in April, 2013, and it's become our favorite hotel in Italy. The hotel is situated lakeside, on the Lecco side of Lake Como, just outside Bellagio. Rooms 1 and 4 are both large, comfortable rooms with large terraces right over the lake. It is very quiet in Pescallo, which I prefer to the noise and crowds of Bellagio, yet it's only a 10 minute walk over the hill to Bellagio. And the walk helps either work up an appetite or make you feel better about how much you just ate. It's true that the owners can get a little gruff, but if you are a returning guest, as we are, you are greeted with warmth, smiles and friendliness. The restaurant is convenient to have and also beautiful, with good food.

Room Tip: Room 4 is the largest, with a big terrace. Room 1 is a little smaller, with a bigger terrace right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Fantastic Setting - authentic vine covered Italian fish restaurant on the waters side. Pescallo is a peaceful fishing hamlet and well worth visiting. You gain the impression that the restaurant is very much used by Italians and the yachting club. The food was good and the location fantastic. Service was efficient although not over friendly. We were made to feel in the way when we sat down at a lakeside table which was apparently reserved for regulars. There was no friendly chit chat. However the food was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have been coming here for a number of years and although the surroundering outside the Hotel are beautiful the Hotel is quite plain and basic. But it does have fantastic views and surrounding. Everything in Bellagio is just a walk away and it suits us price wise. BUT the staff apart from Mama, Martha and a young girl are so unhappy and unhelpful. I know they are busy BUT If you ask for milk for your tea at breakfast its as if you were asking for a pot of gold, everything seems to be too much trouble, with lots of huffing and puffing. But we have come to terms with it now and just smile at one another and try not to rock the boat! The Restaurant is quite well respected and has a lot of regular visitor but can be quite expensive. We were outside reception one morning after breakfast deciding what to do when a young couple with a baby approached, entered the building and asked if the could purchase breakfast. Breakfast was still being served. (The offereing was continental) The were turned away with just 'NO'
The only time anybody smiled was when we paid the bill. It's a shame they are not more welcoming but we will go back it is now a challenge to get them to smile and welcome you.

Room Tip: Always request the 1st floor all have balcony - 2nd floor only look onto the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband, 11 year old daughter and I stayed here several nights in June at the beginning of a three week family vacation. We thought the hotel was lovely--gorgeous and quiet location on the water, simple and very clean rooms, good breakfasts and the wonderful pergola covered restaurant. The owners stuck to themselves (which was fine with us) but were pleasant including getting up at 2:30 AM to welcome us and assist with luggage after a missed connection delayed our arrival. My family and I all agreed that we far preferred staying in Pescallo and thought the 10 minute walk over the hill to Bellagio was beautiful and enjoyable. If you are into a large fancy hotel experience this is not your spot. If you're looking for a small, charming inn with character (the good kind) in a breathtaking waterfront setting then I think you can't go wrong at Hotel La Pergola!

Room Tip: Get a room with a water view....it's worth the extra Euros. We had a nice sized triple room look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had seen this hotel featured on a travel show some years ago and took note of it to stay if we ever got to travel to Lake Como. We were delighted with the location, right on the Lake. We had a great room overlooking the Lake. Although its on the opposite side of Bellagio away from the main town, it is easily accessible (approximately 10 - 15 minute walk), but uphill steps most of the way. It was a little bit of a challenge carrying luggage up three flights of stairs.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the Lake is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Pergola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pergola

Address: Piazza del Porto, 4, Pescallo, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your La Pergola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pergola Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como
La Pergola Hotel Bellagio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pergola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.