We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Gelato I tasted in Italy - not suprised it's no 2!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria del Borgo

Gelateria del Borgo
Via Garibaldi 46, Bellagio, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 61 Restaurants in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert
Description: Best gelato
Restaurant details
Description: Best gelato
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best Gelato I tasted in Italy - not suprised it's no 2!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I'd tasted Gelato in at least 13 different locations on our Italy trip and it was my favourite. Staff were friendly. Price was resonable and location was just where it needed to be. At the top of Bellagio, where you either need a rest or a refreshing ice cream to carry on with the climb back down.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    37
    14
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Lots & lots & lots of flavors to choose from...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

At best, the gelato is average but on the day we had it, it was 'really' hot and scorching rays of the sun, upon us. This was a good way to cool down.
Try it, it's so cheap you won't even regret it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ok but not memorable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Lots of choice but after tasting Gelato over many places in Italy this one didn't stick in the memory. Friendly staff but found a nicer one further up the road in a coffee shop with a rather small selection (almost last shop on the right as you head up out of town).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonshire
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good selection of gelatio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

As ice cream lovers we enjoyed the gelatio from this establishment. There was a good choice of flavours and I chose the forest fruit while my husband had a caramel flavour.
It is a fairly basic shop with just three small round tables outside where you could sit close to the pavement to eat. Having sampled ice cream in many other places beside Lake Como I cannot say this was the best we had eaten. It was good but the seating area let it down.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely gelato in great flavours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We tried this small gelateria near the top of central Bellagio, and found it to be very reasonable prices, the staff were all friendly and spoke English and the ice cream was lovely. There was a great selection of flavours with generous servings. We went back twice more during our holiday and would highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria del Borgo also viewed

 

Been to Gelateria del Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria del Borgo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.