We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night of wine & food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Enoteca Cava Turacciolo

Enoteca Cava Turacciolo
Salita Genazzini, Bellagio, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 62 Restaurants in Bellagio
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great night of wine & food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

A group of 10 of us went here on the advice of others on Trip Adviser and were certainly not disappointed. Fun night where we tasted some local wines paired with simple foods. Great night.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    37
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great visit ! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Great wine cave ! Good selection and knowledgable owner. We tried two packages one white 2 red and 3 reds all were great . Atmosphere fantastic went back the second day .... Def a lot of charm and well worth a visit or two !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great time here, the most fun night of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was definitely the most fun we had during our trip. Much like a cave, this place has quite literally a little hole in the wall storefront that can easily be missed if you don't know where to look for it. It is definitely worth searching for and finding though. We were seated all the way in the back room which gives you the feeling that you are literally sitting deep in a wine cellar. And as you can see in the many pictures in the reviews here, you are surrounded on all sides with floor to ceiling wine bottles in their racks waiting for their turn to be enjoyed. It is a wine lover's heaven for sure. The format for the wine tasting menu is: You make a three-wine selection from the menu, then the wait staff will select the food pairings for you to go along with these choices. Once each wine is served, the food pairing comes right after it. Each choice he made for us went perfectly with the wine, I'm sure they know their stuff by now when it comes to this. It's a very small intimate room with only a few tables in it so it is very easy to strike up a conversation with the people at the other tables enjoying themselves in there with you. That's what we did and we ended up meeting some nice Bellagio locals and a family originally from Alabama who now lives in Florida. By the end of the night we ended up all squeezing around one large table and conversing more together so the wait staff could seat more guests at the other tables. It was a really fun time with some really nice people. Most of the time it starts with offering to take group photos for each other (the room just begs to be photographed) and it turns into a "so, where you from?" and the next thing you know it's an hour later and you're best friends with each other. The power of wine, I guess. If we are ever fortunate enough to return to Bellagio, I would be willing to say that this would be the number one place that I'd want to make a repeat visit to. Definitely worth all it's high TA ratings and then some.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Neat location and fun place to tast wine.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

It was fun to duck into The Cave - so fun we went twice! The proprietor, Norberto Turacciolo, will most likely wait on you and was happy to engage us as we discussed wine. Our first visit on Tuesday 20
May, we did a three wine tasting of Lombardia (local) wines, and then went on to taste a couple more of the higher end local wines. We also had a selection of meats and cheeses which Norberto was happy to explain as well. The establishment is also a wine shop, so he was eager to sell bottles "to go" and can ship. Was very engaging and helpful our first visit. He is closed on Wednesdays but suggested we come back on Thursday for their wine pairing meal.

When Thursday rolled around we decided "what the heck" and went back. The meal was interesting, but we found out he does not have a kitchen so it was pre-prepared. We had some choices for the meal and each course was paired with a Tuscan wine (since we did Lombardia on the 1st visit). The antipasto course was a selection of 3 types and preparations of fish (cold). Interesting and different, and glad I tried. The "primo" course was spinach ravioli, heated in a microwave. Meh. Not bad, but pre-cooked pasta heated in a microwave was not what I expected. And our "secondo" was a platter of rare beef/steak sliced thin with shaved parmesan and basalmic oil drizzled on it. Which was very tasty with the paired Brunello.

Thought the setting interesting, and if you can connect with Norberto when he is not otherwise distracted can be quite informative. I'd suggest sticking with the meats and cheeses and go wild on the wines. We found the local Lombardia selections interesting and delicious.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Cosy little restaurant which has you virtually sitting in a wine cellar. Great range of local wines, meats and cheeses.
Top quality

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca Cava Turacciolo also viewed

 

Been to Enoteca Cava Turacciolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enoteca Cava Turacciolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.