We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A victim of it's own success” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Enoteca Cava Turacciolo

Enoteca Cava Turacciolo
Salita Genazzini, Bellagio, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Hull
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A victim of it's own success”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

After reading the reviews about the Wine Cave we were really excited about visiting it. We planned one of our days around visiting Bellagio so that we could taste the amazing wines and soak in the cosy atmosphere other travellers were raving about.
It seems though that it has fallen victim of it's own success, as mentioned in the title. We couldn't get a table upon first try and were told to come back in half an hour (this didn't bother us in the slightest - we anticipated that it may be busy due to the fantastic reviews on tripadvisor). When we popped back 20 minutes later the same waiter told us that he had given our table to someone else that had waited around. If we had have known to wait around or been able to reserve a table it would have been a much less wasted trip.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    40
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
brookfield, ct
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fabulous Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Having done my research on Tripadvisor, we decided to try this restaurant for the wine tasting and cheese and meat platter. It was fabulous, and the owner has a wealth of knowledge on the regional wines. Our evening was perfect! My husband happened to leave his fleece in the restaurant, and they were kind enough to send it back to the US for us. What service!!! Would highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Our favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is our favourite Enoteca at Lake Como.
They have some stunning wines and it's such a cosy little place to sample a few whilst having some small plates. We always make a point a paying a visit whenever we're in Bellagio.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“In the center, out of the crowd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Right in the center, but on a side walking venue that keeps away the too many tourists!
It's a very small place but it has everything: good wines, good local products, location, atmpsphere & service.
The menu is limited, but it's a pro because all served is fresh!
You can taste salami, hams, cheese with different varieties of honey ...everything accompanied by a good wine of Your choice.
It is small but cosy, walls are truly made of rocks that keep the room fresh even with no ai conditioning.
The ladies who own this place are very welcome and able to give suggestions depending on Your tasting.
Prices are fine.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A truly exceptional experience in Bellagio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Tremezzo is our base when touring the lake region in northern Italy and the discovery (via a review on Trip Advisor) of Enoteca Cava Turacciolo  in Bellagio has put a truly magic touch on a very enjoyable short break.
Frequent visitors to the region always look for additional places to enrich the overall experiences and for lovers of wine in general, and Italian wine in particular, look no further than Enoteca Cava Tiracciolo and its very knowledgeable co-owner Norberto.
The Italian wine selection is very wide but the real discovery for us was the bottles of Magnum available. We went for a magnum of Amarone by Venturini and we certainly did not regret this decision. Food is exceptionally good also and the best piece of advise I can give is to leave it up to Norberto and you will not regret it. He knows his territory very well. In this establishment food complements wine and not the opposite.
The decoration and ambience is very nice but during busy periods you must make reservations in advance because the place is small and can cater for only a few customers at a time.
Only negative comment is the ferry times back to Tremezzo. In our case (mid May) the last ferry was leaving at 2300 hrs which brought an amazing evening to an end much earlier than we would have liked.
Lake Como is a beautiful spot on earth but places like this add great value to the overall experience.
Michael and friends, Limassol, Cyprus

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Enoteca Cava Turacciolo also viewed

 
Bellagio, Lake Como
 

Been to Enoteca Cava Turacciolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Enoteca Cava Turacciolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.