We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Lac

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Lac to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Lac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Mazzini 32, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 hotels in Bellagio
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Superb location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The location was perfect, room was spacious, staff was accommodating, and our lake view room was ideal. The lake view was requested when we made reservations---a MUST! Dinner at the hotel was very good. Plus, ideal location for ferry or water taxi.
I'm a sucker for huge tubs and soaking after a day of walking, and the bathroom did not disappoint. The breakfast was okay. I'm giving our room 3 stars only because switch plates were loose or hanging----however, huge bed, clean clean clean and comfy!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    139
    38
    23
    7
See reviews for
46
171
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We arrived at the hotel to check in only to discover that I had accidentally booked our lakefront room on the wrong dates! The front desk staff didn't miss a beat though - they called a few nearby hotels and arranged for a similar room (lakefront) at a nearby hotel for one night and booked a lakefront room for us in the Hotel du Lac for the rest of our stay. The location is outstanding and views are almost unreal. It's a classic, old hotel with a classic feel, but clean and well-appointed. The restaurant downstairs was hopping and a fun place to hang out and people-watch. We really enjoyed the pastries in the attached coffee shop too. It made our first Lake Como experience just perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

First time we went to Bellagio was in 1987. Fairly undiscovered except for the Italians who summer vacationed there. It was a very good experience and we wanted to see how things had changed since being discovered.
We picked Hotel Du Lac because it was right next to the ferry landing and in the center of town activities. We arrived late (missed flight from Frankfort) but hotel staff was there waiting for us. The helped find a parking place, carried our luggage to our rooms, and generally most gracious hosts. The have a restaurant upsstairs on a balcony (not owned by hotel but owner made us feel like we were his best friends) that fed us a very good late dinner with local wines. Our rooms were large with private balcony, a/c, with electric shade to mask the ship docking and chruch bell ring on the hour. The town had excellent shopping and numerous other very good restaurants. If you are going to Bellagio we recommend this hotel (priced fairly) and very good staff to make your stay most enjoyable.

Room Tip: We like the private balcony rooms to sit and have coffee looking out on the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a superb dinner on P. Mazzini in Bellagio at Hotel du Lac. Food was exquisite and service exceptional. Just perfect! The pastas and fish (tuna from the Med.) were prepared perfectly and were delicious. While this restaurant might appear to cater to tourists, our dinner could not have been better. Great location, too.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The perfect old-style hotel right on the quayside in this beautiful town on Lake Como. We had hoped for atmosphere and good service - we got loads of both.
The staff are warm, friendly and efficient - a broken bathroom light-bulb was changed in minutes, parking our rather large car was sorted efficiently, the Receptionist was delightful.
We loved the constant coming and going of the numerous ferries and water-taxis and the views across the lake are marvellous. There are other hotels in Bellagio, but none so well located.
Breakfast was the best of all the hotels we stayed in on our trip; we chose to eat dinner elsewhere as there is so much choice in Bellagio.
Next door to the Hotel du Lac is a lovely coffee/cake-shop - perfect for glasses of Prosecco and people-watching. Top Tip: Sit outside, but make sure you have a look inside!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Lake View room - its incomparable! If taking a car, pre-book your hotel parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night in mid September after spending three nights across the lake in Varenna. Hotel seemed clean and well kept. Room and washroom were reasonably spacious and well put together. Our room unfortunately looked out onto a laneway and dining area of the adjacent building - so no view. The few available lake views at the front of the hotel are brighter and far superior.

The complementary breakfast was excellent. Didn’t dine in this hotel due to the large number of great alternatives just minutes away. Spent several hours late in the day on the roof top terrace that offers a great view of the shoreline and lake. We had the terrace all to ourselves for some time until a few other couples came up to watch the sunset.

Location of the hotel is excellent - at the heart of the Bellagio shoreline. One of the ferry terminals is just across the street from the hotel. Overall found the room rate a bit high but quite honestly I’m not sure there are any good yet inexpensive accommodations in Bellagio. Check in and check out was seamless and staff were very friendly. Wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again on our next visit to Bellagio.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hotel over looking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

my lasting memory of eating here was the amount of times the waiter thank us for coming.
Must say that the meal was average but the wines selected by the waiter were excellent
but thank you for coming rings in my ears

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Address: Piazza Mazzini 32, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lac 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Lac in Bellagio Italy is a charming small hotel. On lake-shore 30 miles from Como and 60 miles from Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Bellagio
Hotel Du Lac Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.