We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware Room #9” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Lac

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Lac to your Saves list
Hotel du Lac
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza Mazzini 32, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beware Room #9”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Went to Bellagio for our honeymoon and stayed at Hotel Du Lac for 3 nights. Would not agree with other reviews about the service.. we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. They also speak English well. The hotel is in a great location, you step off the ferry and right through the front door. Breakfast was included and had lots of great choices. Additionally, the view from the breakfast tables were scenic. The only complaint we have about the hotel is the size and location of the room. We were unable to get a lake view, and the room was so tiny we literally had to rearrange the furniture so we could walk around. Also, we were next to a stairwell, and the heavy metal door continually slammed throughout the day which was very disturbing. We visited in late June and found this town to cater to older couples. Not sure what the other towns around Lake Como are like, but do not expect a lot of nightlife. Overall, a nice place and a good choice for our honeymoon.

Room Tip: Ask to not be in room 9. Get a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarahej97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel Du Lac and had a very enjoyable stay. Staff were very helpful and friendly.Breakfast which was included was help yourself with plenty of choice.
Room was light and clean with a partial view of the lake, but having breakfast on the balcony overlooking the lake made up for this. Air conditioning worked well and the bathroom was modern and clean. Everything worked !
Hotel is in a great location opposite the Ferry terminal.
Bellagio we found was the best place out of all the towns we visited.Eating out is reasonable priced and plenty of choice. You need to be fit to climb the many steps around the Town. Would recommend the hydrofoil down to Como and a trip up the mountain on the Funicular railway. Also Villa Melzi in Bellagio and a trip over the water to Villa Carlotta , Tremezzo. Although Lake Como is spectacularly beautiful, some of the town/villages we visited seemed to be lacking in things to see or do. Some shops are very expensive and their products are not for the ordinary tourist.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breaklikethewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The hotel has a great location on the lakefront right across from the ferry dock. Our room was a little worn around the edges, and the bed was the hardest I've ever slept on!
A real problem was the tub-shower. It was impossible to take a shower without water flooding the bathroom floor. The room was very spacious. A nice plus was that M-F the bar on the lakefront had a two-for-one special during happy hour.

Room Tip: We were in front on the second floor, one floor above the breakfast room. This was a plus, since the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thanx4help
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
martinsville, nj
Level Contributor
169 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Nice hotel with a great location in Bellagio. Great view of Lake from rooftop terrace. The rooms that were advertized as lake view, were situated on the side so the view was only oblique. Our room was very spacious.The view was OK, but not as nice as I thought it would be. Good location right in the center of town.It is next to ferries. Hotel parking has a fee and is several blocks from totel. Also spaces are too small for a van. There is actually free parking on some side streets nearthe hotel. Good restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertmaster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This hotel was location, location, location. Breakfast was included and it had a great variety of food to pick from. The room service was great and front desk very helpful and polite. Very close to shopping and excursion on the lake.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mannafestfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Hotel Du Lac Bellagio. Our room overlooked the lake and was plain but comfortable, bright and spacious. We found the staff to be helpful. Breakfast was satisfying and plentiful in the breakfast room which has a view of the lake and mountains. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this Hotel to other travellers.

Room Tip: Lake view room is a must. I the weather is cool, it is nice to have the afternoon sun stream into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IMcV_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
205 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Step off the ferry straight into reception and watch the world go by and boats come and go over breakfast, lunch and dinner.
The location is what really makes this hotel. Fantastic central location wihtin Bellagio but also within the central area of Lake Como. Lots of ferry links by passenger and car ferries mean that you can get anywhere and everywhere and don't really need a car.
Service at hotel and its linked restaurant is very friendly (if sometimes a little slow). We had a number of meals and drinks in addition to breakfast and all were good. 10% discount on measl for residents and can also use the Lido (about 600m) which is owned by the hotel.
Our room was a little old fashioned but very clean and shower was good. We overlooked a side alley rather than the lake but this meant that it was very quiet and there are lots of places (roof terrace, breakfast room and terrace) for people and lake watching.

Room Tip: Book well ahead if you want a lake view. We didn't but room adjacent to small alleyway was nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonKaytee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#5 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
1.4 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
2.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 631 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Lac

Address: Piazza Mazzini 32, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Lac in Bellagio Italy is a charming small hotel. On lake-shore 30 miles from Como and 60 miles from Milan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Lac Bellagio
Hotel Du Lac Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing