We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we love the Serbelloni” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 hotels in Bellagio
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“we love the Serbelloni”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This summer we had our 3rd year stay at the Serbelloni.
We really adore the hotel. We are convinced that it has the best location -by far- on the lake.
Love the atmosphere, the great breakfast-room, the beach, the gardens etc,etc.
Some slight remarks:

-the terrace of the Goletta hotels get's very hot in the afternoon. Probably because it's very enclosed position, it get's no wind and fresh air. For us it meant that we did'nt want to have lunch there anymore, it was simply to hot for us. We really think the hotel should try to make this better, as we really liked to have lunch their!

-the much higher prices this summer at the Mistral Restaurant surprised us in a bad way. E.g. the nitrogen desert went from 20 euro to 25 euro....That's steep!

-We would like an easier access to the gardens from the hotel. We think the way along the swimmingpool is a bit cumbersome and thus a bit dissapointing. For us, It does'nt feel right, it does'nt do the villa's history justice.
Would'nt it be possible to have a door on the northern side of the central hallway, and from there use the grand outdoor historic stairway? It really would be lovely!

But anyway: We'll be back!

Room Tip: A lake view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback about your recent stay.
I’m sorry to hear you could not fully enjoy the Goletta Restaurant, having stayed with us in August, in the hottest weather, on some days this might have been an issue for some of our clients.
The ice cream with liquid nitrogen is something unique, the cream is frozen at the table in front of the clients for a personalized experience and is served in a Michelin starred restaurant. It can’t be priced as a regular dessert.
For the safety of our clients we prefer not to leave unattended doors unlocked. Next time you may ask our Concierge to open one of the doors for you.
In any case, your comments have been taken into great consideration.
I look forward to seeing you soon in Bellagio.
Arrivederci !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    92
    43
    23
    20
See reviews for
72
181
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this wonderful hotel for 12 nights. We love the rooms the staff and the position on Lake Como. We dined in the one star Michelin restaurant only once but fell in love with the new restaurant (and reasonably priced) La Goletta. The best rooms face the lake and some have a balcony (small but adequate). The concierge , Luciano, is one of the finest that I ahve ever met. Most definitely recommend this hotel over Ville d'Este which is on the wrong side of the lake and overly stuffy.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies that we have stayed in 133, 154, 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and positive feedback.
I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed both the location, restaurants and service.
I have shared your comments with Luciano, our Concierge and former actor in the movie “Bobby Deerfield“ with Al Pacino, filmed in 1977 at Villa Serbelloni.
Arrivederci!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had been travelling for four weeks through Spain & Italy, and Bellagio was the last stop & a four night stay, designed as total rest & recreation, no further 'retail therapy' needed (though a side trip into Como turned out to be a worthwhile top off).
The Grand Villa Serbelloni is magnificent and well deserving of its Five Star status and historic reputation. We were spoiling ourselves and we came to the right place. The website said "From April to November the salons and the large lakeside garden offer guests the chance to enjoy a holiday far from the madding crowd and close to nature immersed in one of the most beautiful panoramas in the world."...and that was exactly what we wanted at this point and that was Exactly what we got.
Bellagio is a beautiful village, the lake is magnificent, the vistas & the Villa are exceptional.
Starting each day with a wonderful breakfast in a splendid palace like salon, we took short trips (none more than 20mins) by ferry to Lenno, Villa Balbienello and Varenna (a standout) and the Hydrofoil to Como..all from the wharf 50metres from the Villa, all very pleasant, convenient & fun. Front desk staff were friendly & helpful. It was a delight to return to the Villa, assume the horizontal position on a sun lounge poolside and soak up the afternoon sun with a cool beverage provided by the helpful staff, then retire to our room, change and return to the terrace bar for sundowners and accompaniment from the pianist before making a choice for dinner. We dined in the village (having had our fill of Michelin starred restaurants) & we'd return to the lounge in the Villa and be entertained by the Trio with an accompanying nightcap..ahhh
Our room was large (approx 64m2/688sq ft) bright and airy. The bathroom had double basins, a great bath, separate shower, and separate toilet room.
The Gardens are wonderful and you really must walk right around the Villa grounds to get full appreciation of what a marvellous site this is and the care and attention taken with its heritage. I dare say we will return.. so much magnificent lake & lakeside still to see.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for sharing your emotions with TA readers.
Your description of the hotel services ( pool, bar service, live music, Restaurant, garden) and location (in the town center but away from the crowd and close to the public boat service) is very accurate and much appreciated.
We await you again for another “luxury stop”
Arrivederci !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Beautiful hotel, lovely rooms, great baths with separate shower, tub and toilet room. Friendly maids who did an excellent job. The restaurant staff in the evenings was understaffed but our waiter was very pleasant and kind. He needed skates! Check your bills at the bar and front desk if you buy stamps or order drinks. Make sure the count is correct. The food was very good. The front desk was not very friendly..I gave up trying to get a hello or smile as I walked by. So if you want a clean nice room and don't expect 5 star smiles, I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: We had one looking over the lake..beautiful...only a view from the window, no balcony. I don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your overall positive feedback on rooms, food and service.
I have passed on your note about the smile to our front office staff.
On your next visit they will do better !!
Thank you for your recommendation and arrivederci !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosby, Liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was our second visit to GH Villa Serbelloni, and it was as good as the previous year. Everything was immaculate and the staff treated guests with the utmost courtesy, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was a feast, with something to suit all tastes, and the dining room décor was just stunning. Evenings in the lounge with the trio playing classical and dance music just took you back to another era. Bellagio itself is a beautiful village with cobbled, stepped streets, lots of excellent restaurants and pretty shops selling quality goods, silk and leather. There are many lovely villas to visit around Lake Como and the boat services are excellent. We would definitely return to Bellagio and to this hotel if we had the opportunity.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Madam,
Thank you for your second visit to Villa Serbelloni and for the words of appreciation for the staff, breakfast, live evening trio and the hotel in general. Thank you for reminding the readers of Bellagio excellent location and for the many shops, cafes and restaurant all at arm’s length from the Hotel.
See you soon in Bellagio for a third visit
Arrivederci !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful setting etc but make sure you check if there is a wedding or private party booked for when you are planning to stay. We were 'treated' to obnoxious loud and terrible music which started late on a Sunday night. As were half of Bellagio. Not good for first impressions or jetlag. Front staff were not helpful merely saying private parties can do what they wish. Great if its your party, not so much if a restful night is what you want. Not. Impressed.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
I apologize for the inconvenience about the music if in any way this has have caused you any sort of inconvenience. We do have rules for parties and music can only play until midnight. And they did stop at midnight sharp.
On the other hand the hotel is a small community where guests should understand those special moments of happiness in everyone’s life.
Please join me in wishing the newlyweds a lot of happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

A gorgous hotel, beautiful murals on ceilings,breakfast was wonderful,the scenery from our room was stunning, The town itself is quaint,plenty of shops and restaurants, a truly wonderful, beautiful place,I have been twice and would defiantly go back, the views ate absolutly breathtaking

Room Tip: Ask for lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Tracey,
Thank you for sharing with us your memories about our property, location and services.
I look forward to seeing you for a third visit
Arrivederci!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Address: Via Roma 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bellagio
#5 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni is one of the oldest and most elegant hotels in the Lake Como area and the only 5 star de-luxe hotel in Bellagio. From April to November the salons and the large lakeside garden offer guests the chance to enjoy a holiday far from the madding crowd and close to nature immersed in one of the most beautiful panoramas in the world.Lovers of peace and quiet can alternate the pleasure of a poolside drink with beauty treatments and programmers at Villa Serbelloni SPA, the hotel's own beauty farm. Or they can set off from the private dock for a motorboat trip to the historic gardens along the lake which, in Springtime, attract tourists from all over the world: especially for the wonderful flowering of the azaleas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Serbelloni
Grand Hotel Bellagio
Villa Serbelloni
Grand Serbelloni Hotel
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.