We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
Bristow, VA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were fortunate to stay 3 nights last week at GH Villa Serbelloni. What a spectacular setting and comfort and enjoyment to match. First of all, we asked about the price to upgrade to a lakeview room, and the lovely woman at reception gave one to us at no additional cost. We were thrilled and loved looking out at the lake day and night time. The room was very comfortable, the beds were great and that pretty floral duvet was so cozy. The bathroom was beautiful with separate tub and shower and separate water closet. There was twice a day towel service and there was turndown service with the nice linen cloth at the bedside for your feet. Each time we met any member of the hotel staff they said "Buon Giorno" with a smile!

The concierges were so helpful and friendly. My curling iron had burned out in Milan and I asked where I could find a store to purchase one. The concierge got on the phone and called several places and offered to get one for me in his village outside of Bellagio when he got off work that day. Every time we went by the desk we were greeted by all the staff. The breakfast was delicious and the same service applied to the dining room staff. They shook hands with us when we left the room on our first day, and by the third day, we felt they were our friends.

The lounge is a magnificent and comfortable room, and we could just sit there, look at the views or visit with friends. Every evening there is a 3 piece ensemble who played delightful light classical and easy listening music and it was a pleasure to be there.

We enjoyed every minute of our visit to the GH Villa Serbelloni and we love to visit again!

Room Tip: Room 202 is convenient to elevator and stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your post.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you are keeping fond memories of property and staff service.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
I hope to see you soon again
Arrivederci!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    106
    46
    24
    20
See reviews for
80
214
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a lovely, luxurious, old school hotel in an ideal location in Bellagio. The service is friendly & attentive. We were upgraded to a spacious Junior Suite with excellent views. The room decor could use updating. (It looks either unfinished or that they took half the furnishings to put in other rooms). I would definitely expect better beds (twins shoved together) & showers (had to duck) in this price category.

The pool/beach is a real treat... amazing views. In addition, there are lovely gardens. Breakfast (included in some rates) is a nice continental buffet in a palatial & lovely room.

We didn't go with kids, but it seemed relatively kid friendly. In addition to the outdoor pool, there is a heated indoor pool with mini waterslide. There is also a small playground in the most gorgeous location I have ever seen for a playground. (no baby swings though) If my kids were with me, I definitely would have been out there with them enjoying a glass of prosecco!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your post and for the comments on the location and services.
When staying at the Hotel breakfast is always included and yes, we are children friendly.
I hope to see you this summer with the rest of the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Definitely a place to visit, even if you're not staying. Plenty of old school charm, but hotel still looks up to date. Dining rooms are nicely decorated & have murals on the ceilings. Truly awe inspiring.

As our car pulled up (arranged by the hotel), we were greeted by name by the concierge. Truly personalised & warm. A waiter brought us a half bottle of sparkling wine & strawberries upon check in. Nice touch.

Our lake view room was a little small but still very acceptable. Furniture is old & rustic but very clean, very suited to the hotel. Bathroom is nice & modern with separate shower & bath. Shower is again a little small; I suppose bigger sized people can use the bath tub. The only 2 gripes I have are that the double bed was actually 2 single beds pushed together, and wifi costs 7 Euros per device (per day I think). Really, for a property of this calibre, they should just bump up the price another 10 or 20 Euros & include wifi. At 412 Euros for our room, a couple of buck more wouldn't matter. Wifi reception was fair in the room, but in other places you can get disconnected. I suppose this isn't a place for the business traveler, so this shouldn't matter at all.

We had dinner at Mistral, their one Michelin star restaurant. Service is fantastic! Food quite decent (pricey too, as you'd expect, but one who dines here wouldn't complain). We spent over 300 Euros for 2 including a cheap bottle of wine.

Hotel has indoor & outdoor pools, nice gardens and is in the heart of Bellagio town (I think). Everything is within walking distance. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer; we only spent a night here after 2 nights in Villa Principe Leopoldo in Lugano. Had we known what was waiting for us in Villa Serbelloni (and the terrible service in Villa Principe Leopoldo, a hotel of equal calibre & pricier), we would have spent all 3 nights in Bellagio instead.

We will definitely return!!!

Room Tip: Pay for a lake view room if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your post and for your positive comments about the service, restaurant and property.
Our Hotel opened back in 1873 and we are trying to preserve, for what is possible the old world charm.
As you say the bathrooms are modern with separate shower and the showers we use are the standard cm 90x90 which fit all the regular size people. Not all of our clients travel as a couple therefore rooms are equipped either with twin beds or king size beds, hence the need to push beds together.
Wifi antennas are positioned a bit everywhere. To improve the service more antennas are being added as needed.
I will pass on your comment about the service to our restaurant manager.
I look forward to seeing you soon in Bellagio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Yes it is expensive but a wonderful experience. We stayed for three nights as part of an organised tour, so cannot comment on room prices (save that we paid to upgrade to a room with a lakeside view and were not disappointed).
Yes the rooms have "old" furniture in them - but what on earth is wrong with that? Our bedroom was huge, with a comfortable sofa and chair and wonderful views - despite the rain! The bed itself was most comfortable and we slept like a log in between pure linen sheets, not something at all common these days. We were not charged extra for morning coffee in bed. When perusing the bill I pointed out this and am not sure whether it was not chargeable per se, or whether they exercised a discretion not to rectify the omission.

The surroundings are sumptuous, prices on the high side - especially in the bar, or for laundry, or if you eat in the ** Michelin restaurant with its "molecular cuisine". But we ate reasonably enough in the bistro downstairs on the menu du jour.

I don't like hotels charging for wi fi. They did here, but it was only 7 Euros for the length of the stay.

I don't understand comments about the surliness or lack of help from the staff - of whom there are legion. They were without exception happy, courteous and good at what they did.

So - one of the great old hotels doing the traditional things well. As long as you expect that you should be very happy here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for describing so well the logic of this historical hotel.
We do not pretend to be a design Hotel or a modern hotel. We are a traditional hotel with our own history and, fortunately, we still have a great number a people who appreciate history and art associated with the hotel good food and service.
Hope to see you soon in Bellagio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus, ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at GHVS in mid april. We had a great experience. The hotel is older and very "grand", making it very charming. We had a lake view room with a small balcony where we sat to watch the sun go down over the mountains across the lake. The room was huge and beautiful, seemed to be recently redone. Breakfast was very good and served in a beautiful ballroom, a great way to start the day. The staff was very helpful. We overslept the first morning and were too late take the public water taxi (2 minutes from the hotel) to make our reservation for a tour at a Villa. The staff went into action, calling the Villa to explain our situation, then making several calls until they could find a private water taxi for us. Location in Bellagio is great, we were able to visit many towns around the lake and walk to all the sights in Bellagio. Late afternoon drinks on the terrace were expensive, but came with great snacks and a view that is beyond words. If you are lucky enough to visit Bellagio, a stay at GHVS is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for visiting our property in April.
I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed both the Hotel and the services of our Concierge.
Thank you for recommending our Hotel.
Arrivederci !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed at. Amazing find-de-siècle decors. Phantastic breakfast buffet in the ballroom. Phantastic location right at lake Como. Excellent restaurant. Hotels can hardly get any better.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in a great area in the Lake Como region of bellagio. There was excellent shopping, restaurants and apertivo within walking distance. The hotel staff was amazing, but the concierge was one of the best I have dealt with.

The hotel can use some updating, but not too much or it will lose its charm! The rooms are a reasonable size and the bathrooms were large and very clean/new.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghvs, Manager at Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for your post.
Bellagio is a small town but with a lot to offer as far as shopping, restaurants and coffee shops is concerned, and all of this at arm’s length from the hotel.
I will pass your comments on to our Concierge team.
Arrivederci !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni

Address: Via Roma 1, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bellagio
#4 Family Hotel in Bellagio
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni is one of the oldest and most elegant hotels in the Lake Como area and the only 5 star de-luxe hotel in Bellagio. From April to November the salons and the large lakeside garden offer guests the chance to enjoy a holiday far from the madding crowd and close to nature immersed in one of the most beautiful panoramas in the world.Lovers of peace and quiet can alternate the pleasure of a poolside drink with beauty treatments and programmers at Villa Serbelloni SPA, the hotel's own beauty farm. Or they can set off from the private dock for a motorboat trip to the historic gardens along the lake which, in Springtime, attract tourists from all over the world: especially for the wonderful flowering of the azaleas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Escapio, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Serbelloni
Grand Hotel Bellagio
Villa Serbelloni
Grand Serbelloni Hotel
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.