We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food with a View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Baita Belvedere

Trattoria Baita Belvedere
Chevrio di Bellagio, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
+39 031 964773
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 62 restaurants in Bellagio
Price range: $34 - $48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Il nostro locale, arredato in stile di montagna, si presta a pranzi, cene di lavoro, romantiche ricorrenze in famiglia e piccole cerimonie, accopagnati da una vista impagabile di rara bellezzaI nostri piatti Formaggi e Salumi NostraniPolenta unta - Toc - Pizzoccheri - Cinghiale Cazzola - Missoltini - Miascia - Frutti di Boscola nostra azienda agricola di antica tradizione con prodottitipici di nostra produzione
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food with a View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This restaurant is part of a working farm and all of their food originates from the farm. The food is basic, but the hosts are friendly and the view from their terrace is spectacular, overlooking the town of Bellagio and the lakes. The farm is at the very top of the hills overlooking the town. They will send a car to pick you up in town and drive you up--- that drive alone is an experience! Bring a sweater. It's a lot cooler at the top than at the bottom of town.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    64
    51
    13
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must do, both from a food and atmosphere point of view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Great views over bellagio and the lake. I would say even the best view from this part of the lake. Good local food with good prices and service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Keep it in the family.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

A memorable night it has been dining at this unique family run restaurant perched high above Bellagio. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience starting with the pick up service from the post office in Bellagio, to the spectacular views, the friendly/ entertaining staff to the delicious home style food. Certainly a worthwhile experience that I would recommend to others.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Mountain to table cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

High above Bellagio, just about everything this restaurant serves comes from its farm. The polenta appetizer is terrific, as was the wild boar ragout. The cooking is simple, and does not suffer from a lack of pretense. The views above Bellagio are outstanding, even on a rainy night. Worth the drive, but I believe they have a shuttle service. If you can take the shuttle, I would recommend doing so.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Views and not much else, place for tourists”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was hugely disappointed with this so-called trattoria. I think this place mainly attracts and caters to tourists who are out to see the views. The views are undeniably great but I've eaten in many trattorie and this place doesn't live up to the standards (or the reviews I've read on here) of what a good trattoria should be. I'm Italian, I've been raised on Italian food so I can say that with a certain degree of confidence. The main meat dishes are very small portions, and despite my cinghiale tasting good, there were literally three cubes of it on my plate. The 'verdure miste' which were included on the plate, were chopped up into tiny pieces (as if to go into a stir fry) and tasted worse than aeroplane food. They gave us a giant portion of tasteless polenta (also accompaniment on the same plate) which is exceptionally filling and I assume it's to take away from the fact that there is so little else on the plate. Very bland indeed and not what you would except from a place were the produce should be fresh and plentiful.

A proper trattoria gives you good wholesome portions of everything, doesn't count the number of cold meat cuts on a plate of antipasto, fresh seasonal vegetables from its farm. This place didn't deliver.

We were anticipating a little gem given the drive up, the fact that it's immersed in countryside and buried within the beautiful mountains above Bellagio but how utterly disappointing. There are far superior, smaller, family run trattorie and agriturismi in this area with far superior quality food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Baita Belvedere also viewed

 
Bellagio, Lake Como
Bellagio, Lake Como
 

Been to Trattoria Baita Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Baita Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.