We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views and not much else, place for tourists” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Baita Belvedere

Trattoria Baita Belvedere
Chevrio di Bellagio, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
+39 031 964773
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 62 Restaurants in Bellagio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $28 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Il nostro locale, arredato in stile di montagna, si presta a pranzi, cene di lavoro, romantiche ricorrenze in famiglia e piccole cerimonie, accopagnati da una vista impagabile di rara bellezzaI nostri piatti Formaggi e Salumi NostraniPolenta unta - Toc - Pizzoccheri - Cinghiale Cazzola - Missoltini - Miascia - Frutti di Boscola nostra azienda agricola di antica tradizione con prodottitipici di nostra produzione
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Views and not much else, place for tourists”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was hugely disappointed with this so-called trattoria. I think this place mainly attracts and caters to tourists who are out to see the views. The views are undeniably great but I've eaten in many trattorie and this place doesn't live up to the standards (or the reviews I've read on here) of what a good trattoria should be. I'm Italian, I've been raised on Italian food so I can say that with a certain degree of confidence. The main meat dishes are very small portions, and despite my cinghiale tasting good, there were literally three cubes of it on my plate. The 'verdure miste' which were included on the plate, were chopped up into tiny pieces (as if to go into a stir fry) and tasted worse than aeroplane food. They gave us a giant portion of tasteless polenta (also accompaniment on the same plate) which is exceptionally filling and I assume it's to take away from the fact that there is so little else on the plate. Very bland indeed and not what you would except from a place were the produce should be fresh and plentiful.

A proper trattoria gives you good wholesome portions of everything, doesn't count the number of cold meat cuts on a plate of antipasto, fresh seasonal vegetables from its farm. This place didn't deliver.

We were anticipating a little gem given the drive up, the fact that it's immersed in countryside and buried within the beautiful mountains above Bellagio but how utterly disappointing. There are far superior, smaller, family run trattorie and agriturismi in this area with far superior quality food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    70
    16
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseland, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a View!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

A family affair high above Bellagio. Inexpensive transportion from the Post Office in Bellagio by the owner.
A scenic ride to the restaurant. There is an outdoor terrace with outstanding views. We were lucky enough to have a clear day for our luncheon. There is also indoor seating with plenty of windows. The food was very good, the family extremely pleasant and the prices were reasonable. A great experience

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were with a group that hiked from Bellagio up to this restaurant. We were ready for a good lunch and we weren't disappointed. The brothers that run the restaurant had a cooking demonstration for us on the patio and then served us fresh cheeses, jelly and sparkling wine for the first course. We had 'Sunday' polenta, wild boar stew and fresh sausages. The views and the food were wonderful! The family patiently answered our questions about the food, their farm and the food preparation. The service was great. What a delightful way to spend the afternoon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The view is amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This family of cooks, servers and driver are so warm and welcoming. From the minute he picked us up at the Post Office, he made us feel like family. He pointed out the different interesting sites along the way to the restaurant and told us about the farm. When we arrived and walked down to the restaurant located on the edge of the mountain, the view just took our breath away. To tell you the truth, I didn't really care about the food. I just wanted to stare at the view and sip my wine. The food was average, service was good and overall was a very pleasant experience. When we were done eating and summoned the driver, he very graciously took us back to town. For some reason, I just can't see the people in the NY/Metropolitan area that I live in doing anything of the sort. Bless them!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I had the tasting menu for lunch today and it was exceptional and overly generous with fresh local food and many wonderful things I hadn't eaten before.The family were all friendly and there was a nice relaxed atmosphere. The view as reported is amazing and luckily today the weather was glorious which I am sure enhanced it. I got the restaurant's bus from Bellagio but many diners had walked there. Either way it is worth the effort. Suggest making a reservation which was done easily by email.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Baita Belvedere also viewed

 
Bellagio, Lake Como
Bellagio, Lake Como
 

Been to Trattoria Baita Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Baita Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.