We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, indifferent service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Motel Nautilus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Motel Nautilus to your Saves list
Hotel Motel Nautilus
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Lecco-Bellagio SS583 | Strada Lecco, 23826 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Bellagio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing location, indifferent service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Location: 9/10

Most ideallic isolated location with own private beach

Public places: 8/10

Very well maintained large wooded estate

Child friendly: 3/10

For children under 2, the very beautiful beach and gardens cannot be fully enjoyed because of the owner's dog who gets over excited and pounces playfully on the child if a pebble on the beach is moved

Food: 2/10

Breakfast is pre-packaged with nothing fresh although the owner did make an exception for us by bringing us fresh fruit on our last two mornings.

Restaurant cannot be relied on. Open some nights closed others with a menu with no prices and little available from it

Rooms: 5/10

Old but VERY clean with great views.

Overall: 4/10

Great place if you want a stop over for a night, a quick swim and have a car to access decent food. Service is not a top priority in this motel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Staying at Nautilus was truly like walking into a dream. The setting, the people, the food, the atmosphere... everything was glorious! The people, from hotel owner Dody to the other guests to Dody's boating pals, were friendly and kind. The lake was blissfully cool, clear, and open. The Alps were stunning, reaching down from all angles. The hotel itself was beyond charming; it felt like being on a beautiful boat. From kayaking through the water to running the beach with the big old dog who roams the grounds; from eating delicious pizza in the nearby town to staying up late and watching the moon rise over the mountains, staying here was the experience of a lifetime. Nautilus is indeed a very remote hotel, but one that is worth the distance. Beautiful!

Room Tip: I think third floor rooms have access to the balcony; almost all have spectacular views of the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
311 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We spent two nights at this hotel while exploring the Lake Como area. Joseph, the hotel owner, was a pleasure to deal with. He provided useful information for the area.
The hotel grounds include a beach area, with a large lawn area where we enjoyed a restful time on the loungers. We saw the small swiming pool, but early May is too early to open it up.
The hotel exterior was being painted during our stay. I'm sure the hotel and grounds area will look great after the renovations are done. The grounds area is post-rainy season condition and will look great soon I'm sure.
The room we were in had a beautiful view of Lake Como, towards the Bellagio area.
The narrow "highway" to Bellagio requires great caution when driving. The road is very narrow (barely two cars width) with some cars and motorcycles driving much too fast. We were almost hit by a motorcycle who came around a blind corner at high speeds (this road is viewed by some to be a raceway).
Regardless of the narrow "highway", it is very worth while visiting the beautiful town of Bellagio.
There is safe parking for your car. The WiFi only works in the Main Building area and did not work in our room.
We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

We are coming to Motel Nautilus for years. The idyllic location, the beautiful view, the charismatic owner,... There's nothing more we would need.
Breakfast is the Italian way, but honest. The rooms all have their own stories and the rest of hotel reveal new stories every time we come here.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Motel Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Motel Nautilus

Address: Lecco-Bellagio SS583 | Strada Lecco, 23826 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Motel Nautilus 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Motel Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Motel Nautilus Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Motel Nautilus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.