We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Grotta

La Grotta
Salita Cernaia, 14, Bellagio, Italy
031951152
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 62 Restaurants in Bellagio
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Phone +39.031.951.152 Salita Cernaia, 14 22021 Bellagio (Co) Phone +39.031.951.152 Salita Cernaia, 14 22021 Bellagio (Co) Phone +39.031.951.152
uk
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

La Grotta became our favorite place to eat during our week's holiday in August. Everywhere we ate, we were in the company of our fellow English or American tourists ( I am sure they felt the same way about us ), La Grotta, however was filled with Italians, the cooking was excellent, prices reasonable and the service friendly. We ended up eating here the last three nights of our holiday, the pasta with lake fish was exceptionally good, as was the huge veal chop, the pizzas that fellow diners ordered also looked very good. For a basic resonable priced Italian experiance in Bellagio, visit La Grotta.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    104
    35
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Give it a try - you'll love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We visited at lunchtime, it wasn't very busy, but grew in popularity as we ate.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the waitress made a suggestion to me of what to go for as I was spoiled for choice.

The pizzas are a little bigger than the normal in the area, but are every bit as good.

The base was perfect, nice fresh tomato sauce, and lovely ingredients on top.

Would go again - shame it's not a sensibly commutable distance from Chester!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Delicious food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We literally stumbled upon this restaurant and what a find. A number of us ordered the Risotto with Porcini Mushrooms - it was delicious and creamy and an substantial serve for only 8.50 Euro. Don't worry about the desserts though as they are all prepackaged. Worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, U.K.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have stayed in Bellagio every year for the past 15 years and La Grotta was most definitely our favourite restaurant for great Pizza ANYWHERE! Over the years (in our opinion) the standard of the pizzas has fluctuated a bit, but they've always been good to excellent. Last September we thought they were back on top form but regrettably this year we were slightly disappointed. We also thought that the place had lost a bit of its atmosphere - although busy it was 'flat'. Service was good, waitress friendly, but the 'owner' ? seemed a bit 'reserved'. We think it may have changed ownership since our last visit - waiters were different and perhaps more importantly the Pizza chef had changed

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Grotty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Compared to other restaurants nearby, like Far Out, La Grotta is average.

I was given a cold shoulder by a rude waitress when I got to the restaurant and that set the tone really. I think the waitress spoilt it for me. I didn't feel welcome, nor did I enjoy the pizza.

The atmosphere was funny and the bill was higher than I expected for the food. Didn't go back.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grotta also viewed

 
Bellagio, Lake Como
 

Been to La Grotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Grotta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.