We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Allegra

Save Saved
You added La Casa Allegra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa Allegra
Via Aureggio, 34, 20021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you're looking for an apartment near to the centre of Bellagio, in a quiet spot, and want really great views, then this is the place. The apartment is 10 minutes walk from the centre of Bellagio, slightly up a hill. It has 2 balconies and the views from one of these is just superb; the Lecco side of the lake in all its glory. The balcony is big enough to fit a table and a couple of chairs and have breakfast on to enjoy the views. The apartment itself is nice and spacious, has everything you'd need for a stay and is very clean. The owner, Anna Terruso, is a lovely lady and is keen for you to have a pleasant stay. The booking process is slightly odd, via Alessandro Sancassani, but works well enough and having used it, it's not a scam (such a shame that the suspicions of one person on this site have affected the property's overall grading). We really loved this place and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed in apartment from May 20th thru May 27th. If you look for real vacation you should stay in Casa Alegra. The apartment has everything you need to have breakfast, cook dinner, and entertain another 10 guests. We did not find better view around Bellagio and neiboughring towns then the one from the balcony of this apartment - it is simply fantastic! Anna, the owner, stays in the apartment on the ground floor and her suggestions for eating in Bellagio were simply exceptional -- be aware that you need to make reservatioons for the Fri-Sun ahead of time. The places recommended by Anna are not touristy, many locals go there. She is very lovely, intelligent person.BTW, she is the daughter of very famous italian painter Saverio Terruso. His wonderful works decorate the walls of the apartment and make the place very special. If you travel with the car you wouldn't have any problems parking near the apartment complex. It is 15 min easy walk to the center of the town. Great pizzeria, fruit store, and the bank are just around the corner. To reach the supermarket you need to have a car - 5 min driving. Anyway, there are a couple very good 'gastronomias' where you can buy prepared food and heat it up at home. We did it a few times. The apartment is so enjoyable that you may not want to go eat out all the time --you feel at home there. Anna speaks very good English and she is a great help. We both have problems with the lower back -- it is important that the bed upstairs is very good. The matrasses on the first floor of the apartmnent were not good for us, they are too hard and thin, however, it may be good for other people. Overall, we'll recommend this place to all our friends, and, will come back if ever in Bellagio.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed in this accommodation for 7 nights in August 2011. The apartment could not have been better! Anna was unbelievably helpful, but not at all intrusive. She even drove us to the supermarket and the beach so we didn't have to wait for the public transport! As for the apartment, it was in a perfect location - a short and lovely stroll to Bellagio centre and absolutely INCREDIBLE views over the lake. The apartment had everything we needed, very clean and very homely. We would recommend this place to everybody! Brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

I stayed here for 7 nights in August 2010 with my husband and 12-year-old son. Before we arrived I was a bit worried due to lack of TripAdvisor reviews (the apartment is new on the holiday rental market). I booked in early Spring by email to Mr Alessandro Sancassani, and he asked me to wire the deposit to an address in Milan. As soon as the money was received he sent me an email confirming the booking with the dates. We had to pay the balance on arrival. I note that a reviewer warns about a possible scam. We did not encounter any problems and Mr Sancassani always answered my emails promptly and gave me all the information I needed. I should add that I never asked for a written agreement once I sent the deposit since I got an email acknowledging receipt from Mr Sancassani.

The apartment is situated in a residential area, less than 10 minutes’ walk from the centre of Bellagio. It’s an uphill walk, but not too steep. It’s part of a complex of upscale apartment blocks. There’s no car park inside the complex, but it’s easy to get parking space in the free public car parks just outside. The owner, Mrs Boruso, lives in the same building and met us to hand over the keys and show us the flat, situated on the first floor. She was very friendly and helpful. The apartment is on two levels. Downstairs there’s a spacious living/dining room with a balcony and a fantastic view of the lake. There’s a table and chairs on the balcony and we had most of our meals here. At the other end of the living room is a kitchen corner equipped with a big American-type fridge, microwave oven, 4 burner gas-cooker and oven, and all necessary cooking utensils, dishes, crockery, cutlery, etc. (no dishwasher). There’s a small bedroom with a double bed where our son slept. There’s also a spacious bathroom with shower and loo. From the living room a spiral staircase leads upstairs to the main bedroom which is very spacious with a double bed, and two sofas which I believe can be converted into beds. Upstairs there is no bathroom or loo so one has to go downstairs for this. The apartment was very clean and pleasantly decorated, with lots of art. However, there is no air-conditioning. When we arrived there was a heat wave in Bellagio and the upstairs bedroom got quite hot as it was just under the roof. But there was a big fan which helped. It got cooler after a few days and we didn’t even need the fan.

The apartment is very conveniently located. The Bellagio Sporting Club (with a swimming pool, tennis courts and a fantastic restaurant) is less than 5 minutes’ walk from the apartment. There are also two supermarkets and a laundry nearby, as well as a very good pizzeria down the road. Bellagio itself is a beautiful village but rather quiet and deserted in the evenings. We enjoyed our stay at La Casa Allegra and would definitely choose the same apartment if we went back to Bellagio.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I contacted the "agent" about availability. Alessandro Sancassani replied that it was open for the desired dates and to wire 55 euros to another person at an address in Milan. This was not the amount of the deposit indicated in the listing. We requested a written agreement and one was emailed, but it had totally wrong dates. We requested a corrected agreement and we've heard nothing more, even after several attempts to contact him. There are at least 4 sites advertising this property, including a facebook page. Between all the sites, there are 3 different owners or contacts listed. There are multiple warnings on legitimate sites to be beware of owners requesting cashier checks, wire transfers, moneygram etc. as most legitimate owners accept a credit card or paypal. The place looks terrific, but it appears to be a scam.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lacasaallegra, Direttore at La Casa Allegra, responded to this review, November 16, 2010
Are Sancassani Alessandro, manager of the apartment reservation La Casa Allegra (and husband of owner Anna Terruso). I think we need to make some details about your review. The first request of availability was received on 27/07/2010 and generated an exchange of e-mail until 06/08/2010. During these communications have been sent all the information about the apartment, references and how to book.
06/08/2010 Unfortunately we left for 7 days off (we do them) and I lost your last email, which is why I have not responded.
Then I have not received any communication or telephone them your e-mail.
Finally, as already mentioned in email contact our apartment is on many sites advertising (homelidays.com, atraveo, home away etc. ..) made payable to ALL Alessandro Sancassani or Anna Maria Terruso.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Casa Allegra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Allegra

Address: Via Aureggio, 34, 20021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Specialty lodging in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa Allegra is an apartment in Bellagio with a wonderful view of Lake Como. This holiday home is located near the historical center of Bellagio, one of the most beautiful places in Italy. The ideal destination for your holiday in Italy.This cosy apartment on Como Lake is located in the hamlet of Aureggio, just 10 minutes walk or three minutes drive from the historical centre of this small town.The apartment is lovely and bright, newly furnished and split on two levels: the ground floor has an open space area with living room, kitchen, twin bedroom and bathroom.The first floor is composed of a wide open space with one double bed and one single bed available to comfortably accommodate an extra guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Casa Allegra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Allegra Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa Allegra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.