We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Meal and Good Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Far Out

Far Out
Salita Mella, 4, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
39,031,951,743
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 62 restaurants in Bellagio
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Meal and Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My Wife is Coeliac so we chose to eat here one night on our stay, Although the restaurant was quiet there was still a lovely atmosphere.

The food was great for both of us. The Pasta was the best cooked I had during my stay in Italy.

Would definately recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    62
    48
    22
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Victoria BC Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“'Far Out' should be called 'Far Away', which is what you should stay!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The restaurant we had wanted to eat in while in Bellagio was closed, so we ate at 'Far Out'. We chose it because it was relatively empty and we wanted to get away from the throngs of tourists - that should have been our first clue. The food in Italy is usually excellent, but this restaurant is the exception to that rule. We ordered the special of the day for 15 euros - a Caprese salad with spaghetti Amatriciana. The salad consisted of a few slices of underripe tomatoes accompanied by two miniature rounds of bocconcini. The pasta was also a very small portion, and the sauce consisted of a bit of tomato sauce mixed with undercooked diced onion. If there was any bacon, I couldn't detect it. The house wine was allegedly Chianti, but tasted more like vinegar. The only positive aspects to the meal were the restaurant decor and the service, but the poor quality of the food vastly outweighed these.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Tried a couple of the items off the specials board and they were fantastic, especially the Gnocchi with zucchini and prawns - yum.
Service was also very friendly and fast.
Highly recommend.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pasta just like Nonna makes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you know what good home made pasta should taste like, this is the place to eat it at very reasonable prices. Far Out was recommended to us by a friend with an Italian mother - someone who knows her pasta - so we trusted her judgement and were not disappointed. My tagliatelle with veal meatballs in fresh tomato sauce was even better than my Italian mother-in-law used to make! And at 9 euros it must be the cheapest bowl of pasta in Bellagio. My husband's spaghetti marinara was just as good and the local white wine that the owner recommended was excellent. Service was very good too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, gluten free options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Chose this restaurant as they offered gluten free pasta and a mixture of both Italian and American food. Overall enjoyed the meal, opted for gluten free spaghetti with meatballs (which was quite a treat to be able to eat pasta at a restaurant) and it was pretty good. Staff were friendly, atmosphere relaxed and was reasonably priced. They also had a decent wine menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Far Out also viewed

 
Bellagio, Lake Como
Bellagio, Lake Como
 
Bellagio, Lake Como

Been to Far Out? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Far Out, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.