We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local fish restaurant, a good find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ittiturismo Ristorante Mella

Ittiturismo Ristorante Mella
P.zza San Giovanni 6, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
+39 031 950205
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 62 restaurants in Bellagio
Price range: $34 - $54
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The two centuries years old "Mella" restaurant was taken over by Sala family in 1958. We introduced a new activity, on the Lake of Como, which offered a good link between professional lake fishing and cuisine. Today, Alessandro, a professional fisherman, keeps these traditions on :he catches fresh-water fish daily, then his wife Rosy proposes it in the menu. The union between our typical products and the beautiful view of the lake from the first floor of the restaurant, will offer you an unforgettable experience. Fishing tours and rooms are also available.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Local fish restaurant, a good find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We came across this restaurant after walking from bellagio and initially planning to try another restaurant. However we were very happy with our choice. There was a large family having a meal, and we were the only tourists. A good sign. The fish dishes were excellent, we enjoyed the smoked fish risotto for main course. The accompanying house wine was also a perfect match. Final positive was the very reasonable price.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    37
    54
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Family run authentic Italian Fish restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This restaurant was so well suited to our needs (informal affordable good quality) that we returned 2 nights later. Most mains are priced between 9 and 10 euros. We chose the fish of the day cooked with herbs, fillets of fish with lemon sauce (not an enormous serve but very tasty), pork in a pear sauce accompanied by grilled vegetables.

Not being familiar with local wine varieties we were surprised how well our choice teamed with the food (can't remember the name).

Service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very good local food -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Quite basic local restaurant- but fantastic first course (great fish pasta and fried fish with rice) and great lake fish main course). Very good value (much better food than Restaurant Silvio up the road).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Good local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We ate here on two evenings, as it was near our apartment. The food was very good, the service friendly and the meal was good value.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Try the fried perch with rice, and get the sorbetto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Delicious salads and secondi. My insalata verde with marinated (probably raw) lake fish is not for the faint of heart, but was tasty if you like that sort of thing. My secondo of lake fish in lemon sauce was delicious and mildly flavored. My husband's fried perch with rice was even better. I'd get that if I ever have the chance to return.

Make sure you finish your meal with their sorbetto. The evening we dined here, our server said we had the choice of "mela ... o mela!" (Apple, ... or apple!) Served in a champagne flute with a straw, it was amazingly fresh tasting and yummy.

The service was terrific. The place seemed to be filled mostly with locals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ittiturismo Ristorante Mella also viewed

Bellagio, Lake Como
Bellagio, Lake Como
 

Been to Ittiturismo Ristorante Mella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ittiturismo Ristorante Mella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.