We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, stunning views, good quality apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Le Terrazze

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Borgo Le Terrazze to your Saves list
Borgo Le Terrazze
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Via Panoramica, 3 | Vergonese, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Bellagio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice location, stunning views, good quality apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights at Borgo le Terraze over Easter (April 2010). The apartments are in a beautiful location in the very small village of Vergonese at the foot of the hills about 1.75 miles outside the main centre of Bellagio (not 2-3 miles as in other reviews!). The views of the lake and mountains are quite breathtaking. The apartments are new, clean and modern and have a tasteful contemporary style (ours was very White Company). The bathroom was also beautiful, fully tiled, big deep bath, 2 modern basins. Safe and internet facilities are free (cable only though, so bring one if you can - no WiFi). There's a small flatscreen TV but nothing much of interest on the channels list (BBC world news is about the only English language one). There was plenty of hot water at all times, although the complex wasn't very busy at this time of year. The room was cleaned every day but towels weren't always changed and under the bed was extremely dusty (obviously never cleaned). The swimming pool area also looks very nice and again has a spectacular view but was not getting much use in early April! Some of the rooms have a small kitchen area for self-catering and some (the ‘suites’) don’t, though they do have a fridge and kettle. When we booked it wasn’t clear what we were getting, so be careful to make sure (the ones with kitchen areas cost 10 Euros/night more). Breakfast is also 10 Euros/day if you want it.

If you're making your way by public transport there the simplest way to Borgo le Terraze is to get to the town of Como and take the C30 bus that starts at the San Giovanni train station (though it also stops outside the Nord Lago station on the way too - there are at least 4 train stations in Como), asking the driver to stop at Vergonese. You need to buy bus tickets in advance since the drivers won't take money - if you don't have a ticket the driver will probably make you stop at the first tobacconists en route and wait for you to buy one! It takes about an hour along the narrow twisting roads along the lake. Some great views along the route, but I’d left my stomach somewhere in Milan and the twisting motion of the bus through the hills wasn't doing me any favours at all. The complex is just 200m up a short uphill road back along the road from the bus stop and is signposted.

The complex is some way out of Bellagio and there are practically no amenities on the way there so everything you do is going to be at least a short trip away. There is nothing in Vergonese itself - on the way into town in the village of San Giovanni (about 800m away) there's a small grocery store, and a couple of bars. The hotel staff will happily shuttle you in and out of Bellagio on request until about 9pm and the drive is about 7 minutes. You are pretty restricted though if you don't have a car. The walk into Bellagio doesn't have a pavement for much of it, though we ended up doing it every day (about 40 minutes) and actually quite enjoyed it. The cars on the road are used to walkers along the route and it didn't feel particularly dangerous after the first 10 minutes. But the walk will definitely not be for everyone (uphill on the way back!) and is not to be attempted after dusk. Maybe the road is busier in Summer too.

Bellagio is a lovely town, quite quiet at this time of year but no doubt bustling in Summer. Ferries across the lake to various destinations are frequent. From the other towns we saw it looks like one of the more interesting ones in the area, with a bit more choice of restaurants etc. We’d definitely recommended Bellagaio and Borgo Le Terazze apartments, though for UK visitors it’s not particularly cheap with the pound weak against the euro.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    80
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
386
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
IL
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

The hotel is new and the facilities are great, good shower, very clean and staff is friendly.
The views are amazing from every room.
Breakfast is not inc. and cost 10 Euro (!?)
The hotel location is ~3 mile from old city.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We stayed in late Feb and while Bellagio was very quiet, the staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Fantastic views from the rooms, with balconies to appreciate the views. The rooms are tastefully decorated and very clean and comfortable. When I go back I will definitely be staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We were in Lake Como with parents in Sept 2009 and stumbled upon Borgo Le Terrazze by accident. The resort had not been open long so a few teething problems aside, it was a great 3-day stay. The resort is about a 10-min drive from the centre of Bellagio and the staff, who are very friendly and helpful, were willing to pick up / drop off as needed. The resort is located on a hill above the port of San Giovanni so the views are spectacular - and the pool, sun lounging area and patios are built with the view in mind. The buildings are tastefully decorated and our rooms were quiet, modern, spacious and clean. Both our rooms had big bathrooms, kitchenettes/eating areas and private patios. A basic breakfast is on offer with proper cappuccinos! The family who own and run this place are connected to the nearby Silvio's restaurant, and we'd recommend a dinner there one night. If you are in Bellagio, we all agree that this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Lovely apartment, a beautifully clean and decorated with fabulous views.
The apartment is advertised to sleep 6. It would sleep six, but accomodating six would be another matter. The dining table was only small, as are the balconies. There is only one sofa (the sofabed) and that would only seat a maximum squashed 4 in a row.
So, maybe only 4 should actually take this apartment.
The only negetive was it is a self catering apartment, but we were supplied with absoultely NOTHING!! Not even washing up liquid, or any cleaning materials of cloths to wipe the sink/surfaces! The dishwasher only had 1 tablet.
There is no toaster, no wine glasses and hardly any lighting in the kitchen area.
To improve all that would be needed would be a toaster, washing up liquid etc, wine glasses, basic larder ingredients such as slat, pepper, sugar.

We felt that they were very happy for us to pay the high price and even wanted us to buy all these things that we would no doubt leave in the apartment on our departure - a shame.
To access the internet you also had to hire the cable!!!!

Otherwise, a good apartment for 4 (advertised as Large Lake Views Apartment), good garaging, good location.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

The panorama of the hotel & rooms are amazing. Our room was on the corner with two sides view both of the lake, mountain and the town. Big, comfy, elegant room with a clean and large bathroom. Good heating. Good price. We were in love with this hotel and we plan to go back there. Amazing...

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

Lovely hotel, lovely rooms, excellent location, excellent rate!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bellagio
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
#1 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#7 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Serbelloni
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#1 of 8 in Tremezzina
5.0 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo Le Terrazze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Le Terrazze

Address: Via Panoramica, 3 | Vergonese, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Borgo Le Terrazze 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and Residence Borgo Le Terrazze is located in Bellagio, Lake Como, on a hill which faces the Lake. Landscape is beautiful and relaxing, all rooms and apartments enjoy charming views onto Lake Como. Privacy and a quiet atmosphere come first, outdoors infinity swimming pool, indoors garage, wi fi and shuttle service to and from downtown do help to make your stay here relaxing and far from the crowds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Borgo Le Terrazze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Le Terrazze Hotel Bellagio
Borgo Le Terrazze Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Le Terrazze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.