We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nearly felt like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Lory

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Lory to your Saves list
Casa Lory
Via al Crotto, 4, 22021 Bellagio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“nearly felt like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

stayed in casa lory in june 2014.

we stayed in with 3 people. the apartment could accomodate 4 people easily.
it is very nice and cozy and nearly felt like home. nothing missing from tabs for dish washer up to list with things to see and explore in the sorrounding area.
The owner was very nice and helpful.
the only problem inside the house was the seperated bed in the living room which was a little bit uncomfortable but we solved this problem by putting the matress on the floor instead of the folding bed.
the house is in a quite area behind a bigger road so typical italian traffic won't bother you.
the only problem with the location of the house is the mega tight road which leads to the parking lot nearby. with a bigger car you will be scared for scratches every time you pass by although it is big enough it doesnt look like! so take care and drive slow!
we had somebody walking infront and guiding me through it just to make sure nothing will happen. there is a "beachie" area within walking distance. also the town center is reachable by foot but be aware...you will have two choices....a) the Road...very bad to walk, lots of crazy traffic, with kids very dangerous!! b) the private garden villa melzi....where you will have to pay a couple of euros but its well spent! much safer to walk and you will get to see a stunning private garden where you can spent all day and just wander about! we bought a 2 days ticket to save a little money because we knew walk through the garden more then once since it convenient connection to the town center and casa lory.

all in all definetly recommend to stay in casa lory! you wont be disappointed for certain!

one of the most beautiful areas in the world i have seen till now!!!

Room Tip: if you go there with rental car dont go for the SUV better you make it italian style and show off wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed for 8 nights in the attic apartment, as a base for exploring Lake Como. The apartment was spotlessly clean and well-equiped, including a washing machine (which hadn't been mentioned in the ad), comfortable bed, etc. Exactly as the photos on the website show. And the owner was really friendly and helpful - even taking us up to the supermarket in his car on our first evening to get some essential supplies.

Location is lovely - we found San Giovanni much much quieter and more peaceful than Bellagio itself so great for sleeping and relaxing morning and evening walks. There is a great coffee and wine bar just 2 mins away in the village, as well as the restaurant. And a good playground a few mins walk away, by the square, so great for kids.

The only issue for us was that there isn't a footpath all the way to the town of Bellagio - which means you have to walk alongside a road in some places, which is quite narrow and has some very fast cars in places - not great for us with two young children (aged 3 and 5). It was possible to get the bus from the road just above the apartments, but these often didn't turn up so we could be waiting for 45 mins or so. We only discovered on our last day that that little sightseeing train runs from the square (by the playground) in San Giovanni to Bellagio and only charges 3 euro (not the full fair for the round trip) - so that was a good option if we'd realised. Not a problem if you had a car - and while the road into the street is quite narrow, it's perfectly drive-able and there's lots of good parking beside the house.

So we'd highly recommend this property as a good option if you have a car, or don't mind walking partly along a road for 5 mins to get into town, or are happy to get the little train. Certainly much better value than you would find in Bellagio itself, and close enough to be a 10-15 min walk at most.

Room Tip: The bottom apartment is vast - three huge bedrooms and two bathrooms. The 2nd floor apartments look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night in mid April, and we wish we could have stayed longer. You need at least a couple of days to really see Lake Como. We stayed in the attic apartment, so didn't have a view or a shower (although there was a bath). If you are staying longer, choose an apartment on the lower floors. Also, eat at the fish agriturismo restaurant near the church, the food is excellent.

Room Tip: The attic apartment has no view, and only a bath, not a shower. Downstairs apartments may be more co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Lovely and quite apartment with three bedrooms and two bathrooms. Perfect for a big family! Lot of space. Very well equipped. Friendly hostess. Nice private garden!
You need to walk 10 or 15 m. to Bellagio downtown.

Room Tip: The ground apartment is perfect for two families! Lovely private garden with barbecue facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Comfortable apartment with a few challenges for 4 adults over 60. Problems were no head room over single beds or bath. Shower handle cannot be used for stand up shower - dangerous for older people or immobile. Problem 2 the access road in is very narrow. We scratched our peugot 5008 even with side mirrors folded in!
Francesca left the key in the letter box for us -we were lucky that the guests in nearby apartment helped us out. Francesca came day 3 to take payment - unfortunately she forgot the toaster that we requested day 2.
We loved the family run restaurant within walking distance La Mella - we enjoyed wonderful fish meals and gelato. It is possible to walk to a nearby beach for a swim. We were in the attic apartment so our views were limited. We did use the ferry from San Giovanni nearby.
Supermarket is a drive our bus ride away.
A few minutes drive into Bellagio township.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments are probably better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We spent only three days in apartment Lea in Casa Lory of Bellagio, but we wish we had spent at least one week, although the weather wasn't good enough.
The apartment is laid on the ground floor with a private and wonderful garden, with lovely iron-made table and chairs, some sunchairs and a barbecue. It's large and comfortable enough for eight people, eco-friendly with all comforts you wish for a pleasant stay, like washing machine, dishwasher, free (but with weak signa ) wi-fi, a TV, inverter A/C in all rooms, large kitchen, enough crockeries for all. The only disadvantages had to do with the matresses, the poor decoration, and the low lights in kitchen. But i am sure that the owner will soon take care of these.
The surroundings were calm and you could see a glimpse of the lake from the garden.
As other reviewers have noticed, Via Al Crotto that leads to the house is very narrow, but if you are careful, everything will be ok, even with a wide car like Peugeot 407.
There was a lot of free parking around and a private garage (only 2 euros per day) which was leading directly to the house through a stair.
San Giovanni is a small fishing village with a few small shops and a mini market that has limited choices. But Bellagio is close enough, even if you don't want to pay the 6 euros to walk through Villa Melzi.
Bellagio is a very beautiful village with a lot of restaurants, cafes, hotels for every budget and it's a hub for exploring the magic lake.
But the real gem for us (and especially for me) was Varenna. It worths more like a simple visit.
Also we spent a fairy hour in Villa Balbianello and the gardens, and we admired the lake from the boats that travelling around it.
We will be glad if we 'll visit magic and unforgettable lake Como again, perhaps till the mid of August to avoid the afternoon shutters.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Friendly hostess, quiet location, spacious rooms, good facilities. The bed was very comfortable. The house is a little far from Bellagio and nearest supermarket. It is better to have a car.
Unfortunately there was no service at all. No one cleaned our apartment during seven days, there was no soap or shampoo provided. The bedsheets and towels were not changed once.
Does it mean that we should look for a place where to buy towels?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellagio hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
#1 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Silvio
Hotel Silvio
#9 of 17 in Bellagio
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
Hotel Il Perlo Panorama
#2 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
Hotel Metropole Bellagio
#4 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bellagio
Hotel Bellagio
#7 of 17 in Bellagio
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
#6 of 17 in Bellagio
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lory

Address: Via al Crotto, 4, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Bellagio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Bellagio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Lory, vacation rentals, is a private house with 5 apartments (from 2 until 8 people). open space and all comforts: free wi-fi, fully equipped kitchen, balcony, garden, free garage. Family friendly: all you need for children and infants! Dog welcome!we are 100 m from the lake and 1,7 km from historic centre town of Bellagio. very quiete position! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Lory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Lory Bellagio, Italy - Lake Como

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Lory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.