We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alle Darsene di loppia

Alle Darsene di loppia
Via Melzi d'Eril,1 | Frazione Loppia, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
+39 031952069
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 62 restaurants in Bellagio
Price range: $0 - $51
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Puslinch, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I ate at this restaurant this evening (May 11th). We walked from Bellagio - a little bit of a walk through a 200m section of a busy narrow road. Once through it we descended into the quiet village of Loppia where the restaurant has a lakeside location. You can eat inside or out. We in the beautiful outdoor seating beside the moored fishing boats.
We were greater by three friendly professional wait staff.
We were allowed to order or meal bit by bit to relax and enjoy the atmosphere.

We ordered:
- antipasti: cod and eggplant puri salad - fantastic - cod was warm
- primi - homemade pasta ( white and black) with mussels and clams shelled in a broth - fantastic
- secondi - my wife had lamb - roast, sliced, with a mustard parcely crust on a bead of roasted vegetables (potatoe, carrot and zucchini) - I had sliced roast pork on the bed of vegetables.
- wine we ordered by the glass included the Montepulciano red and a nice Chardonnay
- the restaurant treated us to a Brut sparkling wine to start; eggplant parmesan pâté drizzled with olive oil; excellent bread (above average); and desert plate to share - a sampler platter of delicious bite-size sweets.

The service was execellent - attentive - helpful - friendly - and timely when appropriate.

The bill was 88 euro.

This is likely the beat meal we have had in our two weeks in Italy - eating quite well in Rome, Amalfi, Tuscany, and Florence - certainly we have our favorite place in each city.

When you visit Bellagio my opinion is you should try this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    136
    52
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best Italian Dinner we had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We visited this restaurant on the recommendation of our hotel and were not disappointed. The walk from our hotel was definitely sketchy - in hindsight, we would have taken a cab, but it was well worth it. The meal was so decadent and delicious, yet we were surprised when we received our bill to discover how inexpensive it was. We ate out on the patio, and it was a fantastic experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gourmet Quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I recently spent 5 nights in Loppia which is across the Villa Melzi gardens from Bellagio (perhaps a half mile?) Having eaten here on a prior visit, I had a high expectation and was not disappointed. This is a gourmet type restaurant. I had a simple dish of lamb rump lightly rubbed with mustard and herbs. I started with a roasted octopus appetizer served over creamed fava beans. My son had a very delicious pasta with shellfish which was more like a stew. Service was attentive and professional.

On a separate occasion with a local friend, I was lucky enough to have a workingman's favorite of pasta tossed in olive oil with asparagus chunks and "spec'-bacon bits-with a glass of red. Wonderful!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“For that special lunch or dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Not your typical Italian cuisine here. You will be treated to a more refined menu but not much more expensive than other restaurants.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“You MUST try this place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Ate at this fabulous place last September as a special anniversary treat, and we were not disappointed! The food is simply to die for and the service is both attentive and friendly. Everything we had was absolutly beautiful, and my husband it still talking about the lamb dish he had, and how it was the best thing he had ever tasted! Its one of those places were you can take a risk and order something that may not be what you would usually select, as the Chef is so skilled that he will totally convert you! I chose a dish that contined sweetbreads (not something I have ever had before) - however it was simply divine, and looked so pretty on the plate it was a shame to eat it! The ambiance of the restaurant is really lovely - elegant and sophisticated, but not pretentious and stuffy. Its well worth the walk along from Bellagio - especially on a nice evening, and only takes 10-15 mins, but you may want to get a taxi back as there is not a pavement, and you will be full of delicious food and wine!! We have eaten extensively in a wide range of countires including Italy, especially in the Lake Como area, and this place is at the top of our list! Looking forward to our next visit and many many thanks to Nicoletta and her fabulous team for looking after us so well!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alle Darsene di loppia also viewed

 
Bellagio, Lake Como
 

Been to Alle Darsene di loppia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alle Darsene di loppia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.