We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great food, great people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria San Giacomo

Trattoria San Giacomo
Salita Serbelloni 45, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
031 950329
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 62 restaurants in Bellagio
Price range: $20 - $59
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value, great food, great people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We've been to Bellagio a number of times now and always pay a visit to Trattoria San Giacomo. The local, freshly prepared food is of the highest quality and is very good value for money. The owner, Aurelio, is very hospitable and will go out of his way to make sure you have an enjoyable time. If you're lucky enough to visit when they have fresh mushrooms ask Aurelio to make you a risotto funghi. You won't be disappointed!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    235
    166
    57
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“People lined up even before the restaurant opens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

You can smell this restaurant from down the street it's so good. We had the Fettuccine with ragu and fresh fish of the day. We ordered a salad that seemed like it was freshly picked from the garden.

There were about 20 people crowding around the front of the restaurant. In fact, they offer pillows so you can sit on the steps in comfort because the owners know people will wait 1-2 hours for this place. We were very lucky to get the last table for two. Here's what we did...we came to the restaurant around 6:40, twenty minutes before they opened.

It is at the top of a beautiful street. Coming a little early and watching the sun set on Bellagio was beautiful. You can order a glass of wine while you wait outside.

The setting was very warm and rustic. There were only about 3-4 tables outside. About 10-12 tables inside. So it gets packed quickly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Directly opposite Aperitivo et al at the top of the main cobbled-stepped street leading down to the front is Ristorante San Giacomo. Very reasonably priced and subsequently quote busy on our first night, we decided to give it a try the next. The food was ok, but nothing special. We had bresaola with rocket and Parmesan, followed by rump steak with vegetables for 2. The steak was flavoursome enough, but the 'vegetables' were a bit thin on the ground and over cooked... The waiter was very helpful when it came to recommending a digestif however. I had a Gewurtztraminer grappa, and my better half had a camomile grappa. They were probably the highlight of the meal though...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful casual restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

If you are looking for consistently good food at a great price, you must stop here. Run by Chef/Owner Aurelio Gandola, with lots of help from his mom, Margherita, you cannot help but feel like family here. Upon arriving here for the first of several meals here during my vacation, I asked Chef Aurelio what his restaurant was known for with the locals. "The mushrooms," was his answer. I then listened to a brief family history including origins of the restaurant and the special place mushrooms, both local and imported, played in the cuisine. So, of course, we had pasta prepared with the best of that week's selection, and we were thrilled with the selection. So we came back again and again and enjoyed it every time. Kudo's to Chef Aurelio. And again, many thanks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellagio, Italy
1 review
“Below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I don't even know where to start.... the title says it all, but i will try:
I ordered a salad with melon and ricotta cheese, the portion was extremely small and the flavor boring.
I followed with lamb which was dry and chewy with some sauteed veggies which were o.k.
Left the place hungry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria San Giacomo also viewed

 
Bellagio, Lake Como
Bellagio, Lake Como
 

Been to Trattoria San Giacomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria San Giacomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.