We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salice Blu

Salice Blu
Via per Lecco, 33, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
+39031950535
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 62 Restaurants in Bellagio
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pasta, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Chef Luigi invite you to Salice Blu Restaurant for Lunch and Dinner, during the Summer season it is possible to have lunch and dinner in the pergola terrace,the menu is 100% Italian and in the back of the restaurant if you like to see, we have an aromatic and vegetables garden, fresh fish from the lake and fresh pasta. Every day, to have a good table, it is good reserve and if you'd like, Chef Luigi, I do every day with reservation Private Cooking Lesson.
Western Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A fabulous find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We stumbled on Salice Blu (Blue Spruce) right as it was closing at 2 pm, the waiter glanced at the chef who motioned us in to eat. Seeing that Chef Luigi Gandola was more than a little accomplished, we let him choose our menu. We had a fabulous meal of pasta, trout and an artisanal dessert, with Luigi's choice of red wine and ultimately, his company at the table. He described how he prepared our meals, his herb garden, how the trout we ate was caught early that very day. What a treat to dine at this lovely restaurant with the personal attention of so outstanding a chef!

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    90
    30
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A treat to meet the chef.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Salice Blu was recommended by a friend otherwise, we would have never known about it. The chef, Luigi, was delightful and energetic and is actively looking to make a name for himself among celebrity chefs in Italy, and most likely the world. He's still young and while his ideas are good, be prepared to try to grasp where he is coming from...always from the heart, and always with an eye to the future.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Top 10 best meals - ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Its not everyday you get the owner/chef to pick you up at your hotel and bring you to his restaurant....then cook a masterpiece for you... from the service to the scrumptious food this was a top 10 dining experience. We were a party of 7 and everything was spot on, these guys didn't miss a beat. The food presentation was beyond anything you would find in a gourmet restaurant. Totally exceeded our expectations. Cheers to Luigi and his staff, bravo!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We visited this restaurant during a nice day of September. The place looks beautiful, with plants, candels and nice furnishings. All the dishes we had were good, but nothing to remember in such a particular way, considering the price. Service is a little "heavy". At the moment of paying, we were not asked if we were sarisfied or not. Simply average.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great dinner, thoughtful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

My husband and I arrived late at our hotel and were recommended this restaurant by them.

We were staying out of the centre of Bellagio and didn't have a car so the chef at the restaurant offered to pick us up and take us back to the hotel afterwards. It was so kind of them, we really appreciated it.

We arrived and there was only one other table in the restaurant (I guess as it was very late in the season and I was told people don't tend to eat late in Bellagio), but it didn't matter, it was still a nice atmosphere anyway.

The chef came out to describe to us the specials and a couple of dishes on the menu which was useful.

To start we had antipasti of river fish – pike perch, a fish pate, and I think trout cooked in reduced orange sauce – all really delicious. We were served bread alongside which I'm sorry to say tasted quite stale.

For main we had pasta with a truffle sauce and shavings of truffle, this again was delicious, my only criticism would be the shard of pasta in the bowl, I'm not sure if it was for decoration or to eat but the dish didn't need it, it was perfect on it's own.

We also had a lovely bottle of prosecco.

When we were ready to leave the waiter then took us back to our hotel, which was so kind. The service throughout was really attentive too.

Overall great food and service, a little on the pricey side, especially for the starter but we enjoyed it so it was worth it.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salice Blu also viewed

 

Been to Salice Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salice Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.