We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salice Blu

Salice Blu
Via per Lecco, 33, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
+39031950535
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #9 of 60 restaurants in Bellagio
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pasta, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Chef Luigi invite you to Salice Blu Restaurant for Lunch and Dinner, during the Summer season it is possible to have lunch and dinner in the pergola terrace,the menu is 100% Italian and in the back of the restaurant if you like to see, we have an aromatic and vegetables garden, fresh fish from the lake and fresh pasta. Every day, to have a good table, it is good reserve and if you'd like, Chef Luigi, I do every day with reservation Private Cooking Lesson.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Chef Luigi picked us up in town and shared the many special items with us when we arrived. Had to sit inside because weather was chilly. Not really a view anyway. The porcini mushroom was bigger than his hand. He made porcini carpaccio, stuffed zucchini flowers and wonderful pasta dishes. He was well versed in gluten free and able to accommodate my dietary needs. No meal in Italy is fast and we were entertained watching the food prepped in the open kitchen. We were racing to get the last boat out of a Bellagio back to Tremezzo and he ensured that we made it even though we really didn't want to leave. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 is because we had a few better meals in Italy and Italy has a very high bar. But the experience was wonderful and food was still delicious. Luigi was very entertaining and accommodating. Would like to attend his cooking class next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    269
    76
    21
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic meal, great chef!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We've been to Italy many times and this is one of the best meals we've had. It was an unexpected experience, starting with Chef Luigi picking us up at the hotel. My wife has food allergies, and Chef Luigi made sure he cooked everything to accommodate her as well as our friend's gluten allergy. He recommended the perfect wine and prepared an extraordinary meal. The homemade pasta was amazing!! He recommended a whole branzino, which was the best we've ever had, so fresh and tender. We loved everything and had a great dining experience. We'll go back to this restaurant every time we're in Bellagio. Don't miss it!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have used tripadvisor on numerous occasions and specifically while planning our 3 Week honeymoon in Italy, but this is my first ever review on the site. We took the cooking class, but I feel inclined to review the food as well. So far I have been underwhelmed by the food in Italy. It has all been good, but nothing was great. We have chosen the best restaurants and paid the price. And perhaps that's the problem. If you spend 200 dollars on a meal for two, you EXPECT something great. Salice Blue provided us with the first great meal we've had in Italy. It is a family restaurant with gourmet food. We spent time with Luigi the chef, his mother, and his Nonna (grandmother). There is a strong emphasis on local, natural ingredients and creating a great dining experience. I felt like part of the family and the whole experience was special. My wife and I have made gnocchi and pasta before this class, and found Luigi's tips very insightful. We're excited to bring back his recipes to try on our families at home. Luigi is extremely personable and we found his laugh and smile very infectious. Don't miss out on this gem. - Justin & Callie

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Expectations not met”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was recommended to Salice Blu in a very effusive fashion from the Belvedere Hotel. I was underwhelmed. The tempura was definitely not and the assorted seafood plate was sloppy and over cooked. Staff was way to short in number and what should have been a 90 minute experience turned out to be 3 hours

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Award Winning Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Luigi is the chef and owner of this restaurant. He has recently won an award (in Italy) and now hosts a weekly television cooking show. If you have time (and can get in) take one of his cooking courses (during the day 4 hours). Luigi does it all! He cooks, he takes all reservations and he will pick you up in the van (Don't try to walk from the lake).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salice Blu also viewed

 

Been to Salice Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salice Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.