We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salice Blu

Salice Blu
Via per Lecco, 33, 22021 Bellagio, Italy
+39031950535
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 62 Restaurants in Bellagio
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pasta, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Chef Luigi invite you to Salice Blu Restaurant for Lunch and Dinner, during the Summer season it is possible to have lunch and dinner in the pergola terrace,the menu is 100% Italian and in the back of the restaurant if you like to see, we have an aromatic and vegetables garden, fresh fish from the lake and fresh pasta. Every day, to have a good table, it is good reserve and if you'd like, Chef Luigi, I do every day with reservation Private Cooking Lesson.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband is celiac and we had heard great things about the gluten free options at Salice Blu. We were visiting Bellagio for our anniversary we wanted to eat somewhere special. When I emailed the restaurant to request a reservation I received a reply from Chef Luigi himself. He offered to pick us up the following evening at our hotel, which was a lovely surprise and very convenient. We decided to sit outside on the beautiful vine covered veranda and were soon brought a basket of warm, fresh gluten free bread that was some of the best we have tasted. We ordered the romantic "memories dinner" for 2 which consisted of a starter of polenta and potato ravioli filled with crayfish in a pumpkin sauce... fantastic ! This was followed by grilled pike-perch and vegetables cooked to perfection. The local fish was delicate and delicious. For dessert we both had the pistachio creme brulee which was nothing short of a work of art. An exceptional dinner which will indeed last long i our memories. Thank-you Luigi for such a wonderful dining experience and perfect evening. A little more than a regular night out but for a special night we highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    86
    27
    30
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St peter Port, Guernsey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quality food at a Quality restaurant run by a Quality Chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We recently spent a week in Bellagio in advance of our wedding, we chose the wedding location, wedding planner and wedding reception location.

The location for our reception was here at Salice Blu, we have been conversing with Luigi via Skype for several months now, he at all times has been attentive, caring, fun, and a joy to work with which really put our minds at ease.

Upon arrival in Bellagio we arranged to eat here on our first evening to meet Luigi and take along some of our guests who had come along for the wedding, we finalised plans with him and had a fantastic meal for 10 of us. Good attentive staff with smiles on their faces serving up some awesome creations, an absolutely lovely evening.

On the wedding day Luigi arranged for a few of his friends to collect us in the restaurant mini vans and delivered us to the restaurant, there was 40 of us eating a choice made from 2 starter, 2 main and 2 desert options. About 25 people went for the fillet steak in almonds and 15 or so went for the salt encrusted sea bass... WOW!!! to deliver these plates of food for that number of people and with such precision was just amazing, everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves and Luigi is one extraordinarily driven man, a delight to work with and our evening on the terrace at Salice Blu was just the icing on the cake of a perfect day. We cannot thank him enough, suffice to say we will be going back next year for our first anniversary.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
“Superb class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Take Luigi's class at Salice Blu above Lago di Como--- a very friendly teaching style, a combination of hands-on for the students and demonstration by the chef, lots and lots of explanation, a willingness to answer questions, all punctuated by his happy sense of humor moving us along to our finale: lunch on the terrace under the canopy of grapevines, enjoying the fruits of our labor! Today before the cooking began, we walked through his garden while Luigi explained the various herbs and fruits. Against the distant misty Alps, he picked yellow-gold zucchini blossoms-- they showed up later in the surprise starter he prepared.He had already collected porcini mushrooms the night before - they found their way into our risotto. A beautiful, pleasant day!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious, Unique and Welcoming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Go to Salice Blu, if you're anywhere near Bellagio. I took my boyfriend there as a surprise for our anniversary. I had based that decision on other people's reviews. I was absolutely not disappointed. The chef offered to pick us up, but we decided to drive as the restaurant was only a bit away from our apartment (we had originally wanted to walk, but a huge storm blew in). Because of the storm, we weren't able to sit out on the beautiful terrace, but the inside of the restaurant is also beautiful. Lovely ambience. Chef Luigi greeted us. The service is impeccable, especially by European standards. We were fortunate enough to eat quite a bit and every dish was fresh, unique and lovely. Every bite actually was a new flavor experience. The veal bolognese tagliatelle and desserts were particularly fabulous. We felt very welcome and comfortable and could not have asked for a better dining experience. Also, if you're looking for a romantic night out, this is definitely the place! I found that it was great value for money. We ate at some other restaurants in Bellagio, but nothing came near to quality and deliciousness of Salice Blue. Definitely put it at the top of your list and go prepared to eat!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cooking class with Chef Luigi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My daughter (age 13) and I took a cooking class with Chef Luigi in August 2013. What great fun! Chef Luigi is so friendly and funny - and talented in the kitchen of course. He was extremely responsive via email to organize the class (suggest you book ahead as the opening we got was weeks away). He picks you up in Bellagio himself and takes you to his restaurant (a little out of town and quite up hill - not walkable). After a coffee and cozy meet and greet with the rest of the class, and then a visit to his amazing garden (I'm so jealous...how does he grow so many things so beautifully!?!), you set on your way to the class. You'll cover quite a few recipes during the class (we did pasta, risotto, gnocchi, creme brule and a special italian cake) - the only downside is that it is not a very hands-on class. You only really make the pasta, and roll the gnocchi maybe and the rest is pretty much handled by Chef Luigi and his mom as you watch. They banter back and forth quite a bit - which is amusing :-) and his assistants are kind enough to serve you some prosecco as you watch. I would have liked it to be more hands-on but still thoroughly enjoyed the class altogether! We were a group of almost 20, but it wasnt cramped and actually it was lovely to meet people from all over.
We were lucky as during our meet and greet, Chef's truffle man arrived so we got a mini lesson is selecting the right truffle, etc...and he even gave us one as a parting gift! (along with the olive oil, cookbook and apron as well)!
A great experience...lots of fun...and the risottos I made afterwards are proof that his lessons are a success!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salice Blu also viewed

 

Been to Salice Blu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salice Blu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.