We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have a car, this is a great choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Il Ciliegio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added B&B Il Ciliegio to your Saves list
B&B Il Ciliegio
Via Crocefisso, 74, 24123 Bergamo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 151 Bergamo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“If you have a car, this is a great choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I stayed there 1 night only but it was perfect. The owner confirmed by email our arrival time to ensure he was going to be there. He received us very warmly and after showing us the room he sat with me to show me the map of the city and explain where to go, what to eat and he lend us the map and the guide of the city. Also he asked us for our preferred time for breakfast.
Breakfast was very good and very complete.
Room was very nice. Bathroom was outside the room but this was a plus because it was huge, which is very rare in European hotels.
Parking was very convenient and we got the remote control to open the gate to avoid having to wait.
Location is not the best as it is far from the center of Cittá Alta and very far from center of Bergamo, but if you have a car this is definitively the best option for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
40
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

This B&B has an excellent location, within walking distance from Alto-Bergamo, city centre and highway.
We had texted the owner to inform him of our time of arrival, and everything was taken care of. We were given the key to the gate (car parking behind security gate) and two Bergamo Trousit guides to use during the day. Our breakfast was very nice, and fresh made.
The room is very nice with a big bed and balcony. The bathroom was huge and everything was available.
The owner is eager to help out with anything, and is pleased to explain all things about Bergamo.
This place is on the top of my list to visit again, more value for money than a hotel!

Room Tip: Any room is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We recently spent 4 days at the Il Ciliegio B&B in Bergamo for my Wife’s Birthday. The warm welcome we received from both Filippo and his Wife Lara was delightful; Filippo even went as far as to pick us up from the Airport. Filippo’s local knowledge was second to none, knowing which bus routes to take when travelling around the town, and, the surrounding area. When we told Filippo that we were going to take the train to Lake Como he kindly provided us with hand written train times. There are local buses going into both the new town and the old town. (Number 3 was best for the old town) The accommodation is just out of the town in a lovely Green area, and, with only 3 rooms, it’s really quiet and peaceful, all with air conditioning (a must if travelling in July, as it was blazingly hot) The breakfast is substantial, consisting of breads, yoghurts, cheeses and meats, coffee and fruit juice, with cereals if required which sets you up nicely for the day. This really is a true little gem of a place to stay with 2 of the nicest people you could wish to meet as your hosts. We will go back one day for sure

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

This B&B was fantastic. The rooms are beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. My husband and I stayed in a room with an en-suite, both of which were large and roomy.
The breakfast each morning was lovely and timed to suit us. There was ample private parking enclosed behind electric gates. You can see the Citta Alta (the old town) from the villa's garden. All in all it was excellent value for money. We would like to thank Fillipo and Lara for a wonderful stay. Fillipo's knowledge of the surrounding area is very useful and he is an extremely helpful gentleman. The service we recieved was better than most 4*/5* hotels.

Dr E & Mrs T Khoshbin

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

The place was very clean and friendly, and Philippo is one of the best landlords we've ever met. Very helpful and he gave us all the information one can not even find in guidebooks. Breakfast was perfect, could not be better. Thank you Philippo, sorry for late review, we'll be back! Peter and Timea, Budapest

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We stayed here for one night prior to flying out of Milan Linate airport. Filippo was very helpful and friendly, giving us very good advice on a quick tour of the Citta Alta. The funicular ride to Castello San Vigilio was a great idea! The rooms were clean and basic with lovely antiques. We had 2 rooms and shared a large bathroom across the hall between us, but not with any other guests. Breakfast was as expected.

My only disappointment was the location - the photos give the appearance of being more rural. This location was largely suburban, and the B and B is one unit of a townhouse-like building. There was nothing wrong with it, just not what I expected.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2009

The B&B was just perfect for our needs. Our room on the top floor was very comfortable, clean and spacious and a great space for us and our 20 month old daughter.

Filippo was most helpful, greeting us warmly on our arrival and then giving us a map of Bergamo and lots or helpful information about what to see, where to go, what to eat etc. It was very useful as we only had one day in Bergamo and wanted to make the most of our time. Filippo gave very clear instructions as to how to get to the old town and it was not too far to walk (although my Husband complained about having to push the stroller up the steep hill - it was worth it though)

The breakfast provided was also fabulous, with plenty of food that was also very tasty. This B&B was a fabulous find, very well priced and I would certainly recommend it to anyone (as long as you don't mind a 20 -30 min walk to town).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Il Ciliegio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Il Ciliegio

Address: Via Crocefisso, 74, 24123 Bergamo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your B&B Il Ciliegio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Il Ciliegio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.