We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place with organic food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Irene

Sweet Irene
Via Sant'Orsola, 22/a, 24122 Bergamo, Italy
035217372
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 434 Restaurants in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: Organic, Coffee Shop, Healthy, Soups
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice place with organic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we had a nice apero at the outdoor tabels, good food for a good value. I would think this is more a lunch/drinks place instead of a dinner

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    117
    43
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My friend and I stopped here for refreshments during our time in Bergamo.
There was a 'special' offer of coffee + muffin for €3. We ordered two of these, but my companion prefers tea. So we had one tea, one coffee and two muffins. Total cost €9! The muffins were just average, a bit on the rubbery side.
The decor is quirky, with food and plates both sides of the counter, so not very hygienic. The menu prices were on the more expensive side.
I think that this cafe is overrated, but if I had the opportunity I would try it again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Dry cakes, expensive, nice atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Dry choclate banana cake and sub-par cheesecake and not that cheap made this visit rather disappointing since the reviews here suggest otherwise...

Nice, cute atmosphere thoug but definately not worth the money...

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice Cakes & Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Really nice cakes and coffee

Lunches looked good aswell

Good for a sit down

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“I will give it a 5 if I...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2007

I will give it a 5 if I just could go there more often!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Irene also viewed

Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
 
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
 

Been to Sweet Irene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Irene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.