We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grim- avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of San Giorgio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Giorgio to your Saves list
San Giorgio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Giorgio 10, 24122 Bergamo, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Bergamo
wicklow, ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“grim- avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

stayed here ( thankfully for only one night) recently. made 2 requests when booking- that the room be non smoking and in a quiet position. the former was acceded to, however we were so close to the train line i could comfortably observe passengers as they passed in the carraiges, that said however,the noise of the trains was drowned out by the incessant scream of high powered motorbikes dropping a gear as they prepared for the bend immediately outside the window, which had to be left open owing to the stifling heat.
san giorgio was chosen for convenience of location and low price, but to be honest any savings were negated by money spent on drinks and gelato as we desperately sought to avoid the inevitable return to our cell, sorry.sweatbox, sorry.room.:-)
staff were pleasant online and in person, and the manager recommended a fine restaurant approx 200m directly in front of the hotel- called, i think , borgo. this was modestly priced but lovely and was the only redeeming experience of our stay in the san giorgio- note,the lobby is not representative of the rest of the hotel which is shabby and badly in need of paint.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    26
    33
    11
    12
See reviews for
22
27
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a few night. Room is very but very simply and noisy from the road. Breakfast was good but not for the money what we spend for the room. I didnt like it much and im not sure if i want to come there once again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night with my family and parents. Hotel San Giorgio is situated in a good location near the railway station and public transport to Citta Alta (Old town). The staff was friendly and spoke several languages.
Hotel was basicly clean but stale and old fashioned. The wifi was working most of the time. The price was way too high for the level of accommodation. You can find better value for your money in Bergamo, but we did not have much choise as we needed a family room.The staff would hold your passport for ransom till you pay.
The breakfast was a real letdown. No vegetables or fruits of any kind, no fresh bread. Just dry wheat in various forms. Butter cheese, ham and eggs though. No real fruit in the juice. Coffee was OK.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at the San Giorgio between Wednesday 3rd April and Sunday 7th April. We were given rooms on ground floor level and the rooms were very spacious and clean. Bathrooms too were very spacious - much more than the usual bathrooms in Italian hotels. The Breakfast is served on the third floor and the ambience is very pleasant. Notwithstanding the cold weather, we were rather cosy. The selection is very good with a ham and cheeses available. It is not restricted solely to sweets and this is an added plus. Anita and Gualtiero are both very nice and helpful and did their best to welcome us to the hotel and make us feel at ease! Will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms which are not on the side of the railway station, though all windows are soundproof an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Small but elegant hotel, near to the center.
The stuff speaks english quite well, better than the other two hotels on my trip.
The room is clean and the bathroom is OK too, bigger than the average i think.
Unfortunately we couldn't have the breakfast there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights over the grand prix weekend. No complaints what-so-ever. Friendly staff, great location (5 mins walk to trains and bus) close to main shopping street with restaurants, bars etc.. 15 mins walk to the Funicular to the old town (highly recommend a visit)! Room wasn't massive but we were literally only in it to sleep and shower. Breakfast is basic, but for what we paid have no quarrels and the coffee was good. Much better to stay here than Milan. People are friendly, it's much more relaxed and the old town is stunning. Plus, you get better value for money in terms of accomodation. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Customer service and friendliness top quality. We didn't spend much time in the room, so it was sufficient, and affordable. The breakfast couldn't have been much better, especially considering that it was included with the price of the room. Special thank you to Julia, he made us feel at home.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Giorgio

Address: Via San Giorgio 10, 24122 Bergamo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 35 Hotels in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Giorgio 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel San Giorgio Bergamo is a recently restored eighteenth-century building. 29 Rooms tastefully furnished and equipped with private bathrooms, double glazing, telephone, TV, refrigerator, safe, hair dryer, air conditioning. The hotel has a breakfast room on the terrace overlooking the Bergamo high and a bar service in the lobby. Multilingual staff, daily newspapers, city maps, internet point and free wi-fi , lift, luggage storage and free outdoor parking. Located in the central area very close to  the station, it is easy to reach the airport of Orio al Serio just few minutes far from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your San Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Giorgio Bergamo
San Giorgio Hotel Bergamo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Giorgio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.