We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, hotel and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Valletta Relais

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added La Valletta Relais to your Saves list
La Valletta Relais
Via Castagneta, 19 | Citta' Alta, 24129 Bergamo, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Bergamo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, hotel and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I've had the pleasure of staying twice in this hotel during 2011. Mario and wife were very helpful even arranging a breakfast spread before 7am as I had to leave early. Situated within a 15 minute walk of the historical centre.Very clear large airy rooms. I can not recommend it highly enough only wish my next stay wasn't on business but as a holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    51
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
42
126
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Nice hotel with lovely views. Owners are very friendly and helpful. We had a suite with balcony, clean but small compaired to English hotels. No tea and coffee making facilities in the room and no hotel bar which was a shame - felt a bit more like a B&B.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Located on a hill overlooking the town & valley of Bergamo. This is a quite & cosy wonderful hotel managed by a charming couple.

Rooms nice & clean, big bathroom & free Internet wifi.

Breakfast buffet overall needs to be seriously looked into !

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed at La Valletta for five nights this October and had a wonderful time. It is only a 20 min walk from the old town but the beauty and tranquillity of the location fully warrants this. The room was generously large with good views. Mario and his staff were always friendly and very helpful. Breakfasts were fresh and varied. I would have no hesitation in staying again.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are generously large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Stayed for one night in August and we were delighted with La Valletta. Very comfortable, quiet and friendly - no restaurant but excellent bistro in walking distance and loads more in the old town if you go a bit further. A spacious room for a family and a splendid terrace from which to view the countryside with a glass in hand. Breakfast was generous - and the host and his wife were charming.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed at La Valletta Relais for 2 nights in May and we had a wonderful time. La Valletta Relais is a lovely old place and our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Our hosts were incredibly helpful with Mario giving us directions, lifts to and from the old city and advice about great places to eat. We cannot recommend La Valletta Relais too highly, Michael and Pauline

Room Tip: book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed for just one night on our way to mid Italy. The owners spoke very good English and were the most delightful, helpful people. Our bedroom and bathroom were huge, light, very well appointed with lovely views. The hotel owner offers a shuttle service into Bergamo old town but it is only a 20mins pleasant walk. The old town is lovely with plenty restaurants but quite small and very busy on Saturday night. We ate at a Trattatoria that the owner recommended only a few minutes from the hotel. Food was basic but good and well priced. Breakfast at the hotel was good.
I Think that this hotel was one of the nicest and certainly the most friendly in which I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Valletta Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Valletta Relais

Address: Via Castagneta, 19 | Citta' Alta, 24129 Bergamo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bergamo
#4 Family Hotel in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your La Valletta Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Valletta Relais Bergamo
La Valletta Relais Hotel Bergamo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Valletta Relais, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.