We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, simple room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Il Sole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Il Sole to your Saves list
Albergo Il Sole
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Bartolomeo Colleoni 1 | Piazza Vecchia, 24129 Bergamo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Bergamo
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, simple room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

I chose this hotel in Bergamo based on price and on a positive listing in one of my guidebooks. It is right on the corner of the Piazza Vecchia in the Citta Alta so I couldn’t have asked for a better location. The restaurant on the ground floor is also highly rated.

I was assigned a single room on the top level (Room #101) which was adequate but nothing great (the bathroom had all new fixtures, however). It had a king size bed so could be offered as a double, but it would be almost claustrophobic for two people. The weather in Bergamo was very warm and this little room had only one small window plus a table fan. The fan helped some but the room never cooled off, even at night. For the price I didn't expect air conditioning so that's not an implied criticism. I didn’t see any of the other rooms so I can’t judge whether the others were any larger or cooler, but I suspect that the ones on the same level (#102 and #103) were equally stifling in the hot weather. They might be fine in other seasons.

The hotel takes credit cards (not always the case) and the garden restaurant was delightful. A nice continental breakfast was included in the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
21
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
roscommon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

just great.....i can say no more....try to book for a table in the garden...great staff, great food, great value for money

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

Stayed for 3 nights over Easter, our 2nd stay having stayed here 5 years ago. Large room with no thrills but adequate. Best thing is the location as it is situated on the main square in the heart of the old town. The amount of time this saves when exploring Bergamo is well worth the price of the hotel.

Hotel restaurant is also very good. Lots of local specialities (rabbit with polenta and a local ravioli) and a great range that also includes pizzas. We did not try the breakfast as we enjoyed the local cafes instead

Only downside was the large rooms were quite echoey which meant we were disturbed several times by the early risers in the room above. I did not think the steps mentioned in the previous review were an issue.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Echoes
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights at this Hotel and were perhaps unfortunate with the location of the room. I knew that there was no lift,but did not expect to have to go up2 flights of stairs,down another and up another to get to our room ! We were simply handed the keys at reception and left to fathom iy out. Our room was clean but I did not like the fact that the wash basin was in the rom and not in the bathroom,which was very small. Ok,we managed for 2 nights but would not have wanted longer. Room was also very small and dark. Very clean,and toiletries provided. As it is in such a good location in the very centre of Citta Alta the price was reasonable.
We had one Dinner in the restaurant and I can really recommend this,it was extremely good.Breakfast was expensive and not so good,so we went to cafe on the Piazza for our second morning.
Staff were courteous and efficient but not over friendly. Best of all was a young chambermaid who saw me struggling with my case as we were leaving and immediateley took it from me and carried it down for me and did not even pause long enough for a tip !
Do not miss the Funicular Cafe, great viewsgood snacks and very friendly staff.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Wash basin in bedroom
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2007

This hotel is right in the centre of the old town in Bergamo and is fantastic value for the location. The rooms are plain and basic but the bed was large and very comfortable. Breakfast wasn't included in price but is served in the (very good) restaurant downstairs if you want it. We preferred to try some of the many bars in the old town for our breakfasts.
We will certainly go again as we love Bergamo: it is the perfect place for a long weekend.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No bath
  • Tips/Secrets — Vineria Cozzi is a lovely place to eat.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamerco, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2006

Hotel Sole was recommended by the tourist info office located just past the main square on the right in the Citta' Alta. The hotel is at the corner of the big square. I was travelling with my parents. Our room had beds to accomodate three, w/ armoires and reading lamps at the beds, a small dressing area, and a good size bathroom, with a large tub, which we rarely found in 3-4 Star hotels. I think we paid US$70, which was reasonable. With this you get to drive into the walled city and park about a short block away with parking pass. This initially seemed to be an issue but it was easy and the car was very safe.

The room was clean and the bathroom was also clean with big towels. Many of the towels we encountered in Italy were like large thick sheets that you can wrap around your body, as i saw another review complaining about the skimpy towels. I kinda liked this idea, especially for summer months. We didn't complain.

The best part of this hotel is the restaurant. We came down for dinner about 730pm, early by Italian standards, but after a day of travel and sightseeing it was time to sit and eat. The staff said, Eat here!. Very good suggestion. The restaurant had just a few tables seated when we arrived, was full when we left, and after a bit of a walk on the square we returned back to our room and found the restaurant AND the upstairs dining area/extra room packed with locals.
Our meals were great. The minesta was very simple and flavorful, very typical of northern italian food. My mum had the Pasta Pomodoro (tomato sauce). On first bite, she said, This is very good! The flavor was above/beyond the other pastas we ate along the way. We decided this dinner was one of our best meals in Italy. Granted, we're Italo-Americans, and mum is a great cook, so we know our food. They had a great dessert cart. The entire meal was elegant and very reasonable.

I give this hotel an A+ for the price and location, and the fact that it is a family run hotel. There is a lot to see in Bergamo Citta' Alta, but it can be done in a short day.

Please, someone find those Polenta pastries, seen in all the pastry shops, have a bite and email me and tell me what's inside. We saw them, planned to grab one after lunch out of total curiosity, then left town, never to see them again, and still very curious!
ciao!

  • Liked — room clean, great food
  • Disliked — steps
  • Tips/Secrets — eat here
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2005

My wife and mother in law very much liked the location on the edge of the lovely square with churches and cafes all around.
The hotel was fine, clean and friendly. We dont know who could find it otherwise!!
We have stayed there twice and will return in the future as a stop off on the way to explore the lakes.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Il Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Il Sole

Address: Via Bartolomeo Colleoni 1 | Piazza Vecchia, 24129 Bergamo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Il Sole 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Il Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Il Sole Bergamo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Il Sole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.