We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant we were waiting for in Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria D'Ambrosio - Da Giuliana

Osteria D'Ambrosio - Da Giuliana
Via Broseta 58, 24100 Bergamo, Italy
+39 (0)35 402926
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 434 Restaurants in Bergamo
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The restaurant we were waiting for in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I have been to Italy several times, and I always get good food, but Da Giuliana is a different place. It has not only great food, a great deal, but also the ambiance that makes it the Italian restaurant we are always trying to find in Italy.

We went for late dinner, and it was full, anyway the owner gave us a nice table for five. The restaurant has two deals at dinner : 18 euros for one dish + dessert + wine + coffee or 20 euros for a starter + a secondo + dessert + wine + coffee. We got the second deal because it was what makes sense. There is no option to ask just one dish.
They bring the house wine and water and give you the menu : there were around 8 options of starter (most pasta and soup ) and more than 20 options of main dish ( meat; charcuterie and polenta). The salad bar (with all kinds of fresh and cooked vegetables) is free, and you can serve yourself how many times you want.

I cannot eat gluten, so they told me to have two main dishes, so I choose a polenta with gorgonzola sauce and salame and Brachola with goat cheese. Both very good. My friends got pasta for the starter and meet (horse and beef) for the main dish. Very one was happy and full after that.

After getting the great Italian food they brought us the list of desserts (around 10 options) and it was hard to chose just one. In the end the coffee can be a simple espresso (very well made) more something like a cappucino.
The service was always very friendly, helpful and fast. We became friends with the nice Bolivian waiter and felt home.

Another important aspect of the restaurant is : they don't offer wifi, so you will need to talk to the people you came with. The atmosphere leads to it, and we got an amazing dinner.
We were told that the same menu (without dessert) is just 10 euros at lunch, we never checked it, but sound a great deal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    237
    89
    45
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Pastas to die for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Suggested by our B and B and located on the Piazza for great people watching this was truly a wonderful dining experience. Leisurely meal with attentive service and wonderful dishes from starters thru dessert every one was a winner!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Place where you find the local people for their lunch. Can be very busy thought at lunch time. Straight forward, hand written menu in Italian and you get a little paper to write down your order. For 10€ you get salad bar, starter, main course, wine, water and a coffee. This is only at lunch time.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A dive in the tradition !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is a landmark of cookery from Bergamo.
It's very close the down town centre; the toll parking "Triangolo" is nearby , it's distant 100 mt from the restaurant.
I think there isn't a right definition for this kind of restaurant; I call it "personal touch restaurant".
When you go in, you are immersed in a particular atmosphere that enhance itself from Giuliana's (owner) experience and life, from the story of her family in particular her mother.
The setting is warm, informal, friendly. The staff is rapid and helpful.
The starters are based on local dishes of pasta or soup; the main dishes are based on grilled or baked different kind of meats with polenta (a local buckwheat mush); assortments of cheese or cured meats.
The self-service variety of fresh or boiled vegetables is very interesting.
At the end, you have a wide list of cakes, ice cream and a coffee in a small glass, as Neapolitan tradition.
The food quality is good but not gourmet ; the price is friendly : 20€ for a full meal.
I suggest to have a unique experience.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A great place to start your diet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have been there with friends who told me it was a very nice restaurant, quite cheap and with high quality of food.
It's quite difficult eating bad in this area and this restaurant provide with decent food, but no more than that.
If you would like to "laugh" I would recommend you to ask for a tartare. Of course you would need not to be hungry and ... a huge sense of humor.
The service is terrible, a bit better than a Mc Donald's.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria D'Ambrosio - Da Giuliana also viewed

Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
 
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
 

Been to Osteria D'Ambrosio - Da Giuliana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria D'Ambrosio - Da Giuliana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.