We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A personal and friendly service in Bergamo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Il Girasole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Il Girasole to your Saves list
Holiday Il Girasole
Via Alessandro Manzoni 6, 24121 Bergamo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 134 Bergamo B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A personal and friendly service in Bergamo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Holiday Il Girasole for 2 nights and it was excellent. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, providing us with a personal and memorable weekend. They run an inexpensive airport transfer service which we would very highly recommend as it made our arrival much easier. The owners also helped us find information about the area, including train timetables to the Monza racetrack. The rooms were clean and had everything we needed but were quite basic. The location was perfect for us, as it was down a quiet and peaceful side street very close to the railway/bus station and the main street of Bergamo, where there were restaurants etc. Overall, a lovely stay in a cosy B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
29
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellent people, place and location! And breakfast! A few minutes from the main station, a few minutes from the city center. For the old city you can walk if you like or you can take the bus and step off at the 2nd maybe 3rd stop. Then you can take the funicular. Transport to and from the airport is easy: by local bus or by Alfonso and Ivonne, the hotel's owners, at the price of the bus! Rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, the bath is cool. You have everything you need - towels, soap and shampoo, etc. Breakfast is good, cafe is the best. Alfonso and Ivonne made us feel like home! You can use the living-kitchen (large) to fix something and eat. There you have a machine from which you can buy beer for 1 euro! Place is great! It is good to see Bergamo as well as use it as a base to visit Millan! Good also for a connecting flight. Alfonso recommended us the best pizza in town! Truly is, no matter the people there only speak Italian. 5-6 Eur any type of large pizza! For sure I will return and recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Bed and Breakfast is located very close to the Bus and Train stations in Bergamo and close to the city center and the beautiful old town. The accomodation is spotless and is very well run by Alfonso and Ivonne, who are the most helpfull hosts you could find anywhere, no request for information is a problem and the answer is accompanied by researched notes where necessary. Alfonso picked us up at the airport in Bergamo and returned us there at the end of our trip for a small fee. We would highly recommend this B and B, the positive reviews are accurate.
Pat and Irene Cork

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have just spent 6 nights at this delightful B&B which is run by Alfonso & Yvonne (with help from daughter Alaria). Their location was perfect for us as it's just 5 minutes walk to both rail and bus stations and we like to use local transport to get around an area.
Alfonso offers a meet & greet service at the airport so we took advantage of that for just €10 return. He is very helpful and if you mention that you will be visiting a place, before you know it he will put together a 'programme' to include bus/train times and suggest sights/routes to visit. He also speaks Spanish and French and is learning more English by the day!
Although not much to look at from outside - because it's actually an apartment in a residential street that is a dead end - its a large first floor apartment with 5 rooms to let. We took a double with en-suite and we were pleasantly surprised at all the facilities on offer. In the room was a large double bed, a huge wardrobe, two chairs and even a desk with PC and FREE WiFi as well as a kettle and all the fixings to make tea/coffee! The bathroom was large with separate bath and shower and toiletries including dental kit were provided and also a hair-dryer too! The place is spotlessly clean and our bed & towels were changed twice.
The breakfast was continental and plentiful. The dining area/kitchen could also be used by guests if they wanted to bring in their own food for dinner. There was also a vending machine for cold drinks and a table with lots of local information leaflets.They entrust you with keys to the front door as well as your own room so you can pretty much come and go as you please.
All in all, they seemed to think of everything and if there was anything at all that you wanted to know, Alfonso will find it out for you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good Location for train station and 20mins to old city.
Internet free.

Room was stuffy and not very clean @90 Euros
Breakfast very poor, processed packaged pastrys, juices processed and not fresh, coffee poor
Owners lacking customer skills but they are hardly running a hotel.

Room Tip: onr night stop only
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel to be close to the train station the following morning. The hotel offered to pick us up at the airport for a nominal fee, which we gladly accepted. The room and the hotel were clean, and the shared bathroom was sparkling. We even had a computer in the room! The breakfast buffet was very good, and the hosts did everything they could to accomodate our needs (including our three-year-old son) The following morning we were driven the three blocks to the train station. Although we stayed here to be in a good location for our train ride, I believe this would be a good location also for actually visiting Bergamo. Alta Citta (Upper Town) is not far away, and the bus station for bus no 1, which goes to Alta Citta as well as the airport is only a few blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Il Girasole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Il Girasole

Address: Via Alessandro Manzoni 6, 24121 Bergamo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 134 B&Bs / Inns in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Il Girasole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Il Girasole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.