We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all rounder.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PREMIER Cappello d'Oro

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER Cappello d'Oro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Cappello d'Oro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Viale Papa Giovanni XXIII, 24121 Bergamo, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 34 hotels in Bergamo
GreenLeadersGold level
manchester
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great all rounder.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

Stayed at the hotel for 1 night to viit Bergamo on the way to Bellagio,Lake Como.
Arrived late check in was very fast, room was spotless a little small with high ceilings, but modern and the bed was comfy, our room looked out onto a garden, and was very quiet at night.
Breakfast was plentiful, with a good selection for every palette.
Check out was good and we were able to leave our bags while we went into the old town which was 10 min walk to the fenicular with a five min ride to the old town.
For a three star hotel it was more like a four star.We were lucky as we got a deal £88 b/b for two of us.would stay again and definetly recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    178
    52
    14
    4
See reviews for
59
141
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Situated right in the heart of Bergamo. Shops and restaurants are all around the hotel. Easy 10min walk from the rail station (where the airport shuttle bus drop off is). Also a pleasant 10 min walk to the Funiculor that goes up to Citta Alta.
Staff were pleasant. Breakfast has a wide choice with both hot and cold options. Room (we stayed in the comfort double) was very clean and appeared recently refurbished.
Only downside - we were in a room on 2nd floor at the back and you could hear the kitchen staff start work at 4am - only a problem if you are a very light sleeper!!!.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

We stayed one night in this hotel after a trip to Lake Como. The hotel is very well located on a busy street close to the train station. We were staying in a room on the 4th. floor overlooking the street. If you opened the window it was noisy but with the window closed you could hardly hear a sound. Unfortunately the air conditioning unit is very noisy. There didn't seem to be a low, medium or high button to control the flow of air and if there was it didn't seem to work.
The hotel is nicely decorated and spotless. Mini bar in room with tea and coffee, not enough milks provided.
Bathroom is spacious except everything is jammed in to one corner of the room. Your knees hit against the shower wall when sitting on the loo. You could hold a disco in the rest of the space, very poor design. We were given one toilet roll and one pair of bathroom slippers and one plastic cup between two people. My wife wore the left slipper and I wore the right one. We took it in turns to gargle from the one cup provided. Good fluffy towels.
Breakfast was provided on our nightly Hot Deal package of €88. The hot breakfast was lukewarm to cold even though we were there shortly after the breakfasts started. Very poor selection of bread and rolls but very good selection of pastries. Unfortunately I prefer bread rather than cakes early in the morning. Fresh fruit and yogurts, cold meats etc. Poor coffee. Poor orange juice.
I am the holder of a Best Western Travel Card. I was unable to book this hotel using one of it's own cards because they wont let you. You can pay with the card all right on check out but only if you are not pre booking one of their special rates. They also refuse to give a refund to me in cash/chq for the balance on my card as I find that I am unable to use it in practically ever Best Western Hotel that I stay in. Seems silly that you can't book one of their own hotels using one of their own cards.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

This hotel was a really good choice for us. We stayed one night on our way to our holiday in Varenna on Lake Como and I was really impressed. The rooms were spotlessly clean. The bed had nice good quality bed linen and the icing on the cake was the bottle of wine and two glasses waiting for us in the room. Just what we needed after a long day travelling and a very nice touch. The hotel is very convient. The bus leaves Bergamo airport every 15/20 minutes and stops almost opposit the hotel. A 10 minute walk takes you to the funicular to Citta Alta. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were too. I was sorry I was only staying one night and if I go back to Bergamo - which is lovely by the way, I would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Easy access to shops. Easy access to old town. Very clean, business hotel. There is a gym and sauna. Free internet connection as well. Hotel coffee was terrible. Otherwise a very comfortable and clean hotel. Free access to Sku Movie and sport channels.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smogland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

We were making our second stay at the Capello d'Oro and our third visit to Bergamo, a gem of a city for a short break. I suppose that shows we like both the place & the hotel.

Last time we arrived in snow during a late December, and this time in July we were greeted by a fantastic thunderstorm with hailstones the size of golfballs. We managed to get soaked in the 100 metres from the stop, where the value-for- money airport bus dropped us , to the hotel . That was the only downside of our visit.

We had booked online with the hotel & managed to get a very competitive deal for B & B. Sure the room could have been a bit bigger and yes ,we could have done with more than one chair for the both of us,( maybe I should have splashed out on a deluxe room?) but it was spotlessly clean and at a very good price more than adequate for 3 nights.

Breakfast was excellent & at a variety of times, both early & late. Certainly more choice than when we were last there over two years ago . However I think they have possibly the slowest toaster in the world! (having seen more potential international incidents around toasters at hotels throughout the world with accusations of " toast burgling " etc)

The hotel makes a great base as it is so close to the railway station & not far from the Furnicular to the Citta Alta with bus stops just outside. As I was suffering with a twisted ankle we made great use of our 3 day bus/ furnicular pass which we bought at the tourist information at the airport.

Generally we found the hotel quiet ,despite the road nearby, but could just about hear voices on occasions from neighbouring rooms. In our contacts with reception we found them helpful.

We didn't try the hotel restaurant in the evening as it was closed on Friday & Saturday. We tried a couple of our old favourites & were not disappointed.

A day trip with a train to Lecco followed by a boat up Lake Como made a marvellous Sunday outing & not very expensive .

All in all a great weekend with the Capello D'oro playing a key part

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Before booking Cappello d'Oro we've been tried to book b&b. B&b was full,so we decided to book BW, because of place.

The hotel is great. In fact there's two minus had bothered me:
1. Very noisy flush in the toilet, so I was woken up several times.
2. Sometimes you can hear your neighbors. Don't know if it's because of slim walls.

The parking cost 20 euro per night.If you couldn't find any free place around hotel and dont want to park the car far away -- you always can park it there. By first time you need someone from hotel stuff to find parking, because it's very hard to find it by yourself
Overall, this is very quite hotel with good and helpful staff. I'd recommend it to friends of mine.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Cappello d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Cappello d'Oro

Address: 12 Viale Papa Giovanni XXIII, 24121 Bergamo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bergamo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bergamo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bergamo
#6 Business Hotel in Bergamo
#6 Family Hotel in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Cappello d'Oro 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Cappello D'Oro is committed to combining the charm of traditional hospitality with modern comforts and efficiency, providing the ideal environment for cultural tourism and business requirements, in Bergamo city centre. The name and delicious dishes of its Del Moro Restaurant are renowned and are complemented by a hotel service that is in many respects unique in the city of Bergamo.The four-star accommodation delights guests with the quality of its rooms, the welcoming approach of its staff, the hotel's enviable position and catering that demonstrates why its cuisine has become so prestigious: from its sumptuous buffet breakfast to its tailor-made lunches and dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Cappello d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Cappello d`Oro Hotel Bergamo
Best Western Hotel Bergamo
Best Western Bergamo
Bergamo Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER Cappello d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.