We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but a little overrated?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petronilla Hotel

Save Saved
You added Petronilla Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Petronilla Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Lazzaro 4, 24122 Bergamo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 hotels in Bergamo
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but a little overrated?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My daughter and I spent two nights in the Petronilla hotel. We booked a twin room, we got one on the 3rd floor with a view of the buildings opposite. The hotel is situated a little out of the way for most of the good restaurants ( although v close to Al Vecchio Tagliare which is excellent) and close to the shopping streets in the Citta Bassa. The room was very clean and well appointed with a lovely bathroom with rain water shower. Breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, lots of good juice and coffee and the usual prosciutto and cheese, fresh bread and an assortment of cakes. The staff were very helpful and friendly. So why a little disappointed? Well I thought the room was overpriced at €210 per night, I prefer to stay near the Citta Alta when in Bergamo, the hot tub and sauna were not in service ( I didn't ask why but I expect it was because the hotel was not busy) and we have stayed in about 14 hotels / apartments in Bergamo and the Petronilla would not be in my top 3. For the record we love love love La Valletta and the Gombit is perfectly located and a nice place to stay for the Citta Alta and San Vigilio. The San Marco is conveniently located for both the Citta Alta and Bassa and is great value off season at our rate of €120 per night for a superior 7th floor room with balcony and wonderful view of the Citta Alta.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
116
9
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Uta , the manager, was wonderful from beginning to end. She gave us very clear driving directions and we were able to park right in front of the hotel at no cost. The hotel is located about a 20 minute walk from the funicular going to the Citta' Alta ( easy walk and necessary after eating all the good food!) and right around the corner from fabulous shopping. It's a great locatin to see both Bergamot and the surrounding areas. Rooms were quiet even with windows open. Bathrooms are quite large and beautiful. Bed was very comfortable. Decor is contemporary. Oh, and the breakfast is delicious! Loved the homemade yogurt. We stayed 3 nights and we would definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I loved the Petronilla hotel, there is a great personal welcome by all the personell. From the welcoming receptionist till the great waiter at the breakfast, we loved it.
Breakfast is all hand made and you can taste that, besides, I love table silver that is used, you can see that the people are used to a high level of service

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is wonderful and I almost didn't want to write a review because I don't want crowds to storm it.
Uta is the manager. She is wonderful. made great recommendations, upgraded us to a better room, just because it was available.
The room was very spacious, clean. The bed was comfortable. The shower had different settings.
Overall we felt that this was a five star hotel.
The breakfast was delicious. I will definitely stop there again on my next visit to Bergamo and will recommend this hotel to all of my friends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a great little find. Only 12 rooms, each one is different. The staff are so welcoming, helpful and genuinely want to make your stay just perfect. The bedrooms are very modern and spacious compared to many in Italy. There is a small gym in the basement. The continental breakfast is included and is very nice. This was our first visit to Bergamo and we highly recommend stopping here. Old Bergamo is beautiful This hotel is in the lower (newer) part of Bergamo - near lots of great shopping and restaurants. If you go to Bergamo, do stay here - you will not be disappointed. We met many other guests who booked their next visit while they were there.

Room Tip: Any room here is a good room and because they are all unique, one is not better than the other, just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My 7 month pregnant girlfriend and I decided to treat ourselves to a 2 night R&R stay in Bergamo after attending a wedding for the previous week at Lake Como.
We had booked the hotel based on good reviews, a convenient location and an individual style to our liking. We were not disappointed!

Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and a room upgrade. The room was stunning, plenty of space, amazing rain shower, comfortable bed and excellent air-conditioning to combat the 35 Degree summer heat.
Breakfast was delicious, fresh and enjoyed outside in the courtyard, the bar had a good selection of soft drinks and beers.

But for us the best thing about the hotel was the staff. Polite, chatty and everyone made us feel very welcome and we had excellent restaurants recommended to us and information on the city when required.
We were very grateful to be told we could have the room until we left for the airport, a huge help for a very hot and tired pregnant girl!

We will defiantly be returning to Bergamo in the next few years and we will not even consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We chose the Hotel Petronilla based on the many good reviews in Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. We were so friendly taken care of by Uta and her team the one night we stayed in the hotel in mid October. The room was very nice and the breakfast was heaven.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Petronilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petronilla Hotel

Address: Via San Lazzaro 4, 24122 Bergamo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 hotels in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petronilla Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Petronilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petronilla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.