We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not be any better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Petronilla Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Petronilla Hotel to your Saves list
Petronilla Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Lazzaro 4, 24122 Bergamo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Bergamo
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could not be any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is wonderful and I almost didn't want to write a review because I don't want crowds to storm it.
Uta is the manager. She is wonderful. made great recommendations, upgraded us to a better room, just because it was available.
The room was very spacious, clean. The bed was comfortable. The shower had different settings.
Overall we felt that this was a five star hotel.
The breakfast was delicious. I will definitely stop there again on my next visit to Bergamo and will recommend this hotel to all of my friends

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
176
12
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a great little find. Only 12 rooms, each one is different. The staff are so welcoming, helpful and genuinely want to make your stay just perfect. The bedrooms are very modern and spacious compared to many in Italy. There is a small gym in the basement. The continental breakfast is included and is very nice. This was our first visit to Bergamo and we highly recommend stopping here. Old Bergamo is beautiful This hotel is in the lower (newer) part of Bergamo - near lots of great shopping and restaurants. If you go to Bergamo, do stay here - you will not be disappointed. We met many other guests who booked their next visit while they were there.

Room Tip: Any room here is a good room and because they are all unique, one is not better than the other, just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My 7 month pregnant girlfriend and I decided to treat ourselves to a 2 night R&R stay in Bergamo after attending a wedding for the previous week at Lake Como.
We had booked the hotel based on good reviews, a convenient location and an individual style to our liking. We were not disappointed!

Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome and a room upgrade. The room was stunning, plenty of space, amazing rain shower, comfortable bed and excellent air-conditioning to combat the 35 Degree summer heat.
Breakfast was delicious, fresh and enjoyed outside in the courtyard, the bar had a good selection of soft drinks and beers.

But for us the best thing about the hotel was the staff. Polite, chatty and everyone made us feel very welcome and we had excellent restaurants recommended to us and information on the city when required.
We were very grateful to be told we could have the room until we left for the airport, a huge help for a very hot and tired pregnant girl!

We will defiantly be returning to Bergamo in the next few years and we will not even consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We chose the Hotel Petronilla based on the many good reviews in Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. We were so friendly taken care of by Uta and her team the one night we stayed in the hotel in mid October. The room was very nice and the breakfast was heaven.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a terrific new small hotel which is a pleasant 15 minute walk to the citta alta. The rooms are modern and well furnished and the breakfast was excellent. But what really stands out is the hotel staff including Uta, the manager, who makes sure that your stay in Bergamo goes without a hitch. She made dinner reservations for us and gave us perfect directions to everywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaziabad, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The location was good - near the walking streets. The staff was excellent - made us feel very welcome and guided us to the best attractions during our short stay in the city. The hotel went out of the way to lay out a full buffet breakfast for us at 6 am for our early morning departure (usually their breakfast starts later).

The only thing that was a little dis-comforting for us was that the room where we stayed and its bathroom were too colourful for our liking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Finally a hotel that lives up to its promises, and even more than that!
Everything we wanted to ask was already being taken care of. Rooms are super clean and every little detail is being taken care off. The breakfast is better than in most 5 star hotels we stayed in and you really feel welcome and attended too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergamo hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
Hotel Relais San Lorenzo
#2 of 35 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Castellana
La Castellana
#3 of 35 in Bergamo
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bergamo Palazzo Dolci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Cappello d'Oro
1.5 mi away
La Valletta Relais
La Valletta Relais
#4 of 35 in Bergamo
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Bergamo
NH Bergamo
#10 of 35 in Bergamo
4.0 of 5 stars 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petronilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petronilla Hotel

Address: Via San Lazzaro 4, 24122 Bergamo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Petronilla Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Petronilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Petronilla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.