We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected beauty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mario Lupo

Save Saved
You added Casa Mario Lupo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Mario Lupo
Via Mario Lupo 12, 24129 Bergamo, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #6 of 127 Bergamo B&B and Inns
dublin
1 review
“Unexpected beauty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for 7 fantastic days and nights, and it was a wonderful experience. GianMauro was a very pleasant and lovely person who advised us on some lovely places see and visit. The train station is only 15 mins away and we were able to go to Verona, Lake Como, Venice and Milan. There is a beautiful garden where he serves breakfast and it is the perfect start to the day. The appartment is very comfortable and relaxing and spotlessly clean. Also the airport is very accessible with a regular bus service. A beautiful place well worth a visit and we will definitely consider returning next year,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    21
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
52
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jönköping, Jönköpings Län, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Perfectly located in the old town of Bergamo! Spacious apartment for 5 people, clean and fresh with oldfashioned, personal charm. Quiet except for the church bells. Very nice and friendly host who gave us an excellent service! A wonderfully cozy little garden was the finishing touch! No air condition made it a little too warm for me in the end of July.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed for 5 wonderful nights with Gianmauro and his family in Bergamo Alto and enjoyed their hospitality. Their BnB is in a beautiful historic house and Gianmauro was a friendly and helpful host. We particularly enjoyed our breakfasts up on the garden terrace with the chiming of bells to welcome in the new day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Casa Mario Lupo was a complete surprise, stayed there just 1 night (27/06.) but felt like being at home. We invited some of our Italian friends and even they were so impressed by the facilities. Every positive review that mentions this place is so true. Bergamo Alta is real Gem! and so is Casa Mario Lupo!, not forgetting GianMauro, polite, professional and has just got this perfect. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as a little treat for mum and dad at the end of a family holiday. We were in the large apartment, the kids loved their loft bedroom and we all loved the space and history of the house.
We choose Casa Mario in Citta Alta rather than a modern hotel in Bassa Bergamo and are so glad we did. The history of this house is amazing and the location is perfect for exploring the upper town. We were made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
The church bells in the morning were delightful and didn't stop us from having a little lie in!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have chosen this place because it is in the heart of Citta Alta (i.e. old Bergamo). The choice was perfect. Situated in an old house with plenty of history and frescoes, furniture, etc. to prove it, Casa Mario Lupo was a perfect starting point for exploration of the town.
The appartment itself (we've been in the small one) is very nice and comfortable. No air-conditioning but even in the hottest summer days we didn't miss it at all.
Charming little garden can be used for breakfast if the weather permits. The breakfast itself is basic, but since there are plenty of bakeries, pastry shops,... you will not miss anything once you stroll through the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuswolf, Direttore at Casa Mario Lupo, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you very much for this nice opinion, we hope you will come back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed here for only 1 night in June 2013. The location and room were wonderful - right in the heart of Citta Alta. The roof garden where we had breakfast was also wonderful - full of character. Being woken by the bells (not too early) was also nice. Gianmauro was a good host, full of useful information about Bergamo. We would definitely recommend Casa Mario Lupo to anyone who wants to visit beautiful Bergamo...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariuswolf, Direttore generale at Casa Mario Lupo, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much :-)
Kind regards

Gianmauro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Mario Lupo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mario Lupo

Address: Via Mario Lupo 12, 24129 Bergamo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Bergamo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Bergamo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Mario Lupo is located inside the old historic center of Bergamo upper town, very close to the main monuments of the city: the origin of the house is so old,dated aprox XV century and it was home of the notable family Solza, one of the most importnat and influent in the local history of Bergamo city. The ouse is rich of traces of the glorious past of this family, especcially decoraaed with a valuable colonnate; on the ceilings beautiful baroque frescoes dated XVII century painted by V. A. Orelli (Locarno) and F. Ferrario (Milan). Or guest can be easily transport by the unique atmosphere breathable here! The result is the fantastic mix between the emotion experienced here and the modern service of one the most appreciated guesthouse in Bergamo city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Casa Mario Lupo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mario Lupo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.