We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Italy Passion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Donizetti

Al Donizetti
Via Gombito 17, 24122 Bergamo, Italy
035 242661
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 449 Restaurants in Bergamo
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Real Italy Passion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

It's not easy to find an authentic restaurant as we know it from the past where you can feel the Italian soul and passion. I found it here: Italian passion and joy in a room with filled with Italian lust for life and pride hosts who are serving you fresh food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    123
    50
    34
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novi, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious/random”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The polenta here is delicious and our waiter was terrific- personable, attentive, friendly. We had a cozy lunch in this terrific little gem of a resturant. However, after a day of sight seeing, we found ourselves back at this resturant. We ordered a "nugget" and asked for them to call a cab home. The nugget happened to be 12 euro? not sure how as it wasn't weighted, I think we paid for them to call the cab which was a bit disappointing when we had had a lengthy expensive lunch. Overall great food, cozy resturant deserving of a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ambience and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The food was very good. My wife ordered the Funghi porcini con polenta, porcini mushrooms with polenta. I ordered the Casoncelli alla Bergamasco, typical ravioli with meat and cheese stuffing. Wow, both were very tasty and were local specialties. We also tasted white and red local wines which were very good. To top this off we ordered the vanilla ice cream with balsamic vinegar and was pleasantly surprised at how good it was to eat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“My take on the mixed reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Ate here mid-afternoon today on a short visit to the old town as we'd missed lunch and few places looked open. The menu is fairly simple, and with an emphasis on local dishes including cheeses and cured meats, polenta and pasta dishes it is a bit 'specialist', and probably not appeal to some clients looking for a wider choice of dishes. Service was excellent, and a selection of local cured prosciutto/salami and the ravioli - both very very good, accompanied by two glasses of pleasant local wine. Vanilla ice cream with balsamic vinegar was a first for me and worth trying, I loved it.
Nice relaxed ambience in bistro style.
Personally I highly recommend it, but read the menu outside first carefully before deciding if it's for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“worst food that i ever tasted!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

literally, the panini here tasted awful (...and i'll usually eat anything). i ended up with food poisoning for two days afterwards. steer far and clear from this tourist trap and instead venture deeper up into the Citta Alta neighbrhood for much better food-- usually an easy thing to find throughout Italy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Donizetti also viewed

Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
 
Bergamo, Province of Bergamo
 

Been to Al Donizetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Donizetti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.