We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit dated, but overall very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Minerva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Minerva to your Saves list
Hotel Minerva
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Maragliano, 34/d, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Canaan, Ct
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A little bit dated, but overall very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We recently stayed at the Hotel Minerva for a couple of days in late June. Overall I'd say our stay there was a positive.

The good: while not right on the water, it was a short walk down to the waterfront area/beach, and it was very quiet because it was a not on the main drag with all the cars/bars/restaurants. It had a beautiful rooftop patio with a small pool, sauna etc that is made spectacular with its view of the harbor (although it is only open to 8:30 at night, which was a bit disappointing because we would have liked to enjoy the view with a glass of wine in the evening). The breakfast served with quite adequate and when the weather is nice you can enjoy it on a pretty little patio.

I have to commend the staff. We had an unfortunate little incident with the car getting scraped, which the gentleman at the front happened to witness, and he volunteered to rub it out, which saved us a hassle with the rental car company). Everyone else we met also were very helpful and pleasant.

The one caveat I would have is that the hotel's decor is somewhat dated; looks like it was perhaps last redecorated in the 80's. So if you expect something super chic, this isn't the place for you. Also, our bathroom was small-ish but fine in size (not much counterspace though), while our friend's bathroom was functional but very small (tough for a 6'3" guy). But the rooms were perfectly functional and they were immaculately clean.

On balance, we had a nice visit to this hotel and would visit it again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    56
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
66
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Hotel is neat and clean, very close to the harbor and gained an overall good review. The staff is friendly, available and succeeds in making the staying a smooth one.
The very pleasant surprise was the breakfast. the buffet covered all angles and with freshly made cakes, fruit and single-dose cereal.
I would recommend it on a general basis, specially if you want to be close to the sea and yet without all the hassle of traffic.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Fantastic service from the moment we arrived. The room was excellent and the staff are fantastically helpful (maps, suggestions for food, extra pillows, helping with luggage from the moment the taxi arrived, calling a taxi when we left and helping with luggage). The food is excellent. The bed and bedding were high quality. This is an excellent location for seeing places like Portofino and Cinque Terre. There is an elevator and the room was very comfortable. Easy walks to a terrific grocery store and small local restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Hotel Minerva is one of those rare finds. A fabulous family owned and run hotel in one of the most beautiful seaside towns on the planet! You could not ask for better hotel from a the aspect of welcoming, family oriented and quiet relaxation. Each and every staff member we met were attentive and helpful. A place to return to again and again.

Room Tip: Choose a seaside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Perfect location when you finally find, away from the main traffic road, very quiet. The service was fantastic, we requested a non smoking room and when we went to our room the smell of cigarettes was overwhelming. We were immediately moved to another room with a balcony and a view of the sea. The hotel is walking distance to train station for Cinque Terre visit and the bus to Portofino. We would recommend going to Portofino, beautiful, climb up to Castello Brown and soak in the amazing vista. Photos are a must from this old castle. Bit of a climb and take water but well worth it.
The hotel breakfast was sensational, sitting in the courtyard with great food, what more could you ask for. The Italian Riveria is beautiful. If we were to return we would have no hesitation in going back here

Room Tip: Room with a balcony will give you great glimpses of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe Claire, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in mid September. Location is perfect, it is very quiet since it is off the main drag. no scooter noise! Room was immaculate and large enough...we had a standard room. The people, especially, Frederica, were wonderful and helpful. This is a family run operation with the family villa across the lush tropical dining courtyard from the hotel. The breakfast was absolutely fantastic. Actually the best buffet scrambled eggs I have ever eaten.....creamy and warm.
Their recommendation for a "pizza" restaurant was right on. We were the only tourists there and it was great...it's called Santa Lucia.
If we ever return, we will stay there for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

we stayed 7nights, and were very pleased with our little terrace, the nice views, the spotless room and bathroom, the Wifi connection, the great breakfast, the care and friendliness of the staff, the garage for our car, the jacussi, and the good location near all the nice restaurants,and towns you want to visit at the beautiful Italian Riviera !!

Room Tip: We stayed on the topfloor and had a nice view over S.Margherita
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Minerva

Address: Via Maragliano, 34/d, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Minerva 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few steps from the marina. GARAGE, Wi-Fi free, breakfast, sauna, steam bath, relaxing tub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minerva Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Minerva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.