We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Vela Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Vela Hotel to your Saves list
La Vela Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Corso Nicolo Cuneo, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay in Town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Amazing town. We absolutely loved it! We rented a scooter and explored all around. Such fun and great mix of nightlife and restaurants. Beach is ok, not very nice, but way more active and fun then Portofino.
Must go to Stella Restaurant at the top of the mountain. Nicest staff and BEST meal. Would definitely go back to Santa Margherita soon, but would prefer to stay in town. La Vela is up on hill and about 15 minute walk (and up hill!) from town. Rooms were quite old fashioned, clean, but not that nice. Requested ocean view room and did not get it. Great views from hotel, but would still prefer downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    49
    20
    10
    6
See reviews for
10
49
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Hotel is located in the hills above the town. Driveway to hotel is steep and winding and parking is minimal-probably 4-5 cars so may have to double park. We stayed in "annex" part of the hotel with no air conditioning but didn't need though it was in July. We opened the windows and let evening breeze in. Rustic furnishings and decor but that is what makes this hotel unique. Bed comfortable and room was quiet even with window open. Breakfast was great and staff friendly and helpful though not all spoke English well. View from roof deck was spectacular at night with plenty of seating. It's a 10 minute walk to train station and center of town. Stayed here two nights since we visited Cinque Terre by train one day. We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: A room in annex part of hotel may be quieter than in the main part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a large room with an ocean view. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but not very modern (part of the style of the hotel) and the toiletries were very basic. The bed was comfortable with very firm pillows and the room had air conditioning, but it was not super strong. The hotel had free wi-fi, but it only worked in the lobby, which was not an issue for me. There was a free breakfast buffet every morning from 8-10am and the food was average. In terms of the location, it is an uphill walk from the center of town (up some steps), which we enjoyed very much. We had to take a cab with our luggage from the train station, which was 15 euros (for less than 5 minutes). Cabs are very expensive in the Riviera. Lastly, the front desk staff was not super friendly.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonDC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

La Vela lies outside the main tourist zone, about a ten minute walk uphill and stairs. We kind of enjoyed this, but it is not for everyone.

The hotel has marvelous views, a lovely breakfast room with great views, a nice lobby (where you will spend time if you want wifi.)

There is a "solar terrace" on the roof with great views. Could be wonderful but nothing has been done to it except for a few hard plastic lounge chairs. Very uninviting!

The staff are not friendly.

In general, the place projects a "take it or leave it" attitude. But since we booked late, we were happy to get it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I agree with many of the positive aspects of the other reviews listed. We had a marvelous experience and joyful stay here. Would stay again when going back to SML. Clean, Romantic, plenty of character and a very nice accomodating crew. Good job to all at LVH.

Room Tip: Take extra time to find out where it is located....maps etc. There is a critical side path (walk onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I must admit that I booked this hotel because it's cool and special.

I spent the most time choosing a hotel for my 4-night stay in SML when compared with what I did for other places such as Munich, Bamberg, Salzburg & Innsbruck. There are lots of choices on internet. After elimination of those I could never afford, all others are more-or-less the same price, all have positive and negative comments, all claimed that they are within 15 mins from the SML train station. I picked this one solely because it's very special. I made this choice knowing that it is not at a very convenient location.

It's on a hill accessible with a narrow winding road as all reviewers mentioned. I requested a single sea-facing room as I booked directly at the hotel website and they accommodated my request. I was offered a room with a sunset seaview... very beautiful... Decorations at the lobby on the ground floor is unique for a hotel... I felt myself special too while I was walking at the staircase and sitting at the lobby. The inside of the room is like a normal hotel room, not very big but enough for me.

Breakfast is of very good quality. Price is reasonable. On the day I check out, I had to leave before the opening time of the restaurant, but the staff was very kind and he gave me some napkins so I can take two pieces of bread for my breakfast. The only one thing to mention is that water didn't drain properly at the shower...

There is a shortcut from the hotel to the city centre which is a long staircase... It's fast and easy to get down, but I couldn't never find the staircase when I tried to get back from the city centre to the hotel.. not even once... It's my problem... but overall speaking, the stay at this very special hotel made my trip more memorable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLeveland, OH
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at La Vela Hotel and found the property to be a very special place. It is small, intimate, and very romantic. The room we had on the second floor had a gorgeous view of Santa Margherita. The room itself was comfortable, clean, with simple accomodations. There was satalitte tv, a/c, closet space, a fridge, and a comfy bed. The hotel is in the process of remodeling the room bathrooms so we had an older bathroom which i did not mind but others have been updated. There is breakfast served in the morning room and i recommend a cup of coffee in the back courtyard. I loved all the lush plants and flowers on the property too! Besides the lovely setting the owners, Livio and Leche were so warm and just a joy to chat with! We will return!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Vela Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vela Hotel

Address: 21 Corso Nicolo Cuneo, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Vela Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Vela Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Vela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vela Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.