We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let's set the record straight.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Fasce

Save Saved
You added Albergo Fasce to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Fasce
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luigi Bozzo 3, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Let's set the record straight.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

This review is going to be a long one as i read the previous reviews and we only booked in as my wife had stayed there 4 years ago. For the record we are in no way related to anyone associated with the hotel, we just like to give our honest review. We are a couple in our late 30's and I spend 5 months a year traveling and staying in 5 star hotels.  We had 3 nights booked.

Some advice for people traveling, always confirm your accommodation as emails do get lost and sometimes your credit card can have issues. The second piece of advice is be nice and pleasant and people will mostly be the same.

Bang for your buck this hotel is great. The location is awesome. Please remember that it is 2 star but very clean.

The train station is only a 10 minute walk and the water is only 5. Do yourself a favour and get a pizza from Il Delfino which is in the only about a 3 minute walk towards the water. The pizzas are about €8 and are big but seriously thin and the best we had in Italy.

We arrived by car to find a dedicated car spot outside the hotel for unloading of our luggage. Sarah (my wife) went to reception to checkin and a very helpful man walked down with her to help us with the luggage and to show where the secure car park is (50m away and loads of room for each car). I am certain that parking is extra (€20 i think) but well worth it as the insurance excess on a rental is a killer. We were checked in and then shown to our room.

THE ROOM
Ok, our room (34, top floor with steep stairs) for 2 people quite spacious. It has a set of bunks in a cupboard and personally with 4people the room would be way too crowded. Our bed was the usual 2 pushed together but was very comfortable. The room is dated with older furniture but it was comfortable and VERY clean. I am a light sleeper and did hear a few door close during the night but no voices coming through the Walls. Our room did not have any air-conditioning but there was a fan supplied that absolutely did the job. I am not sure how it would be in summer but there was also a large double window that opened fully to provide a cool breeze

The bathroom is small.  If you are a large person then you will struggle and if you had to help kids forget it. The shower recess is tight but we worked out a process that worked and made it usable. Definitely no shared showers for water conservation. With a different basin (the current one is huge) there would be a bit more usable space. Our conclusion regarding the bathroom is that you only spend a very short time in there so it's bearable. 

Off down for breakfast. I had read the reviews of people asking for a second juice and getting told NO. I usually only have a slice of toast and a juice when I stay in hotels and hate being charged $30+ what I have. There are several options that are included in the room rate and these are clearly listed on your table and you can choose what you like from those. For those who like to eat a whole buffet on the reverse side are things you can have as paid additions. My wife had bacon and eggs and she said they were lovely.

In summary our stay was great, the staff were so very helpful and other than the tiny bathroom (that we actually laughed about every time we used it), the place is great value and in a sensational location.

This hotel is impeccably clean.

Would we stay there again....definitely.
Would we tell our friends to stay there......yes.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    46
    14
    13
    25
See reviews for
14
45
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

DO NOT STAY. Bad business practice should not be supported.

After a tiresome 5 hour journey from the South of France we arrived at San Margherita booking confirmation in hand to be told that they had in fact took it upon themselves to cancel my booking. They cited credit card issues, which was news to me as i had not heard from them communicating anything to that effect. As it stands they did not attempt to contact me, they just cancelled the booked sending no email, making no phone call and basically leading me to believe the original confirmation was in fact intact. Given a 5 hour journey, a 10pm arrival time and that it was the height of summer in San Margherita, we began a 2 hour process of trying to find a hotel in what is a small seaside village in Italy. No mean feat... but more importantly no cheap feat. We paid through the nose. It was that or the beach.

To top it off there were no apologies, empathy... nada. The man said the place was full and my situation was not his problem... He was extremely condescending and dismissive.

The hypocrisy of their establishment only adds insult to injury. They demanded 20 day cancellation notice for this room so i made damn sure i turned up but as i soon learnt apparently they themselves believe no cancellation notice is acceptable practice.

DO NOT STAY. Bad business practice should not be supported.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Margherita Ligure hotels

Nice
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We booked this hotel with lots of hesitations, since the reviews were mostly not very good !
But in the end, our room was very comfortable, and the staff really helpfull. Breakfast was very good, served in a small but pleasant room.
On the down side, with spring arriving, ants arrived as well.. But the desk gave me a spray which i used in the room.. when we got back from dinner they were mostly gone.
Another drawback is that the bathroom is extremely extremely small !!! I went alone with my two children and it was not easy to maneover..
Last drawback, the price of the parking. Very expensive !

Room Tip: get one with small terrasse.. very nice to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

We were disappointed with this place as it was noisy due to the mechanics next door and also because it was so dated with tiny rooms. The bathroom had a plumbing problem which was never fixed during our stay. The service was nil!!!!! compared to some of the other Italian hotels we stayed in. There are cheaper and better places to stay in this lovely part of the world - so keep searching...we never looked forward to returning there each evening.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Stayed on vacation after reading other reviews. Had high hopes but was disappointed in room & comfort level. My husbad and I regularly stay at "value" hotels and we are definately NOT your usual high (or even mid) maintenance traveler, but we had issues here. Room was cold & damp & musty. Bed was incredibly uncomfortable. Older (albeit charming) building so zero insulation and heard everthing going on. Found out a four star hotel in town (Fasce is two by Italian ratings) was charging the SAME price for a room & breakfast. Probably a decent deal in the high season (clean, good location, nice terraces), but we ended up feeling taken advantage of after our stay, hence the poor rating.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

I actually stayed here a couple of years ago. a friend stayed at a competing hotel and had lousy service and general treatment. We had a lovely time for which our friend has never forgiven us. She payed twice as much. Mrs fasche will remember us because of a discussion about dinner plates. She could not have been nicer and thw rooms were spotless and pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We were looking for a place close enough to Portofino. That was Fasce Hotel.
Family run, great value hotel.
Santa Margherite Ligure is 5 km away from Portofino and is a very nice town as well.
If your budget does not allow you to stay in Portofino; Santa Margherita Ligure and Hotel fasce is an excellent option.
Good breakfast, helpful family members for your questions.
No elevator in the hotel.
You have to pay 20 Euro per night for parking. But beware that Portofino area is the most expensive part of Italy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Albergo Fasce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Fasce

Address: Via Luigi Bozzo 3, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Fasce 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Albergo Fasce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Fasce Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure
Albergo Fasce Santa Margherita Ligure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Fasce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.