We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful garden setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Metropole to your Saves list
Metropole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pagana 2, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

A long overdue review as we stayed in a double room for 5 nights last August. Communication with this hotel prior to our stay was excellent in our request for a quiet room. Our room was indeed quiet away from the road side and overlooking the gardens. The hotel has lots of spaces to sit down and relax in. We found the staff to be polite but not overly warm or friendly and definitely not the concierge at breakfast time. He was, however, very friendly to Italians staying as it was holiday time for them. For us it was the gardens that were lovely and the walk down the path to the sundeck area. We swam everyday off the rocks, mainly late afternoon. The sundeck chairs without the head covers were free all the time but often late in the afternoon you could sit anywhere. We walked to and from the train station with our bags, perhaps a little harder going back up the hill but with a suitcase with wheels it was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    162
    44
    13
    3
See reviews for
81
256
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Second stay here and just as happy.
We booked 2 nights with breakfast for a bargain and were not disappointed (for the price we didn’t get a view). As mentioned previously the location is a 2 minute walk from the train station. Room spacious with a generous bathroom. Breakfast well stocked and a reasonable choice. Staff pleasant. 5 minute walk to town with a view all the way. We came back to do the walk between Santa Margherita and Portofino which we just love. We will return again and would definitely stay at the Metropole .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had a junior suite with balcony overlooking the bay and gardens. It was very nice, perhaps a little noisy as it was close to the main road, which is busy at night time. Great breakfast. Wonderful location, close to the town and seafront. Staff very helpful

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Djibouti, Djibouti
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was my fourth visit to the Metropole and I hope to return again and again. The staff as always was very kind, patient and most accommodating. By now I know just about all of the staff personnel by first name. The weather this year was quite mild and I spent many hours of enjoyment taking my afternoon drinks on the terrace overlooking the beautifully manicured gardens which lead directly to the sea. It is difficult for me to imagine a more pleasant venue.

Room Tip: My rooms were overlooking the garden with a view of the sea. The view was quite lovely and the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The location was perfect, the view was great, the price was very good, but would probably not go back. Like another reviewer, I disliked the wait staff and some of the front desk personnel. They both seemed very stressed - which I thought strange, as not much was going on, so the pressures must have come from their supervisors. The man in charge during the morning buffet seemed in a bad mood and was sort of slamming things around as though something was out of place - which it appeared not to be. As for communication - the hotel uses an outside booking service and so there is no direct communication with the hotel, and they never answered any of my emails.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Great hotel ontop of the hill on the main street of Santa Margherita, great room with a balcony with a fantastic view of the water, room was very spacious with the most friendliest staff I have ever encountered.

I had experienced difficulties with our hirecar, Anna organised everything for us with the car rental company, could not recommend this hotel higly enough you will not regret it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This was a great hotel close to the train station and within easy walking distance to everything we needed. We walked to Portofino from Santa Margherita. We had a wonderful view from our room. Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole

Address: Via Pagana 2, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel dating from 1900 with modern amenities; situated in a serene garden setting with private beach, facing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Santa Margherita Ligure
Metropole Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.