We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Metropole in Santa Margherita Ligure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Metropole to your Saves list
Metropole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pagana 2, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hotel Metropole in Santa Margherita Ligure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night at this hotel in March after spending a few days in Cinqueterre. We traveled here by train from Riomaggiore. The hotel is located very conveniently less than 5 minutes walk from the train station. Its location is also great as it looks at the beautiful marina. We had a very nice room with a small balcony overlooking a stunning view of the entire bay. The hotel is not new but has all the needed amenities, and our room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was included and it was good and plentiful with good selection. The location is also great for walking into the nice shopping center and marina. Less then 5 minutes walk brings you to the bus station for taking the 10 min bus ride to Portofino, which I highly recommend.
Price was very reasonable at $80 and internet was free. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    146
    37
    12
    3
See reviews for
73
230
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The only complaint I have of this hotel is.......I couldn't stay longer!!My wife and I stayed for five daya in April 2013 and it was fabulous.Although the weather wasn't kind,the staff and hotel facilities made for a pleasant stay.Great rooms and breakfast,the manicured grounds plus the magnificent views,were fantastic.Down for breakfast,back up to a neatly made room again.I would definitely come again.Cheers

Room Tip: Get a room up high facing the yacht club.Bellissimo!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. It is very close to the train station. Our room was right on the ocean. We opened our windows to the waves and view of the marina and ocean. The grounds were beautiful and kid friendly.

Room Tip: Get a room by the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had a wonderfull experience in the Metropole Hotel, it was our first time and it did not dissappoint us. After a visit to Venice we decided to stay a few daws in Santa Margherita Ligure, so we booked this beautiful place with spectacular gardens. The Metropole is very charming, clean and comfortable. The location makes the hotel very easy, just 5 minutes to the to the train station and 10 minutes to the ferry to Portofino. In walking distance the town is very close so we could find nice places to make some shopping. The staff was very helpful with us and they could speak good english. We also used the gym.
We will love to visit the Metropole again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Arrived after 5 hour drive from Venice. Welcomed by friendly staff. Rooms for family were magnificent for the view and space. We booked the villa by the sea with view across city. The only down side was the smell of the entry to the villa which stayed for the 4 days we were there, but rooms were clean and tidy. Hotel has parking but also extremely close to the train station. This makes visiting the cinque terre also very easy. When we travelled the paths were closed, but normally can go to furtherest village and walk backwards to last and then jump on to train for return trip. Portofino also easy walk from here which makes for a lovely spot. Breakfast was included for our booking and the setting was lovely. We stayed in winter but the private beach and gardens in summer would be fantastic I suspect.

Room Tip: Book the villa which is separate to main hotel and has best views over the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at the Metropole Hotel with my daughter in late October. The staff was outstanding, the room was fantastic and the personal care that we received was truly a joy. I would stay here again without a second thought. My daughter did not have a warm coat with her and the front desk clerk graciously offered her own coat. The grounds were spectacular and the food was very good. The hotel is truly a rare find.

Room Tip: Select an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was our second stay at the Hotel Metrople and they did not disappoint us. From the time you check in, until you depart the staff is very helpful. Again, we stayed in the annex and loved it. This may not be for everyone but if you like windows open and the sound of the sea splashing on shore this is great. If you want a quieter room the main hotel might be better even though with closed windows the annex is fairly quiet. Great views from both but at the annex you can open the window and feel the sea breeze. The room is arranged nicely so you can unpack, drawers and shelves, and not live out of your suitcase. Bathroom is clean, a moderate size, and updated. We like the location of the Hotel, a short 5 minute walk to the train station and an easy 10 minute walk to the ferry station. Good restaurants within walking distance and the breakfast at the hotel is very good. We think a very good value for the area. Santa Margherita is a place we vacation on our vacation and use as our final stop on our way home. The grounds are very well maintained and a good place to relax at the end of a day. We love staying at the Hotel Metropole.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole

Address: Via Pagana 2, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel dating from 1900 with modern amenities; situated in a serene garden setting with private beach, facing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, T4B, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Santa Margherita Ligure
Metropole Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.