We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent position and lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole

Save Saved
You added Metropole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metropole
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Pagana 2, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Magnificent position and lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Arrived after 5 hour drive from Venice. Welcomed by friendly staff. Rooms for family were magnificent for the view and space. We booked the villa by the sea with view across city. The only down side was the smell of the entry to the villa which stayed for the 4 days we were there, but rooms were clean and tidy. Hotel has parking but also extremely close to the train station. This makes visiting the cinque terre also very easy. When we travelled the paths were closed, but normally can go to furtherest village and walk backwards to last and then jump on to train for return trip. Portofino also easy walk from here which makes for a lovely spot. Breakfast was included for our booking and the setting was lovely. We stayed in winter but the private beach and gardens in summer would be fantastic I suspect.

Room Tip: Book the villa which is separate to main hotel and has best views over the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    143
    37
    12
    3
See reviews for
71
229
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at the Metropole Hotel with my daughter in late October. The staff was outstanding, the room was fantastic and the personal care that we received was truly a joy. I would stay here again without a second thought. My daughter did not have a warm coat with her and the front desk clerk graciously offered her own coat. The grounds were spectacular and the food was very good. The hotel is truly a rare find.

Room Tip: Select an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was our second stay at the Hotel Metrople and they did not disappoint us. From the time you check in, until you depart the staff is very helpful. Again, we stayed in the annex and loved it. This may not be for everyone but if you like windows open and the sound of the sea splashing on shore this is great. If you want a quieter room the main hotel might be better even though with closed windows the annex is fairly quiet. Great views from both but at the annex you can open the window and feel the sea breeze. The room is arranged nicely so you can unpack, drawers and shelves, and not live out of your suitcase. Bathroom is clean, a moderate size, and updated. We like the location of the Hotel, a short 5 minute walk to the train station and an easy 10 minute walk to the ferry station. Good restaurants within walking distance and the breakfast at the hotel is very good. We think a very good value for the area. Santa Margherita is a place we vacation on our vacation and use as our final stop on our way home. The grounds are very well maintained and a good place to relax at the end of a day. We love staying at the Hotel Metropole.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

What a great hotel in beautiful gardens in a beautiful town. The hotel has so much old world charm with all the modern conveniances. This hotel is very clean and comfortable. This is an ideal town to discover the beautiful coast line. We caught the ferry to Portofino , how beautiful is this place, but expensive.(take the tough walk to the lighthouse its worth it), We caught the train to Genoa for the day and took lovely drives along the coast. The staff were great and very helpful. Alice(Alicia who loves her dog and horse),Anthony and Denis looked after us in the restaurant which was well priced. The town offers great eating and shopping. We would go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: The seaview room is magnificant with a large balcony overlooking the pool, the bay and the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband & I spent two nights there in mid-October. We got off the train on a whim and our taxi driver recommended this hotel. They treated us likes kings! The price was very reasonable. The staff (especially Anna), could not have been nicer. She was very helpful to give us directions and suggestions since we knew little about the area. The room overlooked the pool and garden and the view was outstanding! We even had bedroom slippers, which was such a treat! The breakfast (included) was wonderful and presented very nicely. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. We slept like babies!! This hotel is postcard beautiful and we enjoyed ourselves immensely. We also visited Portofino while there, which we highly recommend. Santa Margherita is a beautiful city with great restaurants and shops. On our departure morning we were leaving very early so Anna made sure the kitchen had two packet breakfast bags ready for us to take on the train. What a lovely gesture and much appreciated. We would love to visit again one day and stay at the Hotel Metropole again. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

A fabulous boutique hotel with an attentive staff, well appointed rooms, a good restaurant and a great location. Private beach, pool, a gym and free wifi are all included. Would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 Devine days at the metrople. Perfect position near train station, which makes easy access to the cinque terra and gorgeous Rapallo? Also Camogli is a beautiful seaside town 10 mins train trip away. Thank you to wonderful staff who could not have been more helpful. From car hire to restaurants, they were outstanding. Amazing view from rooms and delicious breakfasts. Can't recommend this hotel any more highly
Thanks again from 2 very happy Aussies

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni c, Proprietario at Metropole, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Riposta a DEVINE

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your nice feedback about your stay at the Hotel Metropole . We are glad to read that you appreciated our property.
We will share your comments with our staff, who will be encouraged by your remarks.
We also thank you for sharing your nice picture of our buffet – breakfast on the terrace !
We hope to welcome you back soon to the Hotel Metropole and in the meanwhile please accept our best regards


G. Ciana
Own-Man.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole

Address: Via Pagana 2, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional hotel dating from 1900 with modern amenities; situated in a serene garden setting with private beach, facing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Santa Margherita Ligure
Metropole Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.