We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jolanda

Save Saved
You added Hotel Jolanda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Jolanda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Luisito Costa, 6, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Pattaya, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very comfortable hotel with delicious breakfast fresh and plentiful. The reception clerk was very friendly and helpful on our arrival. However, we were taken back a bit by the surly attitude of the
maitre'd in the morning this being the reason I did not rate it 5 stars. But overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    121
    27
    11
    0
See reviews for
40
111
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Normal, Illinois
Top Contributor
394 reviews 394 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is a nice old hotel at the center of Sta. Margherita, Ligure within 7 minutes walking distance to the downtown beach area where a boat could be boarded and be in beautiful Portofino in 45 minutes.
5 minute walk to the train station to board and arrive in Cinque Terre in an hour.
Lots of nearby restaurants around but the hotel has a very nice restaurant with an old school Italian service, with a Maitre d', with a second and third helper. Food couild be served indoor or in a very nice patio.

Building is probably built in the early 20th Century and as such smaller than the American hotel rooms but the place is clean and the antiquarian decorations are very nice. Walls are not sound proof; one elevator holds 4 people and since it was built in the early years - it is not completely automatic. There is no machine for making hot water in the room. But all of this is overshadowed by the very courteous and helpful staff who are quite eager to assist and make you have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week and found it a very pleasant and nicely decorated hotel although looking a little tired in places, it is very convenient for the beach, the train station and the ferries.The staff are very friendly and helpful especially if you want details of how to get to other places they will run off iteneraries, train and ferry times for you.The breakfast was really nice with a good choice and served outside in the small courtyard under the orange trees which was very pleasant The only down side to the room that we was in was that the room was overlooked and you felt that you needed to keep the curtains closed when getting dressed and the wifi wasn't great,lots of people seemed to be having problem connecting but overall we were satisfied with this hotel and enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This warm and friendly hotel was truly a delight..The receptionist spoke good English and was really helpful from the outset of our arrival. The hotel resembles someones beautifully decorated home, with antique furniture and paintings on the walls.. The breakfasts were served outside in the intimate courtyard area and the hotel is equipped with an elevator and sauna/gym.
Our room was large enough for 3 of us to share and clean very clean. The walk from the hotel to the ocean front was around 5 minutes and 7 mins to the station.
Cinque Terra is just 90 mins by train and the delightful Portofino is 45 mins away, if one chooses to walk along the stunning coastal road. Public transport is also available.
Santa Margherita is a lovely, small, attractive, bustling town, with great shops and a market on Sundays..I would definately return here next time we visit this gorgeous part of Europe.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor, so our view from the bedroom/bathroom was great..Traffic not really a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

...though we were upgraded to a superior double so I can't comment on the other rooms. Our room was large, clean, well presented and had a fantastic bathroom. The hotel is situated about 7 mins walk from the front and is about the same walk from the train station. Considering the location and date of travel ( August bank holiday weekend) I feel the hotel represents good value for money. We booked via Expedia 3 weeks in advance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herzelia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

breakfast o.k. air-conditioning good.

The price is very high for that kind of hotel. We got a small room.The floor was dirty especially in the bath-room.The maid was sent to clean it only after 19:00

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Firstly let's just say that this hotel needs some serious renovation. It's got the typical old Italian decorations, and my children thought it was kind of spooky. The room had a decent size for a family but it had all antique furniture. The children slept on a sofa-bed which wasn't that good either. They said that it wasn't comfortable at all and woke up with mosquito and ant bites every morning. We even caught some ants on the floor. As well as that the bathroom was not nice. The shower was a cabin made for midgets! My husband hardly fitted into the shower,and I can't even imagine how a slightly overweight person could fit in there. As well as that the towels were kept in a disgusting way. The lift wasn't very good either. But other than all of that, the location was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jolanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jolanda

Address: Via Luisito Costa, 6, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
#13 Romantic Hotel in Santa Margherita Ligure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Jolanda 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Jolanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolanda Hotel Santa Margherita Ligure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jolanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.